We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We just returned from another wonderful vacation in Tucson. The staff greeted us with a "welcome back". The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and nicely furnished with balconies. We enjoyed breakfast and lunches outdoors with great views. Most mornings started with an exercise walk by the golf courses. We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abarasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,916 - 1,922 of 2,852 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Opened in 1985 and feels like it. Worn Astroturf and residential fire pits of lesser quality than I have at my own home on the back patio, squeaky, worn beds and dated decor' await you! As for hospitality, the general staff was fine however, after a 3 day stay, we requested an additional hour past the noon check-out while we attended an event at the hotel. It was denied by the front desk manager even though I explained we had booked an extended return stay over Thanksgiving with my entire family. We simply wanted to be able to change in our room before heading to the airport. The event ended up concluding at 11:45am. After I retrieved my luggage from the car we went to the spa in order to change and ended up driving off the property at 12:07pm. When we arrived home I canceled my return visit and booked at Starr Pass (new, better location for UofA, better price). Was the 7 minutes worth destroying brand loyalty Loews? Shutters over Loews Santa Monica next time too. You make the choice easy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Schneidbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We've stayed here quite a few times and each has been so comfortable and relaxing. It's a great getaway for us...my wife's favorite. The addition of the Monarch Butterfly Garden was quite a thrill for our little daughter.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixTravelJunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Loews Ventana Canyon Resort is probably one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at. There are a few different ranks in hotels. Choice hotels is standard. Then there's the step up, like Hilton. And then there's nice places like Marriott and Loews.
Yes, the facility needs some TLC. But the rooms are very nice, the views are beautiful. The service is spectacular. On my second day at Loews, I asked for change at the front desk and they thanked me by name!
In Tucson? Go to Loews

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genecrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. Our room was totally comfortable with a wonderful view of Tucson. Loads of families with children were there and there's plenty for kids to do. Adults without children can escape to the outside spa pool which is bliss. All the eating places are very good. The Sunday brunch with jazz is so relaxing.

Room Tip: We thought the rooms with a view of the city were awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherryl154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I expected a resort with a pool, clean rooms, overpriced food. What I didn't expect was a place with personality, aided by a remarkable design and layout that makes you feel and experience the Tucson desert that was the drawing card BEFORE all the hotels rose up along these foothills like invasive saguaros. Instead of another luxury hotel, Ventana is a place that wants you to experience outdoors Tucson not an imported luxury brand. The rooms were comfortable and distinctively Southwest. The help was reasonably pleasant. The food was, however, predictably overpriced and distinctly average. But when you take a stroll outside past the mesquite trees, smell the fresh, dry sage and approach the waterfalls gushing out of the mountain, you've had your fill.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have been a resident of Tucson for 28 years and as a self-described "foodophile" have sampled the offerings of most of the resorts small and large that the valley has to offer. The Sunday brunch at Ventana Canyon has become our family's "go to" choice when celebrating all manner of special occasions; Thankgiving, Christmas, Easter, Birthdays, or sometimes just for the heck of it. Executive Chef Ken Harvey and his staff do a marvelous job with their "Blues, Brews, and BBQ" themed extravaganza. From tender baby back ribs, prime rib roast, leg of lamb, and "Sonoran hot dogs", to grilled salmon, wonderful fresh grilled veggies (the asparagus is sublime), everything is freshly prepared and thoughtfully presented. New at our most recent visit was a charcuterie table featuring various meats and cheeses including imported dried Italian capocollo, prosciutto, and salami. Special mention should be made of the waitstaff who are very attentive; always on time to wisk away a plate or to keep the mimosas flowing. Extra special kudos to Hostess and Reservation Specialist Brianna who's attention to detail when satisfying our special requests does not go unnoticed. Thank you all for making my family and I feel like a part of the Ventana Canyon family!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
708 reviews
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
3.9 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
14.0 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
#12 of 129 in Tucson
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Address: 7000 N Resort Dr, Tucson, AZ 85750-1341
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
#8 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £144 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing