We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place... beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Ranked #14 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2011

travelled with 15 year old son. wanted to stay outside of city and this was perfect. Oro Valley near Catalina Mountains, Saguero Natl park, Biosphere and dining/shopping... don't golf, but that part looked good. Pools heated. good deal on priceline for room, and when we arrived, paid for an upgrade to casita, which was perfect for a 3 night stay. Not luxury, but very upscale and clean. parking tight and ventilation system loud. room service prompt and efficient. didn't eat in restaurants. having the mini kitchen area cut down on costs for breakfast, since not included in price. ran to market for milk and cereal. Nice location to explore Tucson area and southern spots too. Visit Karchner Caverns if you can. would be nice to have DVD player available through hotel. staff all seemed nice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist2ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2011

The Hilton Tucson El Conquistador is a beautiful resort that rests in the shadow of the Santa Catalina Mountains. I am glad you enjoyed some of the many wonderful outdoor activities that Tucson has to offer.

The upgraded casita accommodations offer stunning views of the mountains or desert landscape from your private patio. It is like being in your very own cottage. We are glad you and your son enjoyed your stay in Tucson and the Hilton Tucson El Conquistador.

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton El Conquistador.

Best regards,
Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,730 - 1,736 of 2,016 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2011

Although this hotel is a bit old, it is a great hotel for the price. Be sure to look for special deals, for example unlimited golf or senior citizen rates. If there are no deals, and the price is the same as other luxury hotels, you may want to consider a newer option. However, the El Conquistador fits the bill for the right price. The rooms are large, the beds are comfortable, the rooms are very clean and it appears that each room has a balcony--you may even ask for a free upgrade to a mountain view.
We had breakfast at the hotel. Unfortunately, there is no coffee shop for a quick coffee and muffin, so this can get a bit expensive. If you are playing 18 holes of golf, the course is off-property--about 10-15 minute ride. There is a free shuttle if you don't have a car. The nine hole course is at the hotel.
Golfing is very reasonable if you book online--$48 a round (all included). The El Conquistador course is the better choice. While the course was not in pristine condition, it was again, a great deal for the price. We met people on the unlimited package and they played twice at the 18 hole course, returned to the hotel and played an additional nine.
Be aware that you are outside of Tucson, so if you are planning dinner in town, you have a bit of a ride. However, there are fine restaurants in the area within a 10 minute drive.
All in all, this was a great place to stay--heated pool and lovely lobby bar and good service

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crosscreek7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

With 45 holes of golf the Hilton Tucson El Conquistador is a great vacation for golfers. Tee times can be booked by contacting the resort pro shop directly or by visiting the Hilton El Conquistador Country Club's website.

Also, we hope on your return visit that you stop by the Conquistador Lounge which serves Starbuck’s Coffee and has a very nice assortment of “grab and go” breakfast options.

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Best regards,

Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Older resort, but well maintained. Great staff. Housekeeping was excellent. Location is a little far from the airport, but nothing major. Very clean. Very quiet. Parking was tight. Lobby bar was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irish2171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort. I am glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the Conquistador Lounge which has some gorgeous views of the Pusch Ridge Mountains – whether you are enjoying a Starbucks Coffee or a “Prickly Pear Margarita” it’s one of our guests’ favorite places to simply kick back and relax taking in the beauty of our resorts surroundings.

Kind regards,
Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed every single aspect of our stay. From the great service in the restaurant to the AMAZING prickly pear margaritas. We will most definitely be back as soon as we can be.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thebreadbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2011

I am so glad you enjoyed your getaway here at the Hilton Tucson El Conquistador. Our Prickly Pear Margaritas are a really fun, delicious, and refreshing drink served poolside and in the Conquistador Lounge, and they are amazing!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Tucson and the Hilton El Conquistador.


Best regards,
Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Booked blindly the night before via Hotwire at a great rate, and very pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It is a large, lovely, sprawling resort-style hotel located in the Oro Valley area in north Tucson. Multiple buildings face a common area with pool, small water slide, hot tub and cold pool, and nice common areas; some rooms (including ours) face outwards to beautiful mountain views. Very relaxing, scenic hotel with friendly competent staff and good dining options on site; room large and comfortable. Only downside, if you are doing lots of trips into the city centre, is that it is located fairly far north from downtown as the city is quite a sprawl for its size.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

Even though it is Arizona’s second largest city, Tucson still retains its friendly, typically Arizonan, southwestern charm. With breathtaking natural landscapes, year-round sunshine the Hilton Tucson El Conquistador is the perfect Resort.

For those guests who wish to explore Tucson and all it has to offer we recommend a rental car. If you just want a relaxing vacation enjoying one of our many pools including a 143’ water slide pool, hiking , golfing (with 45 holes of golf), and tennis (31 lighted tennis courts) -- the Hilton El Conquistador golf & Tennis Resort is truly a perfect choice for you.

Thank you for your comments, We am happy you enjoyed your stay & we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

Best,

Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

My boyfriend stayed here for a week for a conference and I joined him at the latter part of his trip.

Our stay was okay - room was fine (big), cleaning was okay (could have been better), beds were comfortable (best part of the room), pool was nice and service was about average. Our room was located in one of the cabins overlooking northern Tuscon.

Extras really got us - expensive internet both in room an in the business centre, a $75 phone bill for a 10 min call to Canada, and generally fees for items that should be included in a resort. At least parking was free.

Overall, it was a beautiful spot and a nice hotel but the extras were too expensive and there was just something missing.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elle_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We hold our service expectations high and will review your comments with the respective departments. If you would like, you can send us the details of your experience to help us touch upon the specifics. Please feel free to contact me at: lori.bunker@hilton.com.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The service was extremely slow. The price was high . The pool was closed. The maids were talking loudly in their native language (which was probably a good thing)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dlicious021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHTucson, Director of Operations at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2011

Thank you for your feedback. Our pool does close after 5pm or if the weather posses a treat to our guest safety. I am sorry if this caused any inconvenience for this was not our intention. We do value our diverse team at our property. We will certainly review our expectations that with around guests, to be sure our focus remains centered on them. Thanks again for taking the time to share your concerns for we will continue to make each guest stay a memorable one.
Michael A. Hammer
Director of Operation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
19.2 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 129 in Tucson
908 reviews
5.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
13.0 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Address: 10000 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-7644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#20 Business Hotel in Tucson
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#25 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £130 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing