We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place...”
Review of Hilton Tucson East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Tucson East
Ranked #47 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Not giving this hotel an extremely awesome review, cause well it's pretty average. The rooms are clean and spacious. Bathroom very small considering it's a Hilton, staying at their sister hotels, you'd expect that, but the expectation is slightly more for the Hilton itself. Also, was disappointed that their isn't even a basic breakfast included in the price, which is +/-$100/night.

No refrigerator or microwave in the room.... :(
This being a college town and folks coming in for hardly a night or max two, these basics would make a difference.
Slightly off putting was the fact that, when we walked in a bit late around 8pm to check in both receptionists were on the phone, on what seemed like personal calls, and took a minute before one put the phone down and helped us.


On the plus, as soon as we were in our room, housekeeping came by and gave us complimentary bottled water(Fiji) for both of us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frmkigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issue_Resolution, Director of Sales at Hilton Tucson East, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for your review. We offer our congratulations to your family as it sounds like you were with us for a college graduation. We apologize that we only met your expectations; our goal is to exceed them.

You are correct, based on guest feedback, we don't add the cost of breakfast to each rate choice. Guests choose whether to purchase a rate with breakfast, an Executive Level rate with executive lounge food and beverage or a rate for only a room. Many guests tell us they prefer having choices and only paying for amenities they use. We hope on your next visit, you will ask for the bed and breakfast rate.

We apologize the front desk agents were assisting guests when you checked in. With so many families inhouse for the UofA graduation, there were lots of calls with questions about local restaurants, malls, things to do around town, etc. We want our guests to know that each is important and valued and we're sorry we didn't make you feel that way at check in. We thank you for your feedback and will use it in tomorrow's front desk training. We are pleased you enjoyed your bottled water.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

836 - 842 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

My fiancé and I have stayed at this Hilton many times over the years and never had the horrible issues we just recently had with this Hotel! The employees seemed like they didn’t care at all and were just locals there to make a paycheck. Once we arrived there from our long drive, my fiancé asked for a cup of coffee (being exhausted from driving for hours & having our coffee maker in the room not working). He was told at the front desk he would have to pay them $5.00 for a small cup! So he paid the insane $5 for the coffee (mind you, this IS NOT STARBUCKS COFFEE)! Not only was this coffee $5.00! But it was also COLD once he FINALLY got it! We got non-stop rude calls when we left our tiny dog there for an hour, saying she was barking, Just to arrive to our room to hear big barking dogs (a dogs bark tells it's size) in every other room on our floor!! Not only that, but to top this all off, when we left no one told us about any other charges that they "have the right" to charge you once you leave!!! We brought our dog and were charged the $75.00 "pet fee". We did not try to hide our dog to avoid this fee.(Which being 5 lbs we could have!) Once we got home I found that this hotel had charged my credit card an extra $150!!!! On top of the $170 we already paid for one night!! So I called the hotel to see why and to my huge surprise, they said it was a "smoking charge"! Neither of us smoke, we both have asthma!! Needless to say, we will be staying at a hotel where they don’t charge you behind your back for untold charges (CHARGES for something we DID NOT EVEN DO!). We have a call into the manager, why didn't HE call us FIRST?

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issue_Resolution, Director of Sales at Hilton Tucson East, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you were surprised by your room charges. We apologize we had to contact you about your pet; there were several complaints from the surrounding rooms about your pet's barking. You have a right to participate in our pet friendly stay program and every guest has the right to a quiet, comfortable and restful night.

It surprises people to learn that regardless of the substance smoked, smoking in a room requires the same professional cleaning process to remove lingering smells from bed linens, dust ruffles, comforters, and curtains. Additionally, the room must be placed out-of-order while a professional ozone machine cleans the air. The odor was quite strong and commented on by the surrounding guests.

Complimentary coffee is available from the restaurant on the second floor. When a Cuisinart coffee maker (or an iron or hair dryer) breaks, our guests are provided with a new one on-the-spot. I'm sorry you had trouble getting complimentary coffee. We try to make that easy for guests to get.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I stay there during my business trips. I've been there many time since 2007. For me it is better than the appartment hotels that offer larger rooms, but feels less cosy. It feels like a real hotel with very good breakfast for very affordable price. Try to have your breakfast seated close to the windows. There is nice view to the north mountains. Good start of a business day.

The restaurant and the bar offers decent food and drink in case you are too tired to shop outside. There are good restaurants in the vicinity.

There are very nice resorts in Tucson offering golf courses and spa. This hotel is not anywhere near those resorts. However, if you are busy during the day and just need somewhere to sleep, it is a good choice.

Gym is basic and very small. Same for the outdoor pool.

One concern though is the room aircondition. It is usually very noisy and this is quite typical to all rooms. The control unit is modern, but the device itself is one of those old ones that make a lot of noise.... and it is unlikely in Tucson to turn it off. However, I'm usually so tired at the end of the day that I crash to bed despite the noise.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the renovated rooms (about 3 years ago). They would have shower instead of bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issue_Resolution, Director of Sales at Hilton Tucson East, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your company's loyalty in selecting us as their preferred Tucson hotel. The Hilton Tucson East is the market leader in Fortune 500 company travel because of companies like yours--and guests like you. Thank you for the glowing review of overall value, of our restaurant, and in particular, our breakfast.

You are correct, we're not located close to Tucson resorts; they are outside the city limits; to the far North and West. Our location is close to the geographic center of Tucson, convenient to shopping, restaurants and attractions--and a quick, convenient drive to your company's facilities.

To clear up a few misconceptions: All 232 of our hotel rooms have been renovated and upgraded to the new Hilton brand room standards. Our room renovations are 100% completed. All the rooms received marble, tile, new closets, new TVs, new armoires, and more. Rooms with King beds additionally received a glass walk in shower; rooms with 2 Queen beds have a shower/tub combo.

Air conditioners in Tucson work hard over the summer and our preventative maintenance program replaces room air conditioners on schedule. Over the last two years, all the units have been replaced (we also replaced the controls with digital thermostats). If you experience noise or a problem with your air conditioner during your next visit, it could be as simple as a vibration--please let us know so we can correct the issue on the spot. Some guests ask us to assist them in setting their thermostats and we are happy to do that too. Additionally, in January, the hotel's main "chiller" for public areas was upgraded to a brand new $75,000 high capacity model for our guests' comfort. We want each guest to get a great night's sleep and feel valued, well cared for and respected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I've stayed here multiple times on business, but would also stay here personally. The prices are great, the rooms are clean, the gym and pool area are clean and the breakfast is good. You're not that far from the Univ of Arizona campus as well as hiking areas. Pretty much what you'd expect...except somehow better.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UConn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issue_Resolution, Director of Sales at Hilton Tucson East, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your review. We value our return guests and are always looking for new ways to enhance their hotel experiences--it's the little things that make the difference. We're so pleased you recognized our housekeepers' tireless cleaning efforts all over the hotel. Both new and return guests rank our hotel very high in all areas of service and facilities in Hilton's guest evaluation program.

And we are grateful that you enjoyed Breakfast at Hilton. It is consistently rated the best breakfast buffet in town--our Chef bakes Hilton's Signature Recipe Muffins each morning--blueberry, orange-cranberry, and honey-bran. Also each morning, freshly baked pastries, croissants and "made-from-scratch" granola is made using Hilton's Signature Recipes. 40 other items are available on the buffet such as scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, bagels, fruit, yogurt, etc. There is also a waffle maker with all the fixings, a made-to-order omelet station with uniformed Chef and if that's not enough--you can choose items from the breakfast menu which are cooked-to-order just for you. There is truly something for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I only had one night to spend at Tucson.
I couldn't try out all of what this hotel has to offer, but what I could was simply of the highest quality.
Very well equipped Gym with very modern instruments, Excellent breakfast - with Sheff made Omelets and very large and diverse selection of food and drinks. Beautiful interior design - overlooking the mountains, and seating places around the hotel enjoying same view.
Service was fast and efficient and my room amenities were also excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issue_Resolution, Director of Sales at Hilton Tucson East, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your glowing review of our hotel, facilities, services and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Tucson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Breakfast was included with our room, and it was tasty. Pool was nice, as was the work out area. Room was comfortable and I liked the bed. Elevators are slow, but would not have killed me to use the stairs. Was helpful that they have a (free) washer/dryer on site. Would have liked a fridge in the room. Could have rented one, but as nice as this place is they could have included them in all the rooms. Overall it was nice, and I really can't complain.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKM176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issue_Resolution, Director of Sales at Hilton Tucson East, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your comfortable room and bed. We get many guest compliments on our breakfast--I'm so glad you also found it tasty too. Thank you for your endorsement of our pool and exercise room. And we are glad you enjoyed our courtesy washer/dryer room--that does come in handy.

We apologize that our elevator maintenance company was performing preventative maintenance on one of the elevators during your stay. However, ensuring all equipment is safe for guests and in optimal working condition are a top priority.

You will be pleased to hear that the Hilton brand is in the process of adding refrigerators to all guest rooms. Additionally, guest room safes and state-of-the-art business centers are being added. We look forward to unveiling it all soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed 3 nights but wanted to stay more! Located on a busy road but no traffic noise. Big car park. Easy to get to different places. Pick-up the street map of Tucson from the leaflet rack in the reception area. Quite a few eating places nearby and a very large shopping mall up the road.

Nice big and comfy room. The bathroom could have done with some updating and there was a problem was water draining from the bath - reported but not fixed. The staff in the bar/restaurant downstairs were very good and friendly. Had the "petite cut" steak - it was rather large and very good.

Only downside - we had an executive room so had access to the executive lounge for breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres. The first lady running it, who is apparently the usual lady was very good and ran a tight ship, however the women who was there on the Friday and Saturday wasn't very good, had a couldn't care less attitude and didn't re-stock either the food or the plates/dishes. I didn't pay the extra for an executive room to have to drink coffee from a polystyrene cup and my OJ from a plastic glass!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raquelrattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issue_Resolution, Director of Sales at Hilton Tucson East, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thank you for your review. And thank you for noticing our great location surrounded by restaurants and shops. Broadway is one of Tucson's main Boulevards so it is easy to get from the hotel to malls, movies, eateries, attractions and more.

We're so pleased you enjoyed your steak in the restaurant. And that you found your room large and comfortable. We apologize about your tub drain.

We are so pleased you enjoyed the Executive Level and we do apologize for using the non-breakable drinking items. An operational issue should never impact the guest and ours did. Most of all, I'm sorry one of our team members came across as uninterested. Our hotel team meets hundreds of guests each month and each guest has unique experiences and many stories that most want to share with us. Each guest is so appreciative when we then think of a creative or fun way to make their day. This dynamic makes our jobs exciting and interesting. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and making your day too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.8 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#23 of 129 in Tucson
1,196 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tucson East / Williams Centre
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tucson East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson East

Address: 7600 E Broadway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85710-3705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Tucson
#46 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £70 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tucson East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern atrium lobby hotel with all-interior corridors in Tucson; this upscale hotel has a 7-story atrium lobby window that showcases the Catalina Mountain Range views. Guestrooms with King or 2 Queen beds and free Internet. Executive Level Rooms available with private key access floors, include access to the private lounge serving deluxe continental breakfast, all day snacks and beverages, and evening manager's reception with beer, wine and soda bar; additional amenities include turn down service and nightly snacks. Premium location close to Park Place Mall, attractions, business and shopping. Free parking. Restaurant, gift shop, pool, whirlpool, and exercise room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Tucson East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson East Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton
Hilton Tucson East Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing