We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stop Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Tucson South
Ranked #84 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do Not Stop Here”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Where should I start? High rates, filthy, hairy room. Dogs by/in the pool. Keep driving, look around a little more. Key cards are ancient, not secure. WiFi required a call to a toll free number, which seemed expected as it was printed on all motel materials. My tablet warned me of security issues, which has been a first on on two week USA road trip. Cardboard towels, dirty carpets, and 0 amenities about glazed the cake.

Room Tip: Go Anywhere Else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coronado d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    82
    44
    30
    26
See reviews for
55
48
42
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this location a handful of times. It is never consistent. This past visit will be my last the front desk lady was rude and it seemed like I was interrupting her from gossiping with the other employees. They were speaking Spanish to each other like I wasn't even standing there. Awkward I got my keys and then the door would not open I return to the office where mayra so politely made it sound like it was my fault or something. I returned annoyed but was able to get inside. The room was clean but had a slight cigarette odor. The bedspread looked worn out the furniture should have been retired 10 years ago. I removed the bedspread and the sheets looked ok. Later that night I discovered the outlet by the bathroom sink didn't work and the bathroom light flickered. I mentioned these at check out where it fell on the same deaf ears. This place has really gone down hill in the past few months. I think my next trip I'll give some where else a try

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank staynplay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tucson hotels

Renton, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Due to my previous experience at the Red Roof Inn in Gallup, NM, I chose this chain again for my stay in Tucson. There were several ways in which this Red Roof Inn didn't live up to what I was used to, however the lack of cleanliness was really, well, just gross. There was a bunch of pee stains in front of the toilet, scum around the fixtures in the tub and sink, grime in all the corners, and yeah - I just don't want to think about anything else. I was exhausted from driving all day and I'd overheard the guy at the front desk say there weren't any other rooms available, or I would have surely made a fuss to either have it cleaned or leave to go somewhere else. YUCK!

I was also disappointed that each room didn't come with a fridge and microwave, so paid the $5 extra to have this available. Since there's a Denny's attached, they don't provide breakfast. All the local channels on the satellite were out.

The folks at the front desk were really nice though, especially the lady I chatted with in the morning.

Note that I'm a gal in my 50s who raised a couple of boys by herself. I put bait on hooks, gut fish, and can dress out a rabbit. In other words, I'm not a delicate flower that freaks out at a little dust. This place is just really dirty, and it's pretty gross.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seawinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed here several years ago so when passing through Tucson this trip we opted to stay at the Red Roof. It was fairly convenient to I-10 and a lot of the sights we wanted to see. The price was decent for this time of year (Spring Break). The first two hours after check-in were quite a mess. We had one of the "Superior" kings - after unloading the car we noted some quirks - the refrigerator wasn't on and it was missing a temperature dial. Maintenance checked it out and had a hard time moving the remaining knob. About a half hour after he left we checked it out - it was not cold at all. We moved the unit and found it was unplugged - but after we plugged it in it still didn't work. Fortunately the front desk found a replacement and switched them out. About this time we noted there was no trash can in the room - none at all - that was odd. Another trip to the front desk and we picked up a trash can. We tried to get some ice but the ice machine was broke. Not a very good first impression!

Things got better after that - no issues for the next three days. Overall, not a bad place to stay. The staff was friendly and professional - that helped.

Note - this Red Roof does not have breakfast but you get 10% off at the adjacent Denny's if you show your room key.

Room Tip: Convenient to the Pima Air Museum, Mission San Xavier del Bac, Saguaro National Park East and Coloss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akwinelvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Always stay here when in Tucson. Staff is friendly and helpful. In particular, altho I'm late noting this, Irene at reception desk was especially helpful on the first two occasions I stayed at facility. Didn't see her the third time. Rooms could be improved by adding a more comfortable chair instead of straight back chair provided. A front desk area customer computer terminal would be helpful for those of us not on Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: 'Courtyard' rooms are best to avoid freeway noise, though none of rooms are bad. The premier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scurry
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

The location is nice. Receptionist was very courteous. The room was clean and quiet. We needed tooth paste we went to the office and she was very nice and friendly. Denny's was right there, nice and good food as usual.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0225, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tucson South, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Tracy S,
Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. I’m glad you found the hotels location convenient, the room clean, quiet and the staff courteous.
I will be sharing your review with my staff as they enjoy reading our reviews and how they are doing.
Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel was very close to the jewelry show and a Denny's was connected to the hotel. The price of the hotel was raised due to the convention. The room was comfortable but the free wi-fi was in and out. The water was hot and staff was friendly. The maid service seemed to rush on cleaning in the room and I felt it could of been done better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0225, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tucson South, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Lee M,
Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. I’m glad you found the hotels location convenient, the room comfortable, the water hot and the staff friendly. I apologize that the Wi-Fi was in and out during your stay. I will notify our service provider.
I will be sharing your review with my staff and remind housekeeping not to rush when doing their daily maid service.
Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#75 of 130 in Tucson
73 reviews
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tucson Airport
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Tucson Int'l Airport Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Studio 6 Tucson
Studio 6 Tucson
#76 of 130 in Tucson
58 reviews
15.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tucson North - Marana
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#87 of 130 in Tucson
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Tucson South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Tucson South

Property: Red Roof Inn Tucson South
Address: 3704 E Irvington Rd, Tucson, AZ 85714-1958
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Tucson South 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Tuscon South, AZ is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. Just off I-10, this hotel is near Tucson International Airport (TUS) and the Amtrak station. Close to the University of Arizona, Davis-Monthan Air Force Base, Tucson Raceway Park, Pima Air Museum, Pima County Fairgrounds and Reid Park Zoo.When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our newly renovated rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature new, comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, new high-end bedding, new flooring, and a large, flat-screen TV and an outdoor heated pool! Elevators are also available for your convenience. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. Enjoy our “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Tucson South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Tucson South Hotel Tucson
Tucson Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Tucson South Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing