We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, quality, value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Ranked #3 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2011

On more than one occasion I had to check my booking confirmation to see if I really was paying such a reasonable rate for such a superb establishment.

From the range of TV channels and iPod dock, through the sumptuous towels and bath amenities, to the top-notch service and dining options, all was five-star quality at three-star prices. The beautiful courtyard gardens are surpassed only by the fabulous 24-hour pool which has stunning views of the Catalina mountains (not to mention the gorgeous hot-tub with a terrace overlooking the foothills) complete with a magnificent Saguaro just to remind you you're in the desert. The icing on the cake was a visit to the pool by a pair of Roadrunner - that's how calm, welcoming and attractive this place is!

Truly wonderful and somewhere I would return even at five-star prices.

Room Tip: The Historic Rooms are completely acceptable and beat hands-down the top rooms in certain other esta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank autoflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you for coming all the way from the UK to visit us here at the Hacienda and also for taking the time to take some great pictures of especially the pool area, I may have to use some of those on our websites. I am glad you got to visit with some of our animal guests who roam the grounds and provide some unique scenery to our place. It is great to hear that you found the balance of lifes modern accesories with our historic tradition that we are very proud of. Cheers and safe travels

Brian Battaglia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

709 - 715 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

We were celebrating our 45th anniversary and for no reason picked Tucson and this hotel.
From the moment we arrived, until the moment we left we felt as we we part of a very special
Family. The employees are so wonderful and warm and friendly that you were made to feel as if Hacienda were your very own home. The owners have picked special people to work here who seem to have an innate sense of hospitality.
The pride and joy of the kitchen staff was their very own organic garden just outside which is used for every meal.The food was exquisite.
The bar and music lots of fun. We enjoyed many hours by the pool with the outstanding backdrop of the jagged stone outcroppings on the mountains!!!

The gardens with the diverse plants were beautiful!
This is the kind for of place you want to return to again and again and We Will!!!
Immaculate throughout,wonderful high desert gardens

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Let me start by saying Congratulations on your 45th Anniversary. I am delighted that your "random" selection to stay with us on such a special occasion turned out as wonderful as can be felt in your review. I will pass along your kind words to the Grill and Terraza management team as well. It is great to hear you had both some relaxation time around the property as well as fun in our lounge. We would also love to have you back again and again and if I can assist in some future planning dont hesitate to contact me. Perhaps for # 46. Sincerely

Brian Battaglia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Just came back from spending Labor Day week-end at the Hacienda del Sol for my son's wedding. From check-in to check-out it was a wonderful experience and the perfect place for a wedding! The location was terrific for relaxing and sight-seeing. The perfectly-kept grounds were beautiful from the desert sunrises to late nights watching the stars and the lights of downtown Tucson in the distance. The history of the inn is fascinating, so don't forget to ask about it. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, no matter what they were asked for and seemed to truly enjoy their jobs! It's not a large corporate hotel, but an historic one and it has the charm of an inn. The small touches, from the orange water at the entrance, the bottles of water in the room, the morning coffee in the comfortable living room-like lobby, the twinkling lights in the courtyards at night to the towels and bedding (the bed itself was very comfortable, too) added to the warm feeling throughout. The rooms were lovely--especially the beautiful, and more private casitas. But why would you spend much time in your room when the grounds, pool, courtyard seating areas, lobby and library are so cozy and inviting? We had both breakfasts and lunches at the inn--a delicious and relaxing experience, as well. While we didn't go on the nature walk, I understand from friends with us that it was a wonderful, educational experience to learn about the Hacienda's gardens and plants. They even grow vegetables and herbs for the restaurant right on the grounds. Cooling off and relaxing pool-side, the staff happily supplied pitchers of water and cups. The view of the mountains from the pool and hot tub, open 24 hours, was beautiful. It truly was a memorable stay. We'd happily return. Thank you Hacienda del Sol for the most perfect wedding week-end.

Room Tip: If you're looking for more modern ammenities, choose a casita room and not an historic one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barweb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us this past weekend. It was our pleasure to host your son's wedding and we cannot be more pleased that we could provide a memorable experience in both room accomodations and our grounds. Your enthusiasm is exactly what we strive to create in both the standard hotel amenities and the little extra touches you mention. Come back and see us anytime and I would be happy to help in making those arrangements. Regards, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The grounds were beautiful! The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. We were able stay as busy as we wanted to just by walking around the property learning the history,swimming, visiting the organic vegetable gardens, or walking down to the horse corral. When it was time to wind down, nothing compares to having a glass of wine while watching Tucson's beautiful sunsets while sitting in the lush gardens. We can't wait to go back. We never wanted to leave!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are full of unique design. They have cosy single rooms all the way up to private ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megant03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Beautiful resort! Stayed in August at the hacienda and really enjoyed it. We would walk around the property in the morning and evenings to see the beautiful sunrise and sunsets. Enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi area (especially during the sunsets). I heard they have live jazz on Thurs? but we were not able to enjoy the restaurant as we ended up eating out while we were sightseeing. I would like to mention "Teresa's Mosaic Cafe". We ate their our first night in Tucson and loved the ambiance and the meal. We loved it so much we came back to the Tucson area after our forays into Tubac and we took lunch to go which we enjoyed at the airport before our flight back. Mmmm.....I can still remember the colorado sauce. Additionally, we went horseback riding at the nearby stable (a 1-2 min walk from the hacienda). Our family did a group night ride with steak dinner. The ranch hands grilled the meal while our family sat around a campfire that had been built. We ate our meal under the stars and then got back on our horses to return to the stables. This was my first time on a night horseback ride and I really enjoyed it. We saw a coyote while we were on the trail, which was a really neat experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in room numbers 1, 5, and 6. We really liked our rooms. I think rooms 1 and 4 had the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaistat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed both your stay with us and the surrounding Tucson area. We appreciate the tip for Teresa's I am always looking for off property suggestions to pass on to our guests. We do have live piano jazz in our restaurants 7 days a week and on the weekends we offer live bands on our patio, hopefully next visit you can enjoy the entertainment. Glad you were able to experience some old western flavor and hospitality with your horseback ride and cookout, I am delighted to pass along your thoughts to our stable family. Happy future travels.

Brian Battaglia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

when we checked in there was an amenity waiting, as it was noted on our reservation that it was my wife's birthday, this was a great "attention to detail" that many hotels frequently overlook, and can make a huge impact on any impression, especially a first, as this was ours. we loved our upgraded room suite with fantastic views and spacious accommodations including a patio! loved the location and attention to detail and friendly staff, can't honestly say from this first stay there was anything we were dissatisfied with. Absolutely fantastic experience, will definitely be staying here again! and again, and again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This intimate "guest ranch" is a true gem in the Catalina foothills in Tucson! The staff is very welcoming, the gardens and pool area overlooking the mountains, and especially the food in either dining room or the most friendly bar are all fantastic. The rooms are very roomy, the bathrooms all new and well appointed. This was reputed to be a getaway for people like Clark Gable, Tracy and Hepburn, John Wayne, etc. yoga in the gardens in early morning was a real plus. strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sassy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

First, we are happy that we were able to have you celebrate your wifes birthday with us. Great to hear that our staff was able to provide special details for this special occasion. We love to hear the enthusiasm from guests when all the aspects of our hotel rooms, grounds, dining and staff come together to make for a wonderful stay. I look forward to your future stays with us and please contact me directly to make any necessary arrangements. Regards

Brian Battaglia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
15.3 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
794 reviews
4.8 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
707 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.2 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
#12 of 129 in Tucson
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Address: 5501 N Hacienda Del Sol Rd, Tucson, AZ 85718-5122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#2 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#10 Family Hotel in Tucson
#19 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £137 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience resort luxury with authentic, southwestern ambiance in Tucson, Arizona. Discover the romantic and vintage style of Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort. Rich in Tucson history, the resort resides in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains on 34 acres of natural desert landscape. Botanical gardens envelop the resort's private casitas, guest rooms and suites. Authentic adobe structures and hand-carved, wood-beamed ceilings circa 1929 are just a few of the preserved details amidst modern day amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Hotel Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing