We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous desert resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Ranked #19 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous desert resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Beautiful desert oasis. friendly staff. nice restaurant

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ittybittyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for your comments about the Hilton Tucson El Conquistador. Nestled in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains our resort location is beautiful! I am delighted that you enjoyed our restaurants, and found our staff friendly.

Kindly,
Lori B.
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    614
    230
    101
    50
See reviews for
568
466
74
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

This hotel was pretty much flawless. The AC worked great, there was a fridge in the room, the bed was super comfortable, house keeping was top notch, the location was beautiful....I could go on and on.

The only flaw with the layout of the hotel was that the parking didn't go all the way around the hotel and when you have to make two trips to your car because you can't get everything in one trip (we bring groceries w/ us) it makes it more difficult to get in and relax.

But like I said, other than that one little detail, everything was perfect!

Room Tip: Really any room is great; but some rooms face Pusch Ridge and the Catalina's...which are a spect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onebigfellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
We truly appreciate your review of the Hilton Tucson El Conquistador. We are pleased that you found your room comfortable. In regards to the hotel layout, please note that our bell staff is always happy to assist our guests with getting settled in their rooms. The bell staff as well as our concierge is a great resource for resort information as well as local attractions.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to the El Conquistador should your travels return
you to Tucson.

Regards,
Lori B.
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed here while on a work trip and wasn't too impressed. The best quality would have to be the main pool area. There are lots of lounge chairs to relax by the pool. At night they have fire pits going so you can stay out pretty late and enjoy the scenery.

The rooms could use updating. The carpet looks very old and both of my rooms had beds which were a bit sunken in the middle. Moved from my first room which wasn't in the main hotel area. It was nice bc it walked out to a private pool, but it was too far and required a hike to get back to the hotel. It also had many bugs in the room which was very gross. Hilton moved me without question the following day so I was happy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meko119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that our team was able to resolve your room move to your satisfaction. I will share your comments regarding our guest rooms for future renovation projects.

Arizona evenings in the summer are wonderful; it is the best time to enjoy relaxing by the pool and do a little star gazing.

Sincerely,

Lori B.
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

I stayed at the El Conquistador in June this year on a 21 day vacation from Australia. This is a big resort and lots of rooms. We booked online and had little trouble finding it (the resort). Our room was on the lower part of block one and we had to ask the security guard how to get to our room. He was exceptionally nice and assisted us. Room was a little dated but clean and tidy. We were visiting on a hot day and the pool area was crowded, nonetheless there was no issue with noise. Car parking at the rear of the resort was free but it is a bit of a walk to your room, room cards allow access through security gates.
I always judge a motel simply asking myself if I would stay again. This was the case for this resort, all in all a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our Tucson resort. The Hilton El Conquistador is located on over 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains. The views that surround the resort are truly spectacular.
The main pool located at the heart of the resort is very popular during the summer months. As you may have had the opportunity to enjoy, we offer dive-in movies on the weekends, and during most holiday weekends we offer live entertainment as well as other fun activities. We want all of our guests to leave with exceptional memories as you did, and will look forward to your return should your travels bring you back to the Desert Southwest.

Kind regards,
Lori B.
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

we just loved it. It was very clean and not noisy because we chose the mountain view rooms, which could definitely make a difference further away from pool. Pool is open till 2200 which is great to swim during a hot summer night.
Good location for Saguaro Park and the north bit of Tucson, which is very nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edupolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
We truly appreciate your feedback about the Hilton Tucson El Conquistador. You cannot top the breathtaking views of the Santa Catalina Mountains which provide the dramatic backdrop to the Hilton El Conquistador. We are the perfect getaway for those guests who wish to be away from the city, and enjoy outdoor activities such as golf, tennis, hiking, biking, or a refreshing swim in one of our sparkling pools.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Hilton El Conquistador for a future stay.

Regards,
Lori B.
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

My husband had a business trip to Tucson for a few days so the kids and I tagged along for fun. We stayed at the hotel for four nights. First let me say the resort is a beautiful property set among a gorgeous natural setting of the Arizona desert. The room was large and decorated nicely. Problem was it was filthy. Upon check in the mirrors had splatters, carpet not clean, cigarettes all over the patio and countertops sticky! Not what one expects from a Hilton. I had read reviews of the bad customer service...well it is true! Upon check in, we were greeted by the most obnoxious and rude customer service rep. He was not friendly nor welcoming (not a good first impression for your stay). Most of the hotel staff seem miserable and do not go out of their way to be friendly or helpful. The one exception was Brandon who works the buffet line. He was at least outgoing and helpful to our family. The pool area is quite nice but once again VERY dirty. The pool cleaner needs to be fired! The hot tub opens at 8am yet you cannot get pool towels until 10am. The food is overpriced and not very good. Eat off location for the best value! The breakfast buffet is $17 and they really push it. My husband wanted a fresh cooked meal and they fought him over it! Next problem-- this hotel is not soundproof! On Saturday night the hotel hosted a wedding. All night long, teens and drunk adults ran up and down the halls yelling and slamming doors. You hear everything! When the person above you opens their patio door it sounds like it is in your room. Needless to say my kids were all woken in the middle of the night due to the noise and commotion coming from the halls of this hotel. The hotel could be a top notch resort if they cleaned it better and did a bit of upgrading. The resort is in an excellent location. It is close to any shop or restaurant you might need, though you will need a car for the area. With a bit of TLC it could be a gem. Overall a good resort for the rate we paid if you need a place to stay while visiting Tucson.

Room Tip: Away from hallway doors if you want to actually sleep here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neelleyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on Trip Advisor. I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. I will share your review with both our Director of Front Office and our Director of Housekeeping so that they can review and use your comments as a training tool with their departments.

Regards,
Lori B.
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

My friends and I tagged along with my sister, brother-in-law, and nieces for a quick weekend getaway. We live in Phoenix and just wanted to get out of town. I have been to this resort once before but didn't get to enjoy it much because I was ill, but this time around I had a blast. On the night we arrived we noticed there was live music in the lobby so we sat there and had some cocktails. The music was great, but there was only one other table with a party of 4 and nobody came to take our drink order for about 15 minutes. The next morning we woke up early to hang by the pool. Also had some cocktails and played in the pool with my nieces and went down the slide a few times.
Because we checked in late, and only staying one night, the Front Desk told us that we were allowed to enjoy the facilities after we check out. They also said that if we need to shower we can do so in the Spa/Fitness Center. When my friends and I arrived at the Spa, the clerk directed us to the locker room. While we were getting dressed, the locker room attendant asked us if we received services at the spa. When we told her we had not, she made a sour face at us. I later spoke with my sister and she said that the lady was rude to her as well. We made sure we were fast and cleaned up all of our mess to be considerate. I have worked in a few resorts, including the Hotel Del Coronado, and I know how to behave.
If you are traveling with your family, this is great. Aside from the lady at the spa, everyone was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Hilton Tucson El Conquistador. We are pleased to hear that your family had a great time, and enjoyed relaxing in the Conquistador Lounge while listening to the live music. It’s great that your family was able to stay after check-out to spend some more time at the pool. I apologize that the locker room attendant was not as hospitable as they should have been, and will share your comments with the manager of that department. We will look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the El Conquistador.

Kindly,
Lori
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
10.0 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
5.7 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
6.0 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
4.5 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Property: Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Address: 10000 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-7644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#11 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#20 Business Hotel in Tucson
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#25 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing