We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #13 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

While we only stayed at this hotel for one night, I was underwhelmed with the product and lack of service for a Hilton property. We barely saw anyone out front at valet the entire stay and we never once greeted when coming and going. Even though we were on the top floor there was too much loud partying going on at 1am to be able to enjoy the quietness of this secluded property which we were looking forward to. Handprints on our sliding door and outdated rooms left a little to be desired and the alarm clock went off at 6:45am on Sunday morning, which we certainly did not set. Although not major disasters, we did not leave the resort feeling warm and happy. When mentioning these inconveniences during checkout they were barely acknowledged by the front desk agent. I did not expect compensation but at least some empathy or the effort to pass along to the appropriate department heads. As someone who works in hotels I have high expectations and unfortunately they were not met here.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank luxetraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn E, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for choosing our resort and for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry for the noise issues you encountered. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. I will also share your comments about our guest services agent with the Director of Front Office, and I apologize that the team member did not properly acknowledge the issues you had shared. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality hospitality that you deserve the next time you visit our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,111 - 1,117 of 2,108 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great for a summer vacation as well as other times of the year. We had a Junior Suite at a good rate...plenty of room and a large bathroom. Loved the pool. Ate dinner outside with beautiful mountain views.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Norman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn E, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed Epazote Kitchen & Cocktails, and the beautiful mountain views from the patio. We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Good time at the hotel, don't have to leave for much it's all there. Nice pools, good staff and plenty of food choices. Banquet rooms are good and well laid out, our business personnel were handled properly and quickly taken care.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn E, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and relatively comfortable. The children staying above us sounded like they were having a wonderful time in a gymnasium. Our primary reason for choosing this resort was the location and the pools. Both of those wants truly met our expectations. Our only real dissatisfaction was with the cost of food and beverages. Had those prices been more reasonable we would have eaten all our meals at the resort but instead had most of our meals elsewhere. We are locals who often like to spend our vacation dollars close to home. Next trip will most likely be at another one of our cities many resorts.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn E, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay. I apologize for the noise issue you experienced, and any inconvenience that this caused you. We frequently evaluate our food and beverage pricing, and I believe you will find that our pricing is competitive with other resorts in the area. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back, and it would be my pleasure to make sure that we find a room that would allow you to have a quiet getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Good deal off season when the rooms are discounted. Our room was a little tired (needed to be updated) but overall no major complaints. After just a few days we were bored with the breakfast, lunch, and dinner options available on the property. Breakfast in particular was not a good value; lunch and dinner were a little more in line with what we expected. Overall very nice property in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank juliecB8734VH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn E, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful location. We are expecting a rooms refresh in the near future, and appreciate your comments.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Tucson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I love staying at this property whenever I'm in the Tucson area. It's convenient to everything in the area yet tucked away at the foot at the Catalina Mountains which provides the perfect background and surroundings for a peaceful stay. The amenities are fantastic, clean rooms, spacious fitness center, gorgeous pool and grounds... and if you have a chance for a massage, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Janet572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn E, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

I delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay, and were able to relax with a massage at Elements. We appreciate your business and will look forward to welcoming you back the next time you return to Tucson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Yes, a little dated looking in the room buildings, but clean, spacious, and with reliable wifi. (If you're there for a conference, be aware that wifi in the conference area is not public, different to that in the guest room areas, and you need a different password.) The pool area was good when it wasn't too busy. It was nice to hang at the pool bar, and the staff there were great. This location is not really "near" much - other dining and drinking options tend to be a few miles away - but that's either good or bad depending on your perspective. The casitas are great - like a little village, with their own pool. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offbeatopenhats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn E, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We anticipate a guestroom refresh in the near future, and appreciate your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed the pool area. I hope that we can welcome you back when your travels return you to Tucson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
11.4 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#19 of 129 in Tucson
1,019 reviews
19.2 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 129 in Tucson
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
5.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
4.5 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort

Address: 10000 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-7644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#8 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#20 Business Hotel in Tucson
#20 Family Hotel in Tucson
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £132 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton
El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing