We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old & Dated... Not Worth the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Ranked #20 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Richland, WA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old & Dated... Not Worth the Price”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My husband and I recently traveled to Tucson for a convention. We chose to stay at the Hilton El Conquistador as a special treat and were we ever dissapointed. We paid $190 per night plus resort fees and taxes..... this was way overpriced for what we consider to be an old and dated property. The setting is gorgeous and the grounds are lovely but the rooms are in much need of updating. Our room smelled musty and we could never get it to smell much better even if we left the patio door open for awhile. We both agree that the stay was not worth the price!

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, 21 October 2016
We would love to have you give our resort another opportunity as we have recently renovated guest rooms, and we are confident you will enjoy the exciting changes that have happened.

Ghee Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    625
    234
    103
    51
See reviews for
597
474
74
490
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I love the surroundings of this hotel. You can enjoy beautiful mountains while swimming in the pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zman319
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Met expectations, would recommend, would stay again.

Booked two nights for a spring break family trip to the Tucson area.

High points: Peaceful location, away from hustle-and-bustle. Nice hiking trails adjacent to the hotel. Drawback: Away from hustle-and-bustle... that really was the only trade-off for the property. Factor in at least 20 minutes of drive time to the downtown sights...

Room: Booked standard double queen, upgraded to pool view. Room was clean, though bathroom a bit cramped/tight. Carpets, linens, and wearables were all clean and not threadbare.

Public areas: Clean and inviting. Renovations to main restaurant well underway during our visit. Pool area clean and well maintained, attentive staff members always available, making regular rounds to straighten up after departed guests.

Dining: Breakfast amenity for HHonors gold is free cold buffet, which was on par with other Hiltons- which, I might add, is quite good. Strong base of grains, complemented by sweet fruits, add some tasty pastries, and garnish with smooth dairy products. We chose to pay up for the hot buffet, which treated us to warm staples- bacon, sausage, eggs, pancakes, warm pecan rolls, and a rolling selection of breakfast burritos, southwestern eggs, or something else... Presentation was superb. Oh- there was also an omelette station.

Staff- attentive but not patronizing. One of our party utilized the spa services and reported back that they were 4/5 stars, good value, good massage.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zman319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My daughter attends UofA so we stay here frequently while visiting her. Beautiful property and setting against the foothills. I love to run around this resorts golf community and the sunsets are beautiful. Good gym as well. Best rooms are in building 4 overlooking pool and mountains. Property restaurants are understaffed. Food servers have good intentions, but they have been given to much work, too many tables. Long waits from your servers. Simple things like water refilling just don't happen. If you want decent service, you are forced to eat of property, and this resort is fairly isolated from greater Tucson. Luckily breakfast is serve yourself buffet. Continental buffet for $9 is great value with plentiful fresh fruit, homemade granola (highly recommend) and good selection of breads and pastries. Think twice before opting for $18 full buffet.....bacon, sausage, eggs really worth it? Property is investing in a remolded restaurant so hopefully they will invest in new management and staffing as well.

Room Tip: Building 4, which overlooks pool and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlyUSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brampton
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

i recently returned from a 5 day golf holiday and we all stayed at this beautiful resort . The facilities and staff were all top notch and the weather and views were spectacular. The 9 hole golf course greens had recently been overseeded and as such were not that great but by now should be fine. as the resort is a little way out of town ,a vehicle is a must . All in all a great destination.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycanuckbrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed the hotel and the property. The pool area was really great, just the right amount of "busy" without being too busy. The weather was fantastic. Room service was friendly and prompt. The breakfast buffet was well stocked with a made to order omelette station in addition to many hot items (bacon, sausage, eggs) and cold items (cereal bar, yogurt, fruit, breads etc). The staff at the hotel were all very helpful. Really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The pool view rooms are really great. Nice balcony to enjoy the great weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_M_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We recently stayed at this Hilton Property In Tucson and Had a wonderful time. We normally have a winter weekend in Phoenix but this year we decided to try something new. I was a little nervous since we have always had a great time that the hiltons we have stayed at in Phoenix and trying a new place can be a risk with two little kids. HOWEVER I think this hotel is going to be our new get-a-way place!! The people are wonderful and super nice, which is what makes Hiltons such a great place to stay ( Those other top end brands seam sort of snooty don't they??). Everyone was always tying to help us out in anyway that they could. I'm a Diamond member and so we were upgraded to a Casita which was great as we have two small kids and so we were able to have a separate room from them. My wife loved all the wonderful smells from the blooming trees and the view from the pool is amazing. We also our breakfast every morning and the best deal is the continental breakfast, you get all the fruit, pasties, greek yogurt Ect that you can eat (try the granola its made just for them, and my wife loved the orange muffins, can you guys send me some???)! Wonderful way to start your day.

The pools are super cool, our two daughters loved the shallow kids pool and would have been happy to spend every hour of the day there. The grounds really are beautiful and well kept. If you are getting out and about there are lots of close shops.

Over all was a great stay and we'll be back again for sure!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetaMacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
11.4 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
5.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
4.5 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
3.1 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Property: Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Address: 10000 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-7644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#11 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#20 Business Hotel in Tucson
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#25 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing