We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took us 15 years to stay at this fabulous place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Ranked #3 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

2 friends and i share summer birthdays, and living in the Tucson area. For 15 years we have taken advantage of the low summer hotel rates and go to a local resort for an overnight. Finally this weekend we went to Hacienda del Sol and have decided its the best so far: dignified, intimate, authentic western, beautiful, friendly staff, quiet in spite of being relatively central, free drink coupon, pool, etc, etc. Decided to return next summer!.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathryncnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

A wonderfully beautiful hotel and staff. Wish we had a longer stay. Room and grounds are beautiful.

Room Tip: If you want 2 beds and private patio, stay in rm39
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GailCocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I stayed at the Hacienda Del Sol recently in Tucson, AZ and it exceeded my expectations in every way. I had read many of the good reviews here and had high expectations to begin with. The staff was friendly, the room was spotlessly clean, the food at the restaurant was delicious, the services were luxurious, and above all the personal touch, history, and genuine sense of a real and wonderful place and space here made the experience far exceed anything I might get in a well-appointed but sterile major chain hotel alternative that can be found anywhere. This is a unique and wonderful place with both luxury AND a real sense of character -- a real find today. It's unfortunate that such places are becoming rarer and rarer but this is one of the still-existing gems. I will be coming back here every time I need to return to Tucson. What a find!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesertLover092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

This hotel is a Tucson Treasure. Most resorts these days seem to be about being as big as possible and separating one from as much money as possible. Not the Hacienca del Sol. I booked several rooms for some business associates and stayed myself. John at the front desk could not have been more helpful. He gave us great rooms at a more than fair price.

The resort is 34 acres of beautiful Tucson foothills desert. The building from a 1920s girls school and later dude ranch. The walls are adobe and the cealings featuring hand-carved beams. This is the Tucson I remember from my youth growing up here in the 60's. My room (6) was beautiful and spotless. Unlike most cookie-cutter resort rooms. I had a front and back patio on which to sit and view the city lights in the evening. The bed was decadently comfortable. Of course I had a TV and free High Speed wireless internet. Add to this Sautillo tile floors and oriental rugs, a small fridge and a pretty nice bathrobe and you have the recipe for a very nice stay.

Free Continental breakfast is free but it is simple and basic. I like that but if you think the free breakfast should include star-shaped kumquats then this will not be your favorite.

The restaurant is ambitious. The food is great, service super and the view perfect. This is not a budget restaurant however so come prepared to eat well, drink well and have a top drawer experience. If you want something less ambitious eat on the outdoor patio/lounge. The food is good and very affordable. One thing worth mentioning is that this resort has a stellar wine list. It has won Wine Spectator's "Best of" award. 2000 labels and 25,000 bottles and you should be able to find something you like. I had a 2000 BV Tapestry with my dinner on the patio. At $65.00 this bottle was a downright bargain. You will find great wines on the list from the $20.00 range to as much as you want to spend. The key is that they do not mark them up nearly as much as other restaurants do. Look out for the wine events they host periodically. Great fun.

There is a bunch to do here and in the area. You can even ride a horse should you have a mind to.

The staff is attentive and seems to always say yes. We asked for a late check-out and they offered an hour more than we asked for.

If you like shiny, new resorts with $30.00 parking and $19.95 hamburgers this will not be for you. This is a taste of old Tucson charm. You will love it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rickwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The previous complaint has been completely corrected and more than rectified. I would highly recommend this hotel for any occasion. We spent our 60th wedding anniversary there recently and it could not have been more pleasant. Frank Kolb

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frankolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

my parents wanted to go to this hotel for their 60th wedding anniversary. my brother and i wanted to have a 500 dollar gift certificate waiting for them when they checked in. i was told when i called that the grill does gift certificates. it took me 6 calls to get through to a person who promised to help me. she said the gift certificate would be waiting for them. when i called the next day to check on them, they said no gift certificate was there. i called and was put on hold twice- finally talked to someone who said they would help me. when my parents checked with the front desk again no gift certificate. my dad talked to three people- took ten minutes-finally they found it. when they checked out, same drill- no one knew anything about any gift certificate....i will NEVER return!!!!

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
8  Thank markrkolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

This hotel sits high on a hill above Tucson. The Catilina mountains are directly behind it, providing a beautiful view that changes throughout the day as the sun moves over the range. There was always a breeze blowing so even in April we felt cool - the mornings and the evenings are especially wonderful. You can sit and watch the lights of Tuscon or turn and have that mountain view.
Our stay was terrific; the people who work here are friendly and eager to answer any questions you have about anything you may want to do. Ask John about the environment surrounding the hotel - it is planted with beautiful gardens full of native plants. He will tell you the plant names, how they grow, and their unique position in the desert world. A wealth of information, generously offered. I should tell you that he also provided a tour of the grounds to me after a night shift. So he must have put in an extra hour just to satisfy my curiosity.
We had a lovely unique meal at the restaurant -The Grill- it was expensive but we truly enjoyed the food. There is also a wealth of interesting places to eat in Tucson - a huge variety of ethnic cuisine.
Mountains, desert, hiking, a pool, the terrific Sonoma Desert Museum- our week was packed and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Capesojourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
15.3 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
819 reviews
4.8 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
736 reviews
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
0.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
10.2 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Address: 5501 N Hacienda Del Sol Rd, Tucson, AZ 85718-5122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#8 Family Hotel in Tucson
#19 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £137 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience resort luxury with authentic, southwestern ambiance in Tucson, Arizona. Discover the romantic and vintage style of Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort. Rich in Tucson history, the resort resides in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains on 34 acres of natural desert landscape. Botanical gardens envelop the resort's private casitas, guest rooms and suites. Authentic adobe structures and hand-carved, wood-beamed ceilings circa 1929 are just a few of the preserved details amidst modern day amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Hotel Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing