We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, comfortable, and well-managed resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We are northern midwesterners just completing a two week mid-winter stay at this facility, which we picked out from on line information, although we had had a similar stay in this city a few years ago (a good stay at another property). It is located in the northeast fringe of Tucson but roads are good. The closest stores are 5-7 minutes away Our experience overall has been very favorable. It is a beautiful and well-maintained facility nestled into the base of the Santa Catalina mountains with ample use of the natural surroundings.The walking path through desert flora up to a waterfall is beautiful. As non-golfers we were initially concerned about being in a golfing resort, but we needn't have worried; there are high level golf, tennis, and exercise facilities as part of the offerings, but the main hotel is aimed at the general vacationer. They host a number of groups and meetings but without being intrusive about it. Our room was very comfortable and reasonably luxurious; the mattress was comfortable. Some of the room features were slightly dated, but the manager states the rooms are due for an upgrade. We suggested better charging stations and some bathroom revisions but these were trivial. A routine supply of an in-room refrigerator (one was supplied on request) and microwave would be good. The overall state of cleanliness and maintenance was excellent. Perhaps the best aspect of our stay has been the staff- uniformly friendly, helpful, down to earth, real people. We detected no hint whatever of employee problems. Any request or concern was swiftly dealt with. The food service was excellent and we loved the breakfasts. There are several lunch and daytime food outlets. Evening meals are a choice between the expensive Flying V Bar and Grill or a limited but tasty menu served in the central bar-lounge. There are, however, a plethora of good restaurants in Tucson. Parking was convenient. The facility is a 30-40 minute drive from the Tucson airport and there is no hotel limo. I summary, we do heartily recommend this resort for a very comfortable, reasonably upscale but not glittery experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the hill side view have the best view, but the other side has an expansive city overview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badgerhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVCRServiceDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us at Loews Ventana Canyon! It sounds like you were able to thoroughly experience the resort and we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and others on TripAdvisor! We will be sure to share your kind words with our entire staff and hope you will join us once again at Loews Ventana Canyon on your next visit to Tucson!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,922 - 1,928 of 2,944 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our Association met at Loews Ventana Canyon in late January. Every aspect was tremendous. Implementation of the meeting was great. The conference services staff did a great job. The food and beverage folks were fabulous and attentive. The guest experiences were great too. 30 of our folks had their flights cancelled and the staff helped us throw an unscheduled Super Bowl party, which was great. I found the Fitness Center and Spa to be great. Every room having its own balcony is a real plus. The restaurants all excelled at service and great food.

Room Tip: Suites are just lovely. Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVCRServiceDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you so much for your TripAdvisor review! We are very pleased to hear that your recent Association Meeting went so well and that our staff was able to make such a great impact despite the uncooperative weather! We will be sure to share your comments with not only the Conference Services and Food & Beverage Departments, but also with our entire staff! Again, thank you and we hope you will once again consider Loews Ventana Canyon when planning your next Association Meeting!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just spent at week at Loews Ventana Canyon and would return in an instant. The setting is spectacular, with an abundance of hiking trails and outdoor activities (which is exactly why we chose this resort). We had a suite on the 4th floor with a mountain view. The room was spacious, bed extremely comfortable, overall immaculate. The breakfast at the Canyon Cafe was excellent. Every staff member we encountered greeted us with a smile and could not have been nicer, and indeed always helpful. My husband and I look forward to returning next winter for another wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Would definitely choose a room on the 4th floor with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tricia135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVCRServiceDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Wow! Thank you so very much for sharing your experience at Loews Ventana Canyon with us and others on TripAdvisor! It sounds like you had a wonderful time and we will be sure to share your kind words with our entire staff! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again this winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We checked in about 11pm. We were welcomed by two sloppy women. The directions to our hotel room had us driving to a parking lot near the hotel room. We got lost and found ourselves in a pitch-black parking lot walking too far to a room. It was a little scary and dangerous. We should have been told to valet the car and walk a very short distance to our room. The room was fine but it was noisy with load service sounds in the AM. The restaurant and food service was nice. The gym acceptable, but messy with no attendant on the floor. The concierge leaves on weekends by 5pm. Overall the service was inconsistent. There a many resorts in Tucson. We have tried all of them I would suggest Marriott Star Pass, the Ritz or La Paloma… all better alternatives.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms near the west lot on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacaJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVCRServiceDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us at Loews Ventana Canyon. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and are constantly striving to improve the resort and the overall experience they receive. Your comments are appreciated and will be shared with senior management. Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Loews Ventana Canyon again on your next visit to Tucson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I recently visited the Loews Ventana Canyon for a mix of business and R&R. I used a lot of the facilities-restaurants, coffee shops, golf course, conference rooms, pool, activities, etc.

I also asked and received a mountain view, which was pretty spectacular. The cactus on the mountainside almost looked like a set out of a Hollywood movie.

If you eat at the Flying V, make sure you get the guacamole, made table side to your liking. It was awesome, and so were the variety of margaritas.

There are two golf courses on site. I played the Mountainside course and found it to be extremely well maintained, playable and fair, and provided some great views and beautifully sculpted holes.

There are a couple of hiking trails that allows you to get outside for either a leisurely stroll or some exercise. Both of the trails I used were pretty tame, so no need to worry about any "mountain difficulty".

All in all it was a great stay and I found it to be a pretty good value for this level of resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view. It's also a big resort, so you may want to ask for a room which is clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVCRServiceDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

What a great review! Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us at Loews Ventana Canyon, it sounds like you had a wonderful time! We agree, the table-side guacamole at the Flying V Bar & Grill is a guest and local favorite that is certainly not to be missed! Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Loews Ventana Canyon again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

First time that I used the meeting facilities at Lowes. Excellent customer service and communication prior to arrival. Everything is the meeting room set up correctly. Staff very attentive to our needs. We also had about 10 people staying on site. Great rooms. Showers are amazing. Flying V was excellent. Great food and service. And you can't beat the views. Top notch!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Leslie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVCRServiceDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor review and for choosing Loews Ventana Canyon for your recent meeting! We are so happy to hear your meeting was a success and that you were impressed with the level of service you were provided! We will be sure to share your comments with our Conference Services staff and hope you will allow us to once again host your next meeting at Loews Ventana Canyon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We just spend two nights at this resort, in January mid-week, before embarking on a road trip to take in southeastern Arizona natural hiking areas. It was a wonderful way to be pampered while enjoying the grogeous saguaro-studded landscape of Ventana Canyon.

The front desk offered a room upgrade to floor 4, with super views, free of charge, and they allowed us an early check-in because rooms were available. This meant we could sit by the pool and enjoy drinks and sunshine the same day we landed at Tucson airport from cold Denver. The little terrace off the spacious room afforded great views of the waterfall and nature trail that makes this place so special. This resort was one of the first to be designed "environmentally friendly," and really blends into the natural surroundings. The extensive nature trail (paved and lighted for access all hours) includes beautiful signage identifying birds, plants, and other creatures found in the area. Butterflies, bats, and lizards are also highlighted. If you don't want to do an actual hike in this area, the nature trail on the property is a nice touch to give you a feel for the habitat.

Do take the Parcourse fitness trail (near the golf course) whether you plan to actually do the exercises at each stop or not. We did this about 2 hours before sunset and were treated to sightings of interesting bird species and glorious color as the sun went down.

We paid the flat fee for internet, parking, and the fitness room. The fitness/spa is wonderful. All the amenities of a first class athletic club (ice water, towels, sauna, toiletries, etc.) with lots of windows for sunlight and nice fitness machines.

Sitting poolside, even though it was winter, we enjoyed a swim and dunk in the jacuzzi. The pool water was plenty warm, and the resort provides very sumptuous robes to cuddle up in after your swim. The servers poolside were top-notch and friendly, and I was very impressed with the quality of the lunches we enjoyed on the deck. Best steak quesadilla I have ever eaten.

Flying V Restaurant is on the property and did not disappoint. My filet was perfect, as was my husband's Ahi special. The corn bread with chiles was very good (provided before the meal) and the server gave us an extra mini-skillet of this pone to take with us when we left, because we praised it so much.

We happened to be staying on a night when a free astronomy session was held poolside. The volunteer astronomer, Jerry, was so welcoming and knowledgable. The telescope we used to see planets, stars, nebulae, and the Andromeda galaxy is owned by Loews, so they have clearly found this to be a popular amenity.

Evenings you can enjoy relaxing near the fireplace in any easy chair in the Cascade lounge, where free wifi is available if you didn't pay for it otherwise. Firepits outside are also a good choice for enjoying a drink. Our server and waitstaff at Cascades were fabulous--friendly and attentive. We ate dinner here on night two, where an extensive menu is offered in a relaxed setting.

For those of you like us, who wanted to do some hiking on public land during our weeklong vacation, this resort sits at the base of one of the area's best hikes into Ventana Canyon. The public trailhead is easy to reach from the employee parking lot at the hotel. This is a somewhat rigorous hike that takes you into the canyon and beyond. Many hikers rate this trail better than the often crowded Sabino Canyon trail nearby. (Note that while Loews allows dogs, the trail does not.) We saw many bird species, lizards, and butterflies. It was pleasant hiking this trail for a few hours in the morning and returning to the resort in early afternoon for a swim and a cocktail by the pool.

From the moment we arrived and Jeff, the doorman, greeted us, until we were escorted out and bade farewell, we loved this place. While it felt luxurious, it was never gaudy or flashy. Service is excellent but not overbearing. We will be back.

Room Tip: We loved the 4th floor, mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Satisfaction7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVCRServiceDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Wow, your TripAdvisor review from your recent stay with us at Loews Ventana Canyon is truly fantastic!! Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and others! It sounds like you had the chance to really experience every aspect of the resort and we are so pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves while staying with us! We will definitely share your kind words with our entire staff as well as the astronomers from the UA Science Mt. Lemmon SkyCenter! Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Loews Ventana Canyon on your next trip to sunny Tucson!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
7.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#19 of 129 in Tucson
1,019 reviews
3.9 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
14 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Address: 7000 N Resort Dr, Tucson, AZ 85750-1341
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#8 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £131 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing