We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Place With Lots of Character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Ranked #3 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Charming Place With Lots of Character”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The Hacienda del Sol is a charming, historic site that will transform you to another era. You'll notice on the hotel's website that the original use of the facility was a girl's boarding school and some of the original dorm rooms have been transformed into guest rooms. We stayed in once such room which is identified as an "historic room" alongside the courtyard. When booking, you should understand what is meant by "historic". Our room was spartan, but comfortable. The bathroom was small with multiple layers of glossy paint which was chipped in areas. Historic, indeed, but not the most attractive or luxurious. WiFi in our room was free with a decent signal.
Having said this about the "historic rooms", the Hacienda del Sol is a rare gem. The restaurant is top-notch and I'd have to believe one of the best in the area. All of the staff is extremely service-oriented and out to please their guests.
A stay at the Hacienda will transport you back to another time and place.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Skelt440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Skelt,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, with your very lengthy review and travel experience we appreciate both the kind words and the constructive thoughts on your room type.
As you point out the hotel beginning in 1929 was a girls school and turned into the ranch/hotel back in the early 40's. While we do embrace the historical nature of the rooms, they are not for everyone based on size and amenities. However chipped paint is not part of the charm and I will address this with our Maintenance Dept. The reviews really help focus on what guests are seeing and allow us to make quick and targeted fixes.
Thank you for dining in the Grill, we have consistently been voted in the top 5 yearly of restaurants in town. They appreciate your kind sentiments, this reinforces all the hard work and care they take to make guest experiences match the rankings.
If your coming to visit us again I would love to have you try one of our more modern room types, please contact me if I can help with any arrangements. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    132
    47
    13
    7
See reviews for
124
408
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch is one of my favorite places in the USA! It's been one week since I returned home from a four night stay there, and I totally miss it! The rooms, grounds, courtyards, art pieces, bar, restaurant, service, and views are incredible. Two years ago I stayed in one of the suites and had my own outdoor patio--awesome! This year I stayed in one of the historic rooms with a courtyard view and loved it too. Have a margarita and the chicken piccata when you go and enjoy!

Room Tip: The suites are so awesome if it fits your budget. If not, the more affordable historic rooms are eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Meredith,
Thank you for coming back to stay with us this year from the Tar Heel State, we appreciate you choosing us to be your Tucson landing spot when in town. We love when guests like yourself get to experience the various unique room types. I would love for you to to try one of our rooms in the middle of your previous two, I think that might find a great balance of the price with the space and amenities.
We also appreciate you dining with us on property, the margaritas are fantastic and our bartenders get quite creative with the varieties. Especially refreshing as the temperature starts heating up here.
We would love to see you on your next trip to Arizona, please contact me if I can assist with future reservations or needs. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

SIMPLY OUTSTANDING…

When we first heard of Hacienda Del Sol was a sunday morning in Tucson. We have visited Tucson a few times in the past and every time when driving home… we’ve been somewhat disappointed. May be because we’re both 50 + and do not fancy the college youth party style that much any more.

By coincident we saw the name Hacienda Del Sol in the newspaper that morning… directly followed by the word OUTSTANDING in capitals.

We decided to check it out and have lunch at the restaurant called “the Grill.” I have to say expectations where not high and we were somewhat surprised it wasn’t that easy to get a table.

We arrived to the Hacienda… about an hour early and it took us 40 minutes to walk the grounds, enjoy the surroundings, the style, the art, and we both said OUTRAGEOUS quite a few times. We’ve lived in the south of Europe for many years and it truly resembled the charm and the ambiance you’ll easily find there… but not i Tucson, AZ. I kept thinking why no one have told us knowing I’m a travel writer.

We had lunch at “the Grill” and my wife reminded me that it was just a few day’s before Valentines.

Very romantic, a fantastic view of the Tucson Valley, a splendid sunday buffé with complimentary “créme de cassis.” There was nothing to complain about.

To say it all in one word “OUTSTANDING!!!”

The famed "Guide Michelin” from France rewards only a few places with 3 stars. A reward that among many other things means the place is a destination worth a travel. That is precisely what Hacienda Del Sol is about. We will have no problem to travel back and stay, eat, and go horseback riding.

Hacienda Del Sol won our hearts.

Richard Hagglof
Travel writer / photographer

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhagglof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Richard,
Thank you for finding us and coming to stay on this trip down south. Great to hear we were able to help overcome your first few experiences in town with an Outstanding one. Thank you for spending the time to dine with us both lunch and brunch, in the restaurant world there isnt a much better way to highlight the success than with 3 Michelin Stars, a very high compliment to us which we sincerely appreciate. Also being a travel writer affords you many experiences in various hotels/restaurants, given the keen eye your sentiments come highly regarded.
I hope we can win your hearts again in the future, please contact me if I can help with any hotel reservations or setting up a trail ride through our Stables. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, California
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was our 3rd trip to Tucson and Hacienda del Sol made it the best one yet. This property has it all, beautiful grounds, amazing views and lovely rooms. Our room felt historic - loved the big Mexican tiles and the one of a kind hand painted sink. The beds were comfortable and the property is quiet making for a great nights sleep. This is during gem show week in Tucson - and that meant that the hotel was 100% full. The hotel staff is fantastic - you can train people to do exceptional customer service but what you can't train them to do is be genuine about it. This staff treated us like valued friends visiting their home. They were just plain glad to be there and happy to go out of their way to make us feel comfortable. All this when the hotel is full ?Bravo ! The food was good - the music in the restaurant however was just way too loud. Even sitting in the bar with the doors closed you had to raise your voice to be heard - I would not want to sit in the actual restaurant (outside in the patio) as I'm sure you could not have any dinner conversation - they were LOUD. Other than that it was a magical experience at Hacienda del Sol.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for coming back to our fair city and for deciding to stay with us on this trip. We have lofty expectations now for your 4th trip based on your glowing review which we appreciate. Thank you for mentioning the music levels, I will address this with our restaurant management, everyone should be able to enjoy a peaceful dinner whether here for the music or not.
Slow, busy and in between we always aim to provide the kind of service you received. We all appreciate the kind mention, these kinds of recognition solidify why we are here and the hard work we all put in. We all enjoy being here and that reflects in your very gracious feelings.
We look forward to having you back for # 4, please contact me if I can assist with reservations or any trip needs. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We traveled to Tucson to explore, and on the way there, looked up some places to stay. Found Hacienda Del Sol, booked it sight unseen, and after a long drive from El Paso, arrived in the early evening. We were taken aback. What a pleasant surprise! A lovely retreat, historical, unique. We never left, and we saw nothing else in or around Tucson. We were content in the Catalina foothills at our own retreat with a pool, hot tub, horses, beautifully landscaped desert gardens, and one-of-a-kind art. If you expect cookie-cutter chain hotel/motel experiences and rooms, this is NOT the place for you. The bar is a fun place with music and indoor/outdoor seating with fireplace. The restaurant is wonderful, but I preferred the bar for drinks and hanging out. Each room is unique, some with tiled sinks, showers, bathtubs; some have stenciled furniture. No two are alike. This place was a find! We will go back. Great service from all employees! Owners are on site! Be sure to take the nature tour at 9:00 in the morning. You will be educated about desert plants and creatures. Fascinating and informative. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie68137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Connie,
Thank you for choosing us to stay with us recently from the Cornhusker State. I hope the rest of your Southwest trek was as enjoyable as your stay here. While Tucson is great for many things but it says a lot when you had no desire or need to venture outside the hotel walls. We appreciate you taking the time to explore and learn about our many unique rooms, as mentioned many look similar but there are various quirks which make each its own.
Our Front Desk Manager John appreciates taking his nature walk, he really enjoys educating guests on all the wonderful and unique desert landscapes and creatures we have on the grounds. It is true you never know when one of the hotel owners will stop for a chat, give some insights on our history or cozy up for a drink with you at the bar. What cookie cutter hotel does that ever happen.
We look forward to having you come back to stay with us, we wont mind next time if you actually need to see some of our fair city. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I hold an annual meeting for the Manager's in our company. We stayed at Hacienda del Sol in January, 2014. The resort has a very relaxed and casual feel in an appropriate Southwestern theme. There are maybe 30 rooms ranging from basic to spacious. There are outdoor spaces to gather. The meeting space was pleasant. Dining was good. The attention we received from the staff was outstanding. Views of the desert and the mountains were abundant. We watched a Bobcat stroll through the resort and came upon a Javelina on one of the sidewalks. Many of our manager's would like to return in the future. I highly recommend the Hacienda del Sol.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Donald,
Thank you for bringing your Morrison group to the Hacienda, it was our pleasure helping make your meetings successful with some fun thrown in. Your contact here Toby said your group was very easy to work with and appreciates the kind words regarding your experience. Great contrast you mention between relaxed and casual feel yet still receiving the full staff attention. This is one of our strengths keeping a laid back atmosphere while still being quick to handle any needs in a professional manner. Looks like you got to see part of Haciendas impromptu zoo, the bobcat has been meeting guests for years and where else are you going to see a javelina, these make the experience unique when your here.
We would to have your company come back for the next meeting or hope your guests can come back for a more leisurely visit in the future. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for a night as a get-away and it was perfect! The restaurant was fun--although I'd recommend the bar over the fancy restaurant. The food is good but not great so I'd have felt bad spending too much on it. The bar was fun and had a live blues band.

Also the Spa was wonderful. I got an amazing massage and scrub from Kaileen Milligan (Kai) I would HIGHLY recommend her. One of the best I've had.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Sara,
Thank you for coming out "East" to see us for your getaway. Thank you also for sharing thoughts on your experience with fellow travelers. We appreciate you enjoying a Spa treatment and dining with us in the Terraza. I will pass along your very kind words regarding your experience with Kai, she comes highly recommended by many clients and enjoys helping people relax and feel better. Catering to a wide variety of clientele it is nice to have both our fine dining Grill and much more casual Terraza. We have recently added Thursday and Sunday to our music calendar,I am glad you enjoyed the atmosphere/music and food on the casual side. Hope to see you again in the future when your coming to Arizona. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
15.3 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
777 reviews
4.8 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.2 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Property: Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Address: 5501 N Hacienda Del Sol Rd, Tucson, AZ 85718-5122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#2 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#10 Family Hotel in Tucson
#19 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience resort luxury with authentic, southwestern ambiance in Tucson, Arizona. Discover the romantic and vintage style of Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort. Rich in Tucson history, the resort resides in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains on 34 acres of natural desert landscape. Botanical gardens envelop the resort's private casitas, guest rooms and suites. Authentic adobe structures and hand-carved, wood-beamed ceilings circa 1929 are just a few of the preserved details amidst modern day amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Hotel Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing