We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick the Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #23 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pick the Lodge”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Our stay at the Lodge exceeded our expectations. Excellent service and very clean grounds. The rooms are beautifully updated with fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. Flat screen TVs and wifi in every location. I highly recommend eating at the restaurant. Our meal was delicious, the steak and lobster ravioli was to die for! Next time your in Tucson, I highly suggest staying at the Lodge on the Desert you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    268
    86
    48
    20
See reviews for
253
408
56
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I was so amazed by this lodge. Very elegant and clean. The staff were polite and helpful. I was sad to leave I must say because I enjoyed my self so much.

I am returning very soon after the Gem Show and plan to stay longer. Also, the restaurant was delicous . . . . . it was a great get-away for me!

Elegant, sophiscticated beauty . . . . .

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are nice and quiet. Thise place is elegant and the staff are top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Great layout and architecture though the rooms can be difficult to locate at night. It was lean season on an August evening and there was very poor lighting. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. The pueblo tilework in the bathroom is artistic. Double sinks are a welcome feature. The balcony can be a breezy experience even on summer evenings. Value for money, especially in summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prasanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here on New Years eve. Fantastic stay. We were in the new section. I couldn't believe the rate versus the price. It is a super deal. The rooms are enormous, the bed comfortable, the bathroom super clean. Fireplace was a bonus. Charming property. The pool is aparently heated and available 24 hours - awesome. We should have tried it. They had delicious local artisan coffee in the room. I'd only say they should figure out a way to get the little half n half creams instead of the powder junk. The manager said he could bring it to the room if we had asked though. Really, I have absolutely no complaints and would highly recommend. My only suggestion is that they should upgrade the showerhead, it is out of proportion and cheap. So, odd since they clearly have so many nice details, but they missed it there. Also,you should have the cleaning staff place the showerhead to the right because to turn on the pressure balance valve you basically will get wet with cold water - no way around it because of the shower lay out/glass barrier. Again, don't let that deter you from staying here, I am picky because I design bathrooms for a living. The rate is very generous, the staff is very nice. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: new room was excellent, we were in the back. Can't speak for the older section, didn't chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Lodge on the Desert was impressive. My husband and I (in our 20's) took my parents (in their 50's) to Tucson for a long weekend. We booked a room on accident that was suited for a family with small children (only one bathroom and an open layout that included no-door on one bedroom).

When we asked if anything else was available, they were happy to investigate. The concierge got the GM involved and he showed us a couple of options that I'm sure they had to turn around on a dime from previous customers' stays since were were in town during a big girl's soccer tourney and most rooms were booked.

The GM gave us an extra room for free for one night while we waited for another, more spacious room to open up. They were always friendly, willing to bend over backwards, really economical and so patient.

Thumbs up and I highly recommend!

Room Tip: The hotel has an historic side and a newer side. The historic side has some character, but the new s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed one night and enjoyed our beautiful spacious room with fireplace. The weather had turned cooler and rainy and we enjoyed the ambiance and heat. Our room had a large walk in shower that was nice. We ate at the restaurant and had the salmon and NY strip. It was very good. We loved the grounds and the location and would go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Came here on a spontaneous mini-vacation to Tucson, couldnt turn down the special rate of $99 for 2 queens with fireplace, and included full breakfast at their restaurant. Had a minor issue at check-in when they had no idea about the included full-breakfast, but was remedied later that evening when I went back to the front desk, and they had a voucher for 2 adult breakfasts (we had 2 kids as well, but kids meals are only $5, so I thought it was a good deal anyways). The room was lovely, clean, and large. The TV was only 32" after reading online that the rooms had 42" TVs, but not a big deal. There was a patio, but only about 4 feet wide and 1 foot long. The gas fireplace was very nice and we enjoyed it. We went swimming their small, intimate pool which was heated, so we could go in despite the 60 degree outside temps. The spa was nice too, with the perfect temperature. We were anticipated a special breakfast due to the highly acclaimed chef (Ryan Clark) being there. The restaurant is very nice decor and ambiance. although small. The service there was the issue. It was slow and not very attentive. Any request took much longer than necessary and the attitude of our server was not the most pleasant. The food overall was good, not fancy presentation as I expected. My wife ordered the sweet potato pancake, but could not taste any sweet potatoes, only seeing occasional specks of orange. The food was tasty overall, but leery of going back due to the service. I would definitely return to the hotel if I saw this deal on my next trip to Tucson.

Room Tip: request a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hearic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
688 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
4.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Property: Lodge on the Desert
Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson
Lodge On The Desert Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing