We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place to stay within walking distance of restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #20 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Nice place to stay. It was convenient to be able to walk to restaurants (including in n out burger). The staff was very friendly.

It's a great place for a work conference with meeting rooms, catering, and places to gather outdoors for breaks and small group sessions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dektolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

When it's good it's very, very good. But when it's bad....well, you know. My wife and other family members stayed here in several rooms while attending a wedding in Tucson, a sprawling town in which there is no good location. Our experiences at the hotel differed greatly. My wife and I were quartered first in a rather remote room up a stairway and onto the second floor. The room itself might have been satisfactory but its location was not. Exhibit A: Access to the room was inconvenient and you needed GPS to get there from parking. Exhibit B: More importantly, this establishment was conducting (much needed) remodeling in the rooms below us. That activity began at an ungodly early hour and featured what sounded like a jackhammer but may have been only a sizable squad of hammer-wielding carpenters. In any event, the decibels were far above tolerable limits. So, we asked to be removed to a quieter location, on the ground floor and nearer the parkplatz. The staff granted that wish with only a few grumbles and our second room was most agreeable even though its window displayed nothing more than the previously mentioned parkplatz. The moral to this story is that you should investigate your proposed quarters before you move in at this hotel. At its best, this hotel is just fine. You don't want the other.

Room Tip: Check out your proposed room before moving in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I was in Arizona for training and decided to meet my wife in Tucson. This location was perfect for escaping. The surrounding walls did a great job blocking out city noise and hospitality was better than some 3 diamonds I've stayed at recently. The King Spa room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. On the premises the restaurant served outstanding duck that was cooked to our liking (The maple glaze was amazing). Be sure to ask for Jerry as a server, he was really helpful in reccommending activities occurring in the area for Independence Day weekend. I would definitely stay here in the future.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A small family reunion for 6 days at the lodge.....what a fabulous resort! Not sure where to begin- the food, the property, the service or the location ? All were amazing for our diverse family needs. It felt like we had this oasis to ourselves, but it was 80% occupied! Quiet, beautiful , and relaxing. The food was amazing.. While we had many daily excursions, we always chose the Lodge restaurant for lunch and dinner. The main courtyard lawn was the PErfect venue for a family croquet match. They brought the bar to us- pitchers of margaritas to help fuel the fun family competition.
The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The staff- super attentive. If you want to work out , they have a complimentary pass to a great gym near by. Lastly, the location was perfect for easy commutes to college campus, arts and entertainment, mountain climbing, golf and tennis.

Room Tip: There is a diverse set if room accommodations . Ask in advance for room types that will fit your tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Passing through 10 east getting caught in a rain storm. Stopped at the lodge and a spectacular thing happened. The most amazing and beautiful little oasis. Had dinner at the quaint little restaurant. First. Jerry our waiter was friendly. Helpful and very knowledgeable. We started with the cheese plate and amazing glass of Malbec. From there we had chef Marcus's creations. To a Texan anything with espresso and filet in the same sentences is a total win. The dish was outstanding. My husband had the fresh yellow fin and it was beautiful dish. Presentation was incredible The delight was the final white chocolate truffle Holy cow was that amazing. Please give chef Marcus a try. What an amazing off road delight we encountered. If ever back through Tucson. This is a must stop for us!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Pulled up to The Lodge and didn't expect much as was very low key. To our surprise, it was an amazing hotel! Everywhere we went on the grounds was beautifully maintained; many areas with pots and plants arranged like a still-life picture. The room was lovely. Spacious, clean, and tastefully decorated with a fireplace and small balcony. The restaurant had an incredibly talented guitar player the evening we arrived. So relaxing! The food was great - the waitress amazingly accommodating of our traveling food needs. But.....there's more. When we arrived in Phoenix, I didn't have the jewelry I'd put in the safe. We thought it was gone. Would you believe that the hotel had it for me? Nothing, not even the valuable jewelry was missing. Thank you so much, Lodge on the Desert. We will recommend you every chance we get!

Room Tip: If you sleep in the afternoon, don't book a room over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very nice property. Ate breakfast and dinner (happy hour) at lodge. Would stay again.
Use this lodge as a base to visit the area south of Tucson.
Room was large and very clean. Service was very good.
February was good time of year to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lobodog1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
726 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
3.3 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#23 of 129 in Tucson
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
7.8 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
5.7 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#10 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#11 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £100 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson
Lodge On The Desert Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing