We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Ranked #3 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
ChiTown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A true vacation”
Reviewed 28 March 2008

Had the best dinner in Tucson. Didn't know it was a hotel. Manager of the restaurant got me a room so i checked out from my big fake hotel that i stay in every year and tried the hacienda. Every person who works there is so nice and caring. I never was at a hotel like this. NEVER
I come to Tucson every year for @ 10 days. This will be the only place i ever go back to.
Its old but so gracious you really get to enjoy life again.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank dinwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    130
    47
    13
    7
See reviews for
121
398
32
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

Hacienda Del Sol is a special spot in Tuscon. Ideally located on a hilltop with a commanding view of the area and conveniently near the action in the elegant Foothills, this boutique hotel has been our home away from home for two visits now. We will return. The management is most helpful and friendly. The rooms, casitas and suites are imaginatively decorated, true to southwest desert tradition. The inner courtyard of the hotel is a combination of unusual and flourishing cacti and containers of annuals with vibrant colours surrounding an elegant fountain. The grounds abound with wildlife with people friendly quails and doves chirping merrily. The swimming pool nestled into the side of the hill is a delightful refuge on a hot winter's day. Coming from Ontario Canada, known for its harsh winters, it is a significant treat for us to lounge by the pool and take in the beautiful surroundings sance snow. The rooms that we have stayed in have wonderful views of surrounding elegant homes and a lush green golf course. The restaurant, the Grill, is one of Tucson's finest and we have used it extensively to entertain our Tuscon friends. It boast of two sommeliers and an extensive wine list. The wait staff is exceptional. In all, this hotel is a delight and ideally suited for travellers like ourselves who wish to avoid mass hotel chains. toronto, canada.

  • Liked — Large well appointed rooms
  • Disliked — Occasional noise from neighbors in one of the rooms we occupied.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AndersonToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2008

Have stayed here two times before and enjoyed the ambiance and the excellent restaurant. The rooms can however can lack charm, this time we stayed in room 37 which is a suite. NOT good value for money. Dark and stark living area and no privacy either from outside windows or sound from room next door, could hear entire conversations. Tracy Hepburn suite is wonderful but this is a two bedroom and pricey. Have seen some other rooms that we would return to on the west side of the property. Historic or less expensive rooms are very small.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SeaBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, AZ
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We decided to stay at the Hacienda del Sol for 6 days while we waited for our new home purchase to close in Tucson. We thought this would be a perfect place to stay to introduce ourselves to the feel of the Sonoran Desert. It was. We also took advantage of a mid-summer special of 3 nights for the price of 2.

We stayed in a Casita away from the main building, with a crystalline view of Tucson below us. We enjoyed watching all the local wildlife as we had our morning coffee on the patio outside. The suite was perfect, with wonderful furnishings and internet service.

Staying in mid summer made us feel as if we among very few guests, and made it feel even more of an exclusive resort. The hotel spa has a great view over a desert arroyo and is just steps away from a wonderful pool (check out the historic pictures in the lobby and you'll see the pool as it was in the '40's with no other structures nearby, just cactus.

Our stay at the Hacienda was perfect, and we'll make sure our guests sample it as well. It's romantic, rustic enough to have character, but with great service and a special location.

BTW, we love Tucson!!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2007

I booked a two night stay at Hacienda del Sol in June, planning to celebrate my birthday on the second night at the hotel restaurant with local friends.

I had a suite which was spacious but very dark and filled with the smell of cloying air freshener used in cheaper hotels and motels to cover up unpleasant odors. Tried opening all the doors and windows and this did help some. Bed was very good but the furnishings seemed left over from the 50s, the two rooms were depressing and poorly lit, certainly not inviting.

The first night I dined alone in the restaurant; it was a pretty unpleasant experience as I was stuck in a corner facing out a (dirty) window and had no view of the dining room at all. Service was very poor and I can only conclude that the management does not like solo diners and does their best to discourage them. The food was actually quite good though the servings were far too large... I don't think it is necessary to heap great amounts of food on plates, especially in a "fine dining" restaurant. Once I received the main course no one came back to the table, when I was finished I tried getting the attention of wait staff (difficult if you're not facing the room), and after about 15 minutes of this I got up and left, stopped at the desk and signed the bill but left no gratuity, told the person there how disappointed I was and then went back to my room.

The next morning I checked out, cancelled the dinner party I had planned for the evening and considered myself lucky that I didn't have to spend another night in that dark dreary suite.

  • Liked — lovely gardens and library
  • Disliked — incredibly poor service in dining room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank primrose87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2007

Our stay at the Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch was absolute perfection. The accomodations and southwestern decor in the Casita Grande were lovely. A patio facing the mountains and a large veranda in front where we had our morning coffee was so very tranquil. The terraced pool and Hot Tub areas were situated so well on the grounds that you were able to appreciate the natural settings and impeccable landscaping. Oh, the food!! On our first night when tired from travel and not knowing what we wanted the patio was the perfect spot. The grilled artichokes, crab cakes, tenderloin of beef and sirloin burger were all delectable. Service was great and if this wasn't enough we were treated to entertainment from a most talented musician/singer. The next evening at The Grill proved just as pleasing with its more upscale decor and the sirloin and beef tenderloin were exceptional. The breakfast buffet served each morning was a delight. From the made to order omelets to the very fresh fruit and the flaky and flavorful pasteries all partaken on the vernanda just outside the Grill - all oustanding. To really enjoy Tucson the Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch is where you have to be.

  • Liked — We felt we got a real feel for Tucson and a little history along with great accomodations.
  • Disliked — That we had only booked for two nights. We should have stayed longer!!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjstetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2007

I'm a picky traveler and all I can say is the Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch was perfect in every way. We stayed in a private casita (#48) which was cozy, beautifuly decorated, and private but with all the amenities. It had a little patio where we could watch the sun set over the mountains. Mornings were glorious as we sipped breshly brewed coffee on our little patio, enjoying the fresh morning air, listening to the birds, and admiring the lovely flowering cacti right outside our door. If this sounds like a perfect getaway spot, believe me it was. Apart from our casita, the grounds were gorgeous and the creative touches at the Inn and restaurant abounded. At every turn, there was something charming, surprising, or creative to look at-- colorful flower gardens, original artwork, historical photos from when the Inn was a school for wealthy girls. All this while still offering the necessities of modern travel like free internet in the lobby, internet connection in the rooms, and the offer to print out your airline boarding pass at the front desk. If you don't want to leave the premises (and believe me, you might not want to), there's a fabulous restaurant on site, a charming pool with hot tub, and riding stables just down the road. Great golf is a short ride away, with discounted rates at one of the area's finest courses. We've stayed at many, many four and five star resorts throughout the southwest and I can honestly say our stay at the Hacienda Del Sol far surpassed any of these other visits. We're already planning our next stay at this lovely, intimate guest house which literally stole our hearts!

  • Liked — privacy and serenity
  • Disliked — a little pricey
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank PRexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
15.3 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 128 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
4.8 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#24 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
0.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Property: Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Address: 5501 N Hacienda Del Sol Rd, Tucson, AZ 85718-5122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#10 Family Hotel in Tucson
#19 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience resort luxury with authentic, southwestern ambiance in Tucson, Arizona. Discover the romantic and vintage style of Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort. Rich in Tucson history, the resort resides in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains on 34 acres of natural desert landscape. Botanical gardens envelop the resort's private casitas, guest rooms and suites. Authentic adobe structures and hand-carved, wood-beamed ceilings circa 1929 are just a few of the preserved details amidst modern day amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Hotel Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing