We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel with lovely grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #19 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I stayed one night in this "boutique" hotel in Toucson. Its grounds are landscaped with flowers and cactuses and wind about to open new flora surprises. Our room was a traditional king, which may well have been in the bunkhouse of the original lodge. Although it had a slight musty smell on our entrance, it was large with a very comfortable bed, gas fireplace, and bathroom tiled with some older azuelos. Windows had hand painted flowers decorating them. The room was just around the corner from an excellent heated outdoor pool and hot tub. We had drinks at the bar, sitting on a patio in front of an outdoor gas fire pit and chimney. Breakfast at the restaurant was good, despite some initial ignoring by a discomposed waiter, whose lack of attention was replaced by warm hospitality from the rest of the wait crew. The Lodge is located about a quarter mile from a greenway that circles a park and golf course and runs by a historic neighborhood. We made our reservations through the Lodge's website, but assume better deals may be available elsewhere on line.

Room Tip: Lodge was full for our visit. Possibly the non-"traditional" rooms are more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USMC_walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in a Deluxe Double Queen room (2 adults, 2 young children) located on the second floor. The room was quite spacious, gas fireplace, and small balcony with 2 chairs. There was a rattling noise in the bathroom that was bothersome at night if the door was not shut. The bathroom only had a stall shower (although it was quite large), no tub, which may be a problem for some. Also, the toilet flush is LOUD! The bedding was rather worn, though the mattress itself was comfortable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank azgal_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We spent 5 nights here and really enjoyed it. Our room was on the ground floor, but it was nicely done in that you could sit on the patio and see views of the mountains but not the parking lot, even though it is right in the city. The landscaping around the property is lovely, and the pool and hot tub are very nice. We ate at the restaurant once for dinner and once for breakfast -good food both times.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Traveled to Tucson with my husband for a long weekend, we lived in Tucson about 10 years ago so we wanted to stay someplace that felt "homey" and not like a hotel. We really enjoyed our stay, the bed was quite comfortable, the fireplace was a wonderful touch, and the room was spacious. We were in a corner room with no second floor above us, and even though the street was close, the noise was not bothersome. We arrived after 10 pm due to a late flight and bad weather in the East, but the front desk staff was accommodating and the security guard escorted us to our room (which we appreciated since it was dark and we were tired and probably would not have done well trying to follow the map). The parking was plentiful except for one night when there was a fundraising party for a local school and the partygoers took every available parking space in the front of the hotel. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WVdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed one night in a second floor deluxe king and were very happy with our room. It was very large with a huge bathroom with a separate tub and shower. There was also a gas fireplace and a small balcony. The bed was very comfortable. We were facing a busy road, but with the doors closed we didn't hear it. The only thing I heard was an early morning shower running in another room. There are no elevators. We had a $50 dining credit and ate at the bar during Happy Hour. The bar was very busy inside and out, but service was good, as were the food and drinks. The grounds were attractive and the heated pool and hot tub looked inviting, but we were too tired to take advantage of them. We would've liked to stay longer. Front desk staff was friendly and efficient, and when we checked out they recommended a good place to ride our bikes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crmcwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great place off the beaten path yet near the university. Clean, friendly and offered a great deal through travel zoo including $50 per day dining credit! Room was very spacious, staff was attentive and plenty of free parking.

Room Tip: I upgraded to spa room thinking there was a hot tub in the room, it's just a spa tub in the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were pleasantly surprised how nice this hotel is, it has a resort feel to it. Our room was located in the back by the cactus garden. It was so quite and relaxing; we enjoyed our time and didn’t want to leave.

The staff at the front desk was friendly; offered excellent customer service. They went out of their way to provide us with information and directions regarding an attraction near by.

Room Tip: The rooms by the cactus garden are like villa's. We stayed in room 147
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hartes62012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
736 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
3.3 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#23 of 129 in Tucson
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
7.8 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
6.2 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#11 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £103 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson
Lodge On The Desert Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing