We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfected SW R&R”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Ranked #3 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
OWINGS MILLS
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfected SW R&R”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We spent three (unseasonably hot) days at the Hacienda Del Sol and found it to be perfect. Everything from the pleasant/helpful staff to our historic room was wonderful...so much so, we almost forgot it was 105 degrees! The grounds and hotel itself are just lovely. The ownership did a fabulous job of integrating the "old" along with the new while keeping the integrity of the original school The grounds are beautiful. The pool itself is simple, but extremely relaxing with a great mountain view. We had a marvelous dinner at THE GRILL ...flawless service, exceptional food, and great entertainment. We look forward to returning again next year.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the parking lot don't afford a great view from one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Thank you for coming to stay with us and bearing the heat wave we had a few weeks ago. You actually beat the worst of it today is 109. I am glad you did find some relief and relaxation at our pool. I have passed along your gracious thoughts on your dining experience in the Grill and thank you for noticing and enjoying the balance we maintain between new, modern facilities and our rich history and tradition. We look forward to seeing you next year and hopefully we can have you experience another of our room types with a different view. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    130
    47
    13
    7
See reviews for
121
398
32
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We booked this property based on recommendations from Trip Advisor--it was the end of a long and exhausting trip to southern California and we were headed home to New Mexico via car. We wanted something a little special where we could just relax and regroup before getting back to the daily grind.

We splurged a bit (the season hadn't changed yet in Tucson) and are we glad we did! I got a discount for using my Amex card, and we ended up with a king suite--basically a 1-BR suite with HUGE living area, spacious bedroom and spacious bath. We had our own private patio looking out to the mountains--in a word, heaven!

The room was clean, ultra comfortable and a bit dated, but in a positive way. This is an historic property that started life as a girls' boarding school and was later converted to a resort. Apparently it was a popular spot for the likes of Gable, and it has that sort of vintage air about it that just felt really, really good!

There are only 40 rooms/casitas, so it was small, intimate, uncrowded and just what we needed. Service was impeccable, the restaurant options fabulous (especially our server Laurens), the location in the foothills above Tucson perfect--there isn't anything we would change about our stay.

The property is really pretty--everything from cactus garden to herb garden to lush and colorful shrubs and flowers. The pool is small but nice, and we were usually the only ones enjoying it.

if you're in the Tucson area, definitely give this place a nod. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie87508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for making us a stop on your adventure and for providing a recap/review of your experience. It sounds like you stayed in Suite # 40, a personal favorite of many employees for its sheer size and secluded location to go along with that Santa Catalina view. Thank you also for taking the time to learn and appreciate our unique history, dating back 93 years. It is true Clark Gable, John Wayne and Hepburn/Tracy were past guests, seeking privacy and quiet from the Hollywood bustle. I have passed along your thought to Laurens and he is appreciative of your mention. I hope you had a safe trip from here to NM and come see us on your next Southwest excursion. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame CA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The last time I visited H del S was over a decade ago for business and I am face-palming myself for not returning sooner - now I am determined to come back with the husband. It is only 10-15 minutes from central Tucson but feels like the middle of nowhere - in a good way. Totally charming rooms in a desert hills setting. Nice pool, lovely fountains, excellent food in the restaurants, friendly and efficient staff, cute gift shop. What I love best is the natural environment and all the birds, rabbits, and lizards you can see without doing anything!

Room Tip: All rooms are cute - I liked the king bed room I was in, with the cactus garden outside, looking tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnetheRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Welcome back to the Hacienda, better late than never and look forward to seeing you more frequently moving forward. Thank you for the beautiful pictures you have posted and for adding a review of your return visit. We are lucky and unique to have our own small wildlife habitat here and you never know who or what you might come across, we added a cat this past week to the family and have had a few gila monster sightings recently, glad you love the nature here as much as we do. I doubt your husband would say no after reading your impassioned review. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is a very quaint and private resort with an excellent restaurant and bar. It is an ideal get away for a weekend. It is close to everything but isolated and private at the edge of the foothills.

Room Tip: Rooms are like small villas. Try the BLT in the restaurant for lunch. Best I have had anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robhankins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for coming to spend a weekend and dine with us recently. I completely concurr with your enjoyment of the BLT, I probably have 3 or 4 a week myself. We do have the best of both worlds here, the private, away from the hustle and bussle location while still being a few blocks from everything. I hope we can provide a welcome weekend get away again for you in the future. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We took our Tucson Hosts to Sunday lunch at the Hacienda Del Sol Resort restaurant. We were pre-advised to wear slacks rather than shorts - not that the place was over-formal, rather it was balanced just right for an excellent Sunday Lunch. There was a phenomenal buffet such that I ignored the roast joints on offer. The staff were incredibly helpful, polite and very efficient. The food was excellent with much choice of delights and the welcoming fountain garden was in full bloom and colour. I do not think that we could have found a better restaurant in which to thank our hosts for their own wonderful hospitality. Memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nojnager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for coming to enjoy our Sunday Brunch and for sharing your thoughts on the experience. I love the picture you posted which helps illustrate your mention of the garden and fountain and paints a small picture of what we have to offer. I appreciate the mention of our Grill staff they do an amazing job every Sunday to put on the best brunch in Tucson. I hope your hosts enjoyed your token of appreciation and perhaps on your next trip to town you might come and stay with us and we can show you what the hotel has to offer as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The staff at the restaurant, at check-in, at the bar, etc. could not be more professional, enthusiastic and accommodating. The room was clean and of generous size. We were very comfortable right away.
We checked in and asked a few questions to Jennifer, who had most of the answers. She couldn't find a certain brochure she was looking for. About an hour later she came to our room to give us the brochure and some additional help.
The wine list at the Grille is terrific. Definitely a place for foodies and wine enthusiasts. Sunday brunch was great also with many interesting dishes. (Mild criticism....at the Sunday Brunch, the bagels were not so great). Other than that, it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baltlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
We appreciate you coming to stay with us and for providing a vaulable review or your experiences. Our ideal is to go above and beyond for guests and it is heartening to hear that Jennifer did not give up but did provide the requested information for you. Thank you for partaking in our Sunday Brunch, my apologies the bagels were unsatisfactory, this is not up to the Grills exacting standards. I will pass along both your compliments and criticism to the Grill, these reviews help so much with feedback to use for improvement and to know what is working. I hope we can make another wonderful stay for you in the future. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a wonderful experience at this inn in the foothills. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and the rooms comfortably charming. Throughout the halls are photos detailing the history of the inn as a girls school which make it all the more special. We stayed in the Saguaro Suite. It is very southwestern in design, comfortably roomy with tile floors, beamed ceilings, and a private patio with a nice view. There were logs set up to burn in the fireplace every night so we took advantage of having fires, enjoying the crackling and fragrant wood. Although the bathroom was small, it is very functional. There was excellent coffee available in the main area of the inn early every morning. We had the bed and breakfast package, and so ate an outstanding meal in the dining room each day. The Terraza and The Grill (the more formal restaurant) had very good food. I recommend joining the Preferred Hotel Group and reserving through them, as I believe that is why we were upgraded from a deluxe room to a suite. When in Tuscon, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The Saguaro Suite is very nice, having excellent views, charming southwestern decor, fireplace all s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wis-Traveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for taking a few moments to share your experience staying with us recently. Our I-Prefer members do enjoy perks such as room upgrades, priority check in/out and a wonderfvul wine/appetizer pairing and I am glad to see we were able to accomodate the comlimentary upgrade for you. Saguaro Suite # 42 is a personal favorite and I am happy you enjoyed the charms, functionality and decor of the suite. So many guests have raved about the Arbuckle coffee we have in the rooms and for AM lobby service we have began to sell bags of it specially packaged for the hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you also enjoyed our newly revamped breakfast program and that the breakfast package worked well for you. Come back and see us next winter/spring and well have plenty of firewood and delights waiting. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
15.3 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 128 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
4.8 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#24 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
0.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Property: Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Address: 5501 N Hacienda Del Sol Rd, Tucson, AZ 85718-5122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#10 Family Hotel in Tucson
#19 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience resort luxury with authentic, southwestern ambiance in Tucson, Arizona. Discover the romantic and vintage style of Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort. Rich in Tucson history, the resort resides in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains on 34 acres of natural desert landscape. Botanical gardens envelop the resort's private casitas, guest rooms and suites. Authentic adobe structures and hand-carved, wood-beamed ceilings circa 1929 are just a few of the preserved details amidst modern day amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Hotel Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing