We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID - AVOID - 1010 S. Freeway in Tucson AZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Tucson Downtown
Ranked #119 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“AVOID - AVOID - 1010 S. Freeway in Tucson AZ”
Reviewed 19 April 2007

Howard Johnson - Tucson, AZ.
I went to this hotel as part of a package on Orbitz. OK, OK - I know - it was cheap. But - this was the worst place I have ever stayed - and my standards can be very low when it is my money (or my own company's money) and all I really need is a bed.
Having said that - this place still was off the charts - at the bottom.
It is noisy. It is right on the freeway.
There was a missing light bulb over the bed that never got replaced.
One day there was no coffee for the machine.
I used the little pad of note paper my on first day - I never got another over 4 days.
The staff was horrible.
Transients were everywhere - picking up cans and eyeing the cars.
And the worst -- The WiFi was sooooooo slow that a dial up modem would have been 10X faster. I literally could not get any work done or even read my emails. I complained and the management told me that they had a bad internet service provider and could not change it for several more months. Are you kidding me - they knew about the problem and chose not to fix it ???
Because it was pre-paid as a package I felt stuck - but I was ready to flee after 1 hour there.
Even if it is free - avoid this place!

  • Liked — That they ended after 4 days.
  • Disliked — That I had to stay there for 4 days.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MovinOn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    10
    29
    59
    134
See reviews for
84
47
41
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcadia, OK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2006

This was the nastiest motel I ever paid $80 a night for. There was little or no hot water, the wireless Internet did not work, and the room was nasty. I just can't think of much to say about the property that is good except the location.

We asked for a nonsmoking room, but the room we received had thirty year old paint, bad plumbing, and the smell of stale cigarettes. Their free breakfast turned out to be a bowl of cereal for one person (we had three) and they charge premium prices for substandard service. The following night we stayed in a motel that cost half as much and received four times the comfort.

  • Liked — The location is convienient, which was why we chose Howard Johnson.
  • Disliked — The room was nasty and the amenities poor.
  • Tips/Secrets — Go down the street to the cheaper motels. You get a better room for half the price.
  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank okieexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIOUX FALLS, SD
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2006

This hotel is the worst I have stayed at in a long time. We were supposed to be here three different nights, and they were to be free under Cendant's best rate program.

Each room we had was falling apart, the fixtures were coming off the walls and the rooms were dirty. The first room we had the water in the tub did not work. We had a non smoking room yet you could smell the smoke coming in. There was holes in the bedding, dirty rolled up toilet paper in our clean bed under the pillows.

The next time in a remodled room it was again dirty and falling apart. After we left this place for good I receive a call from a manager who did not speak english well, and who evidently did not understand Cendant's best rate program. He said we were only entitled to one free night and that they were going to charge us for the other nights. When I started to dispute this with him he hung up on me.

After seeing the charges on our credit card bill I contacted Cendant and they are working on getting them credited. The hotel also falsified the dates of check in that they reported to the credit card company (to make it look like the dates we stayed were not under the free night program.)

Hotel has also started charging for the continental breakfast.

AGAIN AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS!!! IT IS NOT WORTH STAYING AT EVEN FOR FREE!!!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tonyk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2005

Booked for three nights through priceline. Got it for $20 a night. First room was awful. Smelled really bad. Went and switched right away to room next door. Next room not as bad of a smell. Room had no fire alarm, no remote, basically nothing extra except a T.V. Basically we only got this room to sleep in. The rest of the days were spent with family. The next day I noticed through open windows that the other rooms had coffe makers, hair dryers, and fire alarms. I went back to office and was switched to a different room. All rooms were overall shabby. Old rug, old bedspreads, patched up walls, towel racks ripped off, could see through your air vent in bathroom into bathroom next door!! I've decided that I'm not that hard up on money where I won't spend a few extra bucks on a hotel the next time. But if your just looking for a place to crash, and you can get it cheap, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank not2fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2005

I wish I had known of this sight earlier. Booked this hotel through Hotwire, so it was paid for before I saw it. They called it a 2 star. First room they showed me had towel rack and ceiling light fixtures missing, stains on towels, rolled up kleenex in missing peep hole, door barely attached from being kicked in, drawers on furniture falling off, & looked like it had just been repainted using a broom. When I told front desk she laughed at 2-star rating, said many other travelers leave after they see the room conditions, and said I could not get refund (because it was prepaid through Hotwire). Showed me second "remodeled room" by pool courtyard. It was generally dirty, and was also supposed to be non-smoking, yet reeked of smoke, & bed spread had 14 burn holes in it (yes I counted them). I called Hotwire from hotel desk and was told it was paid for and I could not get refund. So I stayed. The first cockroach I saw was actually inside the alarm clock when I went to set it. Apparently they like the warmth because you could see other dead ones in it too through the front glass. I also saw 2 in bathroom, 1 on sink, and 1 crawling up the wall by the frig. After I got home I had to dump out all my clothes in the driveway to prevent any roaches from coming home with me. Hotwire and Howard Johnsons said they'd "look into it." The response from hotel mgmt. was an offer to stay again at a $10 discount! Hotwire's response was to stand behing the 2 star rating having no independant info to the contrary, and offer nothing to me in the way of refund, apology, or redress of any kind. Apparently, they either didn't believe me or didn't care. I would never stay here again even if it was free, nor use Hotwire again because I can't trust their ratings. As older and inexpensive hotels go, this one is at the bottom of the barrel, being also dirty, rundown, and unsanitary.

  • Stayed January 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank larryducati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.6 mi away
Arizona Riverpark Inn
Arizona Riverpark Inn
#73 of 130 in Tucson
235 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Tucson Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Tucson - Congress Street
1.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Tucson West
2.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#89 of 130 in Tucson
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Tucson Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Tucson Downtown

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Tucson Downtown
Address: 1010 S Freeway, I10 and 22nd, Tucson, AZ 85745-3218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Tucson Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Tucson Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Tucson Downtown Hotel Tucson
Tucson Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn - Tucson Downtown Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing