We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The negative reviews of here are vindictive, nothing less!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #23 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“The negative reviews of here are vindictive, nothing less!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Ok, probably, no, definitely the best hotel we stayed in throughout the states. After driving down through CA, this place is what we had been looking for for a week.

What can I say? Well, staring with the arrival. Drop off just whetted the appetite. Reception and the check in was simply exquisite. The furniture and fittings were absolutely amazing.

Then, onto the rooms. The negative reviews on here are malicious. There is no way this place has had corners cut. The rooms are amazing, with fantastic furniture, mirrors, artwork. I am eternally jealous! Bed was brilliant, with pillows I can only dream of. Jacuzzi was great, toiletries fab, and currently just looking around in awe!

The fireplace looks so good when on. And the ceiling fan is such a good addition.

So, I need to comment on the 24hr pool and hot (hot!) tub. Brilliant! And the restaurant is also great; good for beers and ales.

I don't fully know the history of this place, but it seems like its been expanded to the point of luxury.

I should say that this place is the best hotel I have ever stayed in ever. True!

Totally recommended!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ElCartoharvetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    266
    86
    48
    20
See reviews for
248
403
55
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I rate this property very highly. It's adobe buildings greet you with an exclusive boutique look. The location is easily accessible, yet quiet. The rooms are beautifully appointed with lots of homely extras. It's unique and very spacious. There are safes, writing desks, large TVs, luxurious bedding (very firm beds) and large bathrooms with showers built for two. The walls were a bit thin and we had to climb upstairs with all our luggage but we had a great outlook once we were up there & every room is close to the gorgeous pool & hot tub area which is centrally located. Staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again & again based purely on their rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrottershell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at The Lodge very much. It has a nice location (we wanted to be close to the U of A, but not on site). The reviews are right in that the best views of the mountains are from the parking lot. But our room was huge, the bathroom was huge as well. Very comfortable!
A nice safe in the closet, fireplace and all.
We loved it! The grounds are small but lovely.
We will be back until our daughter graduates!

Room Tip: If you are able to climb the stairs with your luggage, ask for a 2nd floor room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenjen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Lodge on the Desert is a very nice downtown hotel. When it was built some 80 years ago, it would have been on the fringes of town, and a bit isolated.

It is not, as some reviewers claim, surrounded by strip malls, but residential neighborhoods, banks, and a couple of drugstores. And although you can see the mountains from rooms 131, 221, and elsewhere, it does not bill itself as a hotel that is actually located in the desert. It is a downtown hotel from which you can see mountains.

The room was very spacious, clean, quiet, and nicely appointed. Bed was comfortable as well. The bathroom had a large double sink and a shower large enough for a couple, which makes this a good spot for a romantic stay. The bathroom was tiled in plain white and terracotta - nothing fancy, but not unattractive.

The gas fireplace in the corner was a nice touch on a cool night.

My room near the pool was quiet, despite the fact that there were people there. The noise was, for the most part, canceled out by the sliding glass door, which is fairly thick. If you stay on the second floor, keep in mind that there is no elevator. There are only stairs. Because this is a historic property, built more than 80 years ago, installing an elevator is probably out of the ken of the management. Just keep that in mind when you book. The front desk did offer assistance with our luggage when asked.

I ate at the restaurant three times. The food was very good, if a bit overpriced at times. The management honored the special government/AAA rate.

One caution: I had trouble with the reservation desk. When I called to book the room, it took them a couple of days to send a confirmation; the first two confirmations were incorrect. When I called to ensure that the mistakes had been fixed, it took the clerk another 24-36 hours to confirm my dates.

Nevertheless, I would stay here again. It is a good alternative to the more-expensive resort hotels (Hacienda del Sol, Westin La Paloma) on the Catalina Foothills.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misskitka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I booked a room here on a discount site which listed it for 3.5 stars. When I discovered the hotel had "only" three stars, I was worried-- but I shouldn't have been. The room was huge and well-appointed (though a few more paintings couldn't hurt), the bathroom was simply enormous, the bed extremely comfortable, there were even bathrobes (!), the service very friendly and the pool/hot tub was open 24 hours. The location, of course, is great as well. The only complaint were the fancy soaps/shampoos were "natura" brand, and while the packaging was nice, the products were made in china-- and felt like it. Upgrade the bath products and this is a solid 4 star place. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soupoftheday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We want to change chain owned hotels and we found the lodge. It was very nice, my little one enjoy the pool, and I the hot tube. Rooms are spacious and bed confortable. There is a McDonalds right down the street for cofee in the mornings.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RhinoC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed one night at this hotel, but we enjoyed it and would definitely consider returning. Our room was spacious, clean, well appointed and quiet. The hotel decor and grounds are appealing, especially the area around the pool and restaurant. We ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant, the food and service were both excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#3 of 130 in Tucson
681 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
6.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
4.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Property: Lodge on the Desert
Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson
Lodge On The Desert Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing