We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Tucson Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #98 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Way overpriced”
Reviewed 2 April 2011

This Super 8 is not up to the standards of others we have used especially for the $100+ rates for the NCAA crowd, we expected a lot more. The room was generally clean, but well worn. The grounds were dirty with cigarette butts in abundance. The breakfast was poor and the coffee too weak to drink - brew your own in the room. Then there is the road noise, so ask for a room in back if you must stay here. The WiFi was the worst ever, super slow and unreliable. We just gave up because it took so long to check e-mail. Stay somewhere else or don't pay more than $50-60/night.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValueSeeker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    33
    45
    23
    25
See reviews for
38
37
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

I've stayed at many Super 8 motels all over the country and this one falls way below the standard Super 8. The check-in while smooth, was not welcoming at all. The wi-fi was awful...constantly being dropped. We called several times to have them reset the modem, but it never lasted long. They offered us a cable to get a wired connection, but even that was unreliable. There was a fridge in our room, even though it makes plenty of noise, it never actually got cold - no matter what setting the dial was turned to. At the free breakfast there was an empty container of muffins and no sign of anyone at the front desk to restock it.
There are lots of other hotels neighboring this one with much cheaper rates...wish we were staying in on of those - we could save some money and probably have similar or better experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kushta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tucson hotels

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

Sheets did not look nor smell freshly washed. No coffee maker in room contrary to claim and no iron either, only ironing board. Couldn't access free wi-fi. Woke up in the middle of the night because I felt something was biting my legs. Saw some bug bites in the morning but never saw the bugs..

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank am2338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2009

If you book a reservation with Super 8 on-line and cannot make it for whatever reason, you *WILL* lose your money. All of it. No options. You are screwed.

I even called and all the person on the other end who could barely speak intelligible English could say was "You booked on line and there is no refund or rescheduling available with on line bookings." No "I'm sorry" or "Kiss my ...", just repeated the same line over and over.

I would have been happy with a reschedule or a credit for a later stay since we do plan on making the trip in the near future (wife's back went out the morning we were to leave).

When we do, we will NOT stay at ANY Super 8. That is as solid as their "no refund, no rescheduling" policy.

I have found out that if I'd booked directly with the hotel, they have a 24-hour before arrival cancellation policy. Of course, even that would not have helped in this situation.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Their lack of a cancellation policy
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Shevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2008

We should have heeded TA reviews. One night here was a nightmare. Filthy room with used soap bars in bath, blood stains on carpet and used sheets. Filthy common areas with construction debris, never swept, urin in stairwells, etc.

Wife & I aquired Scabies (mites in used sheets slept on by prior guests). Spent $70 for dermatologist and $45 for medicine to cure the intense itching and to kill the mites, so this turned out to be a very expensive room.

Woke in middle of night (2:30am) with loud party on 2nd floor with bodies slamming into walls, and looked out window to see hooker and pimp making deal with another man in pickup in the parking lot.

Worst motel we've ever stayed in. Should be investigated by AZ health inspectors, and removed from AAA and Trip Advisor list, except to warn travellers away.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2008

We went to Tucson for soccer championships, and stayed at this hotel. First off, one of the white washcloths hanging by the vanity had something yellow ALL over it! YUK! Then my husband turned down the bedding after that to check the sheets. The pillow cases were filthy. It looked like makeup or dirt. We had to go to the game, so on the way out, we stopped and told the front desk. He asked my husband to follow him and took him to a closet and HANDED HIM PILLOW CASES! I guess maid service is reserved monthly or something?????? If that wasn't bad enough, we got back that night, and there was no remote for the tv, so we called the front desk and the unpleasant man came in and handed us a remote, then stalked out saying, "Leave it in the room when you go". No apologies, nothing. That night, my step-daughter was going to put her uniform in the dresser. There, we found men's clothing STILL there.
I would not waste my money on this hotel again. It definitely was NOT worth the $ 70. The desk (management) was very unprofessional. I'd stay in my car before I'd spend the $ 70 on this place again.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank aztacota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.7 mi away
Arizona Riverpark Inn
Arizona Riverpark Inn
#75 of 128 in Tucson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Tucson
Comfort Inn Tucson
#71 of 128 in Tucson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Super 8 Tucson/Grant Road Area AZ
1.7 mi away
Ramada Limited Tucson West
2.0 mi away
University Inn Tucson
University Inn Tucson
#52 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Tucson Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Tucson Downtown Convention Center

Property: Super 8 Tucson Downtown Convention Center
Address: 715 West Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85713-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Tucson Downtown Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Tucson Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Tucson/i-10 Hotel Tucson
Tucson Super Eight
Tucson Super 8
Super Eight Tucson
Super 8 Tucson Downtown Convention Center Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing