We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #22 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Radwell
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great hotel with character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

I booked two nights at the Lodge based on the TripAdvisor reviews. I was in Tucson for business and the hotel was a perfect venue for an informal business meeting and lunch.

I found the staff professional and friendly and my room (suite) was clean, comfortable and well appointed. I stayed in one of the newer wings of the hotel.

A nicely laid out hotel bar. I ate lunch and dinner in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed both meals. The menu features a mix of local dishes which are expertly prepared.

If you are looking for a good place to stay which is not the typical “run of the mill” chain hotel – consider the Lodge. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to Tucson.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NearRadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    259
    83
    47
    19
See reviews for
239
391
55
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lyndeborough
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Lodge and loved our Traditional King Fireplace Suite. The two rooms plus bath were larger than anticipated and not only comfortable but made us feel we were in a special old Tucson casita. The kiva fireplace was especially wonderful as the low temps there were record-breaking for our entire stay! We loved walking through the landscaped walkways from our casita (with outdoor seating) to the library, pool, restaurant and bar area. The bar patio with outdoor fireplace was a wonderful place to sit and enjoy drinks after a long drive to Tucson. Lodge staff was helpful and friendly.
The restaurant service and food were superb! We'd go to the Lodge again without hesitation. The location was fine for getting easily to all the places we planned to visit.( Note: if you like ambiance, opt for a traditional room. We had seen several newer (?) rooms on the front by the parking lot and were not impressed. There is a great difference in the rooms.

Room Tip: Decide if you want old style ambiance or need a more contemporary room. Know if a view of the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

. The property is a nice change from chain hotels. We had a 2 room suite with fireplace, and it was quite large. The king bed was comfortable and the bathroom/dressing area was huge. The towels seemed a little heavy and old, otherwise a nice stay. We had a nice view of the Catalina Mtns and the off street parking was free.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblinManGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stopped in for some wine and nosh and ended up staying for dinner! The lounge was comfy and quiet and we had a nice, relaxing time...and we had a fantastic dinner! From the calamari, so good, to the roast chicken, awesome scallops and a chocolate lava desert to die for. Our server Mike H. was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Lovely pool and jacuzzi - very pleasant complex with bar and restaurant on site. But whole experience let down by the down at heel room which was hard to heat, also does not seem to be insulated as we could hear our neighbours. If a little bit of TLC was spent (and money) updating the rooms, it would be 5 stars. We arrived at 2pm to find our room was not ready, not a problem we went for a walk. But I would have expected our luggage to have been taken to our rooms when we returned - the little touches matter.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Thank you for providing us with your thoughts on our hotel. We certainly attempt to provide our guests with available rooms upon their arrival but, based on the levels of business, at times we are not able to meet all each persons needs but do hold to our commitment of check-in time as stated. The weather was unseasonably cold for the desert during your visit and it did indeed may have taken slightly longer for the room to warm up but all of our systems were in perfect order during your visit. At times it is hard to manage our guests when they are in their rooms but we always attempt to maintain a quiet, peaceful environment for all of our guests and respond to each guests request of noise or any disruption if needed. The majority of our hotel is only 4 years old and the balance is labeled historic for its character and design. Again, thank you for your thoughts and please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit to the Lodge on the Desert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

After a terrible first night in Tucson at a chain motel (I don't want to say the name, but it rhymes with "Best Western Plus Royal Sun"), we looked for a better place for our second and final night. The Lodge on the Desert was all we hoped for and more!

It seemed recently renovated, and all was fresh and clean. The staff were wonderful, and the room immaculate.

The property seemed an oasis. It was quiet, and the room spacious. It even featured a small balcony with two chairs and a table for a quiet glass of wine.

We loved the place. It is such a pleasure to write a review extolling the wonderful qualities of a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

we had an excellent welcoming in the new year here - sort of a stay-cation since we are from Tucson...we wanted to have a nice late new years eve dinner at the restaurant which we had heard great things about and decided to look at their room rates and they were so reasonable we booked it! The room was lovely - we upgraded to the jacuzzi tub king room and loved the giant bathtub and fireplace too! cannot say enough about how great the restaurant and service was - really exceptional especially for Tucson! all in all a great experience and we return!

Room Tip: we were in room 263 and even tho it was near the street and parking lot it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LU-Withee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
7.3 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
8.7 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Property: Lodge on the Desert
Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson
Lodge On The Desert Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing