We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lodge on the Desert
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arizona Inn(Tucson)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,059)
Filter reviews
1,059 results
Traveller rating
607
288
93
49
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
288
93
49
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas fireplaceboutique hotelnewer roomsroom was largecactus gardensouthwestern stylesmall patiobeautiful groundswalk in showeron site restaurantpool and hot tubhappy hourmini fridgebed was very comfortabledowntown tucsoncatalina mountainsdesert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
554 - 559 of 1,059 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Everything about this hotel impresses, from the friendly reception and attractive pool area to the spacious, high-ceilinged rooms with decent balconies; but the stand-out is the overall styling of the tastefully expanded hotel complex, with a distinctive Southwestern style throughout. We enjoyed excellent margaritas during Happy Hour at the bar (just $5 a piece), and a high quality (but not cheap) dinner in the restaurant, pretty atmosphere even when largely empty early in the week. If on a tighter budget, we strongly recommend the Old Pueblo Grille just 5 minutes down the street (amazingly low prices / large portions if you eat in the bar area). There are more restaurants at the very spread-out El Con Mall (with cinemas) a further 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

If you approach the hotel at night, you'll spot the property right away among the rather nondescript surroundings, as its exterior walls are lined with white lights. Inside, the Southwestern motif is always present; tastefully done, not tacky. It is beautiful and relaxing.

I found Tucson to have a more low-key pace than, say, Scottsdale or Phoenix, and that vibe is carried through here. Granted, I was also here on a Sunday in January -- before the heat really kicked in -- so I had the pool to myself. If you're looking for an opportunity to wind down rather than rev up, chances are you'll find that experience here.

My room was huge -- much more than I needed -- and the bed was comfortable, Location-wise, it's a bit removed from the Univ. of Arizona campus and downtown, but restaurants of all sorts are relatively close by.

I'd stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank George_PConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel has been beautifully renovated and expanded since my last visit. We were given a spacious room on the 2nd floor, facing north with a spectacular view of the mountains. Everything was ideal. The room even has a gas fireplace. Though the added wings are new, the design and construction harmonizes with the historic parts of the hotel, with very satisfying and soothing results. The room was perfectly quiet; little grassy courtyards are interspersed among the buildings; there's a lovely pool and hot tub. The bar was friendly; we didn't have a chance to try the restaurant. The hotel offers shuttle service to other areas of Tucson and to the airport. A fitness center is planned.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have beautiful mountain views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We would highly recommend the Lodge to anyone that needs to relax. The pool and hot tub are open all the time which makes a late night swim possible. The rooms were large and very comfortable especially with the fireplace. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkDebVancouver_Bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were looking for someplace to take a 2-day break while in the Tucson area. We used the travelzoo voucher for an excellent deal. We found the service here to be top-notch. This hotel would be perfect for an event of any type. The bed was sooo comfy; loved the fireplace in our room and even Starbucks coffee in-room!!! The tiled, walk-in shower was so nice! The restaurant was delicious, too. We ate there for breakfast and 2 evenings for dinner. Interesting food with yummy flavors. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. This hotel has a peaceful ambience. We really enjoyed our stay. I certainly recommend this hotel and were consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews