We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the lodge, hated the parking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #17 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2008

My mother and I just spent 4 days in Tucson, staying at the Lodge. I had read about it on-line. Aside from it sounding attractive, it was located just 1.5 miles from my son, who we were visiting.

The beginning was inauspicious. We could scarcely find the Registration desk (if you're newly coming in, turn at the large rust colored pillars, and head right to park). Problem is the construction, which as previous reviewer noted, was pervasive.
'Tis true. And parking can be a terrible problem if there are other occupants, or a meeting in session. I think once all is done there, it will probably be very elegant, but right now it's a pain to get into.

However, once into the compound, I was very satisfied with the service and the accommodations. We shared a King bed and had a sitting area besides; 2 TVS, sufficient coffee for daily brews, and quite adequate bathroom--not luxurious--but fine. I found the computer in the lobby very useful every morning. We ate one breakfast in the restaurant and one dinner. They were both good meals, the chilean sea bass particularly excellent. My grandchildren used the pool, along with me, and it was perfectlly fine.

One morning we were warned the electricity would be off for two hours (for construction); however, we were gone before this happened, and the recompense was a free Continental breakfast. Any way, if you choose to go here, I would suggest you try to negotiate a price to make up for the inconvenciences you will endure with the ongoing construction.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kayakbabe44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2008

I really wanted to like The Lodge on the Desert, I'd read all the reviews and talked to the hotel before we left. We thought the construction was minimal and could be overlooked. We were wrong! It was everywhere and dominated the experience. Even the restaurant, patio and lounge faced a construction fence. It truly doesn't look like the pictures anymore.
The restaurant had one diner on a Friday night and the menu is expensive. Perhaps the food is good but the place felt deserted. We found that we just stayed away except to sleep. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable and the staff was very friendly and I think they are trying hard. It's a shame because for the rates it really should be better than this. For us the most disappointed part of this experience was that there was no place outside our room to relax - what we most needed and were looking forward to.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vanvalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

The Lodge in the Desert is a delight. We have stayed in the hotel at various seasons during our three stays this year and every time we have been in a different room. Contrary to one of the recent reviews I have read, the rooms are immaculate and we have never seen any bugs in the rooms. Our first visit in April was in a room with a working beehive fireplace which was delightful at that time of year. Our favorite room was Room 60 and it was beautiful. It was equipped with a refrigerator, wet bar area, separate living area and the best shower! Each room was uniquely hand stenciled and contained gorgeous mexican tile work.
Best of all is the Lodge's support staff. Cassandra the reservation person is very helpful and Limpo at the desk is cheerful, respectful and will do anything to make your stay more comfortable. Our last two visits, a week a part in the latter part of August have been as comfortable as the first. The restaurant serves wonderful food - the best breakfasts in Tucson and is reasonably priced for the fresh, consistently delicious fare offered there.
If you want a unique hotel experience - different from the typical hotel chains with ten wall to wall carpeted rooms down the hall, this is the place. The lush gardens at your doorstep will welcome you. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JKFRadnor_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

Room overall was looking good except for bathroom that looks really old vintage, but that is a very small detail for the good price they offer! We didn't go to the pool as it was looking very terrible: pool is really really not as good as it looks like on hotel website! Finally, the main problem at the lodge is that there are bugs in rooms!! We have request to change room: in new room there was still many bugs ( small black bugs that are jumping). Looks like they are coming from ventilation. Anyway, even if good price and cute room I would NEVER EVER go again to this hotel!! BUGS ARE NOT INVITED IN ANY OF MY ROOMS!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadzzz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2008

This is a little similar to the Arizona Inn except for a couple of things. One, it is much cheaper. Two, the decor in the rooms is different. Three, the breakfast menu is pretty limited, although I love their bacon. Four, the shower is better. And last but not least, it is positioned on a major street. (The Arizona Inn is on a small street). It's basically the Arizona Inn's equvalent of Diet Coke. If saving money is your gig, this is a great place to stay. If you want more luxuries at a higher price, then stay at the Arizona Inn. It's nicer. Still, this spot is a very good hotel. 4 out of 5 for me.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jamey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2008

I got such a great deal on this hotel; I didn't pay attention to the reviews about the construction, but it was a little disturbing when we arrived. Not to worry, though. The room (#20) was beautiful and the courtyard outside the room was quiet and very pretty. Tile and beams in the room were gorgeous. Closet was impressively large, as was the room. The construction didn't bother us in the evening or at night. Early in the morning, we could heard the birds outside. Overall a good stay and a good location for us.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaBoiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2008

It's true, it is under construction and, while the construction isn't actually going on over the weekends, you can't get away from it. The construction site runs runs right up to the pool, right up to the restaurant, right out to the street (eliminating any pavement in the parking lot). Essentially, if you're not in your room, you are looking at the construction. That said, the room was WONDERFUL! Big, fresh, clean, comfortable. . . if only we had come to enjoy a weekend inside!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cooperdooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#5 of 129 in Tucson
742 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
3.3 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#24 of 129 in Tucson
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
7.8 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
5.7 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#11 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £98 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson
Lodge On The Desert Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing