We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't see it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #20 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We planned on staying four nights somewhere and some of the reviews were raving. The room we had was worn down and not up to par. In fact, when I was folding down the top sheet over the bed, the comforter was piled up and old (see photo). Our "patio" barely fit two chairs with no room for sitting and faced a parking lot. It was in a scary part of town as well. We ended up checking out after one night and heading toward a chain hotel.

I like to support independent hotels, but can't spend money on low-quality.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room, I guess some are better than others. We didn't see the good ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Never-Lost4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

By far the "best bang for the buck" my wife and I have ever experienced. We were very impressed with the hotel, regardless of what we spent. But considering what we spent, we were truly taken aback. The staff is not just friendly and courteous... I think the best way to describe it is that they were "proud" of where they worked. I felt that they behaved less like staff and employees and more like members of a family owned business. I wanted to particularly single out the restaurant. When we went to the restaurant for breakfast we expected a buffet, which is standard at most hotels (even the "nice ones"). We were surprised that is was an actual restaurant that did not just include the standard "bacon and eggs" fare. Our meals were genuinely top notch (I recommend the tamales), and the desert rose iced tea was to die for. I also had a bloody Mary that was quite well done and my wife had a very delicious mimosa (ok not hard to make a mimosa, but you could tell they didn't use the "cheap stuff"). And again, the prices were quite reasonable. Also, our daughter requires a restrictive diet that precludes many foods that they were happy to accommodate. My wife is also gluten sensitive (and quite a carnivore) and I'm a vegetarian - all those options were on the menu. The room was great as well. It is not in a tower or a long motel type building, rather it was more like an apartment complex so that it did not feel crowded. We chose the least expensive option but found that it had a very large bathroom that was filled with relaxing natural light. The bathroom also had a nice triangular shaped spa in the corner which was also lit with natural light. The room was very nice and clean and had a cool southwestern theme. The balcony was relaxing and had a pretty view of the mountains. The room also had free wifi which was also nice. Overall, even though Tucson was just supposed to be a stopover on our way to San Diego, our stay at Lodge on the Desert became one of the highlights of our trip. We were actually disappointed to leave. We will definitely return when we are in Tucson again. We have already told many of our friends. Hidden Treasure.

Room Tip: We chose the least expensive option and were very pleased that it looked like an upgraded room in mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Rabih H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

As we were on a road trip, we planned to stay one night in this hotel. After two hours we decided to spent one more night and eventually we stayed four nights. It is well located: 2 miles from downtown Tucson and nevertheless it feels like you are in a ressort.
The overall experience is wonderful. The room was clean, big and beautiful. The swimming pool was cool and terrefic. The personal is very friendly and in good spirits! They have a wonderful restaurant with chef Marcus van der Winden's beautiful and very tasty creations!
and finally the price as relatively low: we stayed there for 99 dollars a night for an de luxe kingroom!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kees V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Nice place to stay. It was convenient to be able to walk to restaurants (including in n out burger). The staff was very friendly.

It's a great place for a work conference with meeting rooms, catering, and places to gather outdoors for breaks and small group sessions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dektolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

When it's good it's very, very good. But when it's bad....well, you know. My wife and other family members stayed here in several rooms while attending a wedding in Tucson, a sprawling town in which there is no good location. Our experiences at the hotel differed greatly. My wife and I were quartered first in a rather remote room up a stairway and onto the second floor. The room itself might have been satisfactory but its location was not. Exhibit A: Access to the room was inconvenient and you needed GPS to get there from parking. Exhibit B: More importantly, this establishment was conducting (much needed) remodeling in the rooms below us. That activity began at an ungodly early hour and featured what sounded like a jackhammer but may have been only a sizable squad of hammer-wielding carpenters. In any event, the decibels were far above tolerable limits. So, we asked to be removed to a quieter location, on the ground floor and nearer the parkplatz. The staff granted that wish with only a few grumbles and our second room was most agreeable even though its window displayed nothing more than the previously mentioned parkplatz. The moral to this story is that you should investigate your proposed quarters before you move in at this hotel. At its best, this hotel is just fine. You don't want the other.

Room Tip: Check out your proposed room before moving in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I was in Arizona for training and decided to meet my wife in Tucson. This location was perfect for escaping. The surrounding walls did a great job blocking out city noise and hospitality was better than some 3 diamonds I've stayed at recently. The King Spa room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. On the premises the restaurant served outstanding duck that was cooked to our liking (The maple glaze was amazing). Be sure to ask for Jerry as a server, he was really helpful in reccommending activities occurring in the area for Independence Day weekend. I would definitely stay here in the future.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A small family reunion for 6 days at the lodge.....what a fabulous resort! Not sure where to begin- the food, the property, the service or the location ? All were amazing for our diverse family needs. It felt like we had this oasis to ourselves, but it was 80% occupied! Quiet, beautiful , and relaxing. The food was amazing.. While we had many daily excursions, we always chose the Lodge restaurant for lunch and dinner. The main courtyard lawn was the PErfect venue for a family croquet match. They brought the bar to us- pitchers of margaritas to help fuel the fun family competition.
The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The staff- super attentive. If you want to work out , they have a complimentary pass to a great gym near by. Lastly, the location was perfect for easy commutes to college campus, arts and entertainment, mountain climbing, golf and tennis.

Room Tip: There is a diverse set if room accommodations . Ask in advance for room types that will fit your tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
707 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
5.7 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
7.6 mi away
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
#12 of 129 in Tucson
779 reviews
7.8 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £107 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson
Lodge On The Desert Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing