We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good deal for about $100”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viscount Suite Hotel
Ranked #74 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good deal for about $100”
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Was here with my father in law and 12 year old son for spring training games at Hi Corbett and Tucson Electric Park. We usually stay in smaller places for the same price, so despite the "dated" feel of the Viscount it was sort of fun to be in such a giant hotel, even if only seemed to be half full. The rooms were fine, my son slept on a pullout couch and had his own TV, and the location was great. Yes, it's a product of the 80's, but for misers like me it seemed like a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topekabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    64
    51
    25
    22
See reviews for
74
41
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

This hotel is great for what it is. Yes, it is outdated, no HDTV, no newspaper at your door in the morning, but the rooms are large and clean and very quiet. Most importantly, the beds and bedding are very comfortable. We were here for a boy’s weekend at the Colorado Rockies Spring training at Hi Corbett Field which is very close. The price was right; we paid $115 a night. I would skip the breakfast buffet. It is only $7.00, but not very good. The hotel is located on a street that is home to many restaurants. Unlike some of the reviews, we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Maybe they have read TA and shaped up!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solidfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2009

I went to spring training this March and randomly found the Viscount online. After looking at reviews online, I thought it was going to be the biggest dump ever. Yes, the decor is straight out of the Golden Girls (wallpaper, pastel coloring, etc) but the rooms are nice and spacious.

Coming in to the hotel, the first thing you notice is the "Atrium Style" set up. The bottom is a dining area in the center. There is a pool, jacuzzi, small fitness room, and business center on the bottom floor. FYI, if you need to use a computer, it is right near the front desk. I missed it a few times!

Two last items I wanted to mention was about the windows and internet.If you have a small child and are at this hotel, PLEASE PLEASE watch them at all times, or think about going elsewhere. II was on a higher level floor and my window did NOT have a screen. You could basically open the entire window panel off to the side and jump out. I am not sure if this was like this at every room, but it is something to think about!!!

The last thing I wanted to mention is that the televisions offer video games, internet access and music....for a fee! Things are not free at the Viscount! Internet access was $9.95 until noon, video games were $6.95 (not sure for how long) and music was $9.95 to listen to two hours of music. Beware if you have a tech saavy child who could sign you up for a bunch of stuff like free video games! They just charge it to your room. The video games were not the newest thing at all! (Nintendo 64)

Here is my bottom line: Interesting ambience, fairly clean hotel, but watch out for the windows with no screens and the extra charges on the television!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamonds12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2009

The room was nice. There were 5 big fluffy pillows on each bed; very comfy; the check in person was not very informative. It is a large motel and we figured out on our own how to get to our room, there was no smile, nice to have you, nothing; same with check out; My worst complaint is the "free" breakfast we read about on the web site is actually $7.00 each person, each day. we tried it the first morning; the biscuits were hard and the eggs were cold; we ate elsewhere the rest of our 3 day stay; The pool and jacuzzi were nice; the area was nice and shaded, and secluded. We had to call for maid service the first day, after that no problem.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momuv3arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2008

Well, for those of you that thought the 80's were a couple of decades back, think again! Just spend a night at the Viscount Suites Hotel! This place is straight out of an 80's design magazine....the architecture, look, feel, and furnishings!

If you are a fan of that decade, then you'll love this place. If you are used to updated, more modern digs, then look elsewhere.

Aside from the retro motif, here's a few things I liked:

-It's clean
-The rooms are quite large, indeed all suites. Sort of Embassy Suites-style.
-The free breakfast is all-out. It's real food for sure.

For those of you that work out, the gym is ALSO from the 80's. The equipment is def. dated.

If you have a good sense of humor and aren't too picky, give this place a shot.

  • Liked — large clean rooms
  • Disliked — so outdated!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEOFFS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tucson hotels

St. Louis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2008

This place is a complete and total DUMP! No locks on windows. No security latches on entry doors. Coffee maker was in the trash, so apparently it didn't work. Towels were like sandpaper...no loofah needed.

Front desk staff indifferent to problems brought to their attention. Do yourself a favor and stay in a tent.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank justthefact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

This place has made a drastic improvement. Overall, it is an average hotel. It is fairly old but there has been some recent updating. The bar area now offers food service and it is not bad. The main restaurant is still closed. However, there is a TGI Fridays next door. The room was clean and well maintained. The free breakfast is a basic buffet and is clean and good. They even have a chef preparing omelets to order. However, he is fairly slow. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — age and lack of restaurant
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank triwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Tucson - Williams Center
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson - Reid Park
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tucson East / Williams Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
2.3 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#35 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tucson Williams Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viscount Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscount Suite Hotel

Property: Viscount Suite Hotel
Address: 4855 E Broadway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85711-3637
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscount Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Viscount Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscount Suite Tucson
Hotel Viscount Suite
Viscount Suite Hotel Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing