We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Momentarily forgot where I came from!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Ranked #3 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
South Dennis, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Momentarily forgot where I came from!”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

This hotel sits high on a hill above Tucson. The Catilina mountains are directly behind it, providing a beautiful view that changes throughout the day as the sun moves over the range. There was always a breeze blowing so even in April we felt cool - the mornings and the evenings are especially wonderful. You can sit and watch the lights of Tuscon or turn and have that mountain view.
Our stay was terrific; the people who work here are friendly and eager to answer any questions you have about anything you may want to do. Ask John about the environment surrounding the hotel - it is planted with beautiful gardens full of native plants. He will tell you the plant names, how they grow, and their unique position in the desert world. A wealth of information, generously offered. I should tell you that he also provided a tour of the grounds to me after a night shift. So he must have put in an extra hour just to satisfy my curiosity.
We had a lovely unique meal at the restaurant -The Grill- it was expensive but we truly enjoyed the food. There is also a wealth of interesting places to eat in Tucson - a huge variety of ethnic cuisine.
Mountains, desert, hiking, a pool, the terrific Sonoma Desert Museum- our week was packed and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Capesojourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    132
    47
    13
    7
See reviews for
124
408
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brookhaven, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed in #37 for a week during Feb. 2011. It was a great vacation! We enjoyed Tucson and conveniently located parks and horseback riding during the day as well as great restaurants close by. The weather was great. We enjoyed the sunsets at the pool & hot tub. The patio restaurant had delicious food, lovely atmosphere, warm fires, great people (Marvin!), reasonable prices. Richard was so helpful at the front desk for all our questions regarding directions and advice about where to go. We were very comfortable at this historic and charming inn. Beautiful gardens and views.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gail20dune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma city
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Stayed here 2 nites in Rm #44 which adjoins the parking lot providing ample noise as cars come & go on gravel lots.. This room feels like stepping back into the 1950s motor court days although it is updated with A/C, ceiling fan, flat screen TV, etc. The bathroom definitely put you back into the 1970's with its curtained bathtub and no vents. The beds were somewhat soft and felt as if they bowed in the middle.

The restaurant and bar are top notch but the staff were hit & miss: e.g., canceled my dinner when it took them 45 minutes to deliver a bowl of soup. They apologised and offered to provide a free dessert and then forgot to deliver it. After an hour, just left.

But overall, the staff operates on a very high level. The history as a girls' boarding school is great. Great scenic pool & hot tub.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank servok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

my husband & I were at the Hacienda in March of 2010...we loved everything about this place except the price of the food & drinks. We loved the historic side of the hotel & the staff were very helpful & were there when we needed them. We stayed in one of the small rooms surrounding the court yard & it suited our needs just fine. I look at the experience as a treat, as we always look for something different in lodging where ever we go.
Again, it is very expensive to eat & drink there, but there are little fridges in the rooms for beverages & snacks. You'd be advised to have a car as it's off the beaten track.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank farmgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Wish we could have stayed longer. Lovely historic and romantic hotel that gets you beyond the strip malls of Tucson. The Hacienda 1 room was spacious and elegant, the bed very comfortable, and the location was within easy walking distance from the pool, hot tub, lobby, and restaurant. This turned out to be advantageous since the one night we stayed, it was pouring rain and then snowing (rare for Tucson, even in December), but, nonetheless, we could still enjoy the heated hot tub and pool! Excellent restaurant. Had the weather complied, we would definitely have gone horseback riding. A stylish and charming place, with ranch amenities, convenient to downtown Tucson and Saguaro Park East. Would plan to return and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainedOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2010

My wife and I spent our anniversary here and had an experience unlike any other... From the amazing food, and wonderful staff, to the beautiful accommodations we can't say enough about. Special thanks to Eddie for a great evening and to the amazing chef for the great food. Thanks Rick, we will be back.

Cameron and Dawn

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdedmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

loved the hotel, grounds, location; restaurant left a lot to be desired - slow service (particularly breakfast) and okay food. room, #10, off the inner courtyard was very roomy and comfortable but no view unless you like parking lots.
history of the hotel is fascinating - make sure you take the time to walk around and explore. also, watch the sunset from the pool area - we stopped to pick up a bottle of wine in the bar (great service there!) and enjoyed a spectacular light show.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank withanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
15.3 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
777 reviews
4.8 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.2 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Property: Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Address: 5501 N Hacienda Del Sol Rd, Tucson, AZ 85718-5122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#2 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#10 Family Hotel in Tucson
#19 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience resort luxury with authentic, southwestern ambiance in Tucson, Arizona. Discover the romantic and vintage style of Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort. Rich in Tucson history, the resort resides in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains on 34 acres of natural desert landscape. Botanical gardens envelop the resort's private casitas, guest rooms and suites. Authentic adobe structures and hand-carved, wood-beamed ceilings circa 1929 are just a few of the preserved details amidst modern day amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Hotel Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing