We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for University Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tucson University Park Hotel
Ranked #29 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel while making a college visit at University of AZ. The front desk staff was very helpful, giving us directions and a map. It is an easy walk to campus. There were several restaurants close to the hotel, as well. Parking was easy in the garage and we didn't need the car during our visit. We had a nice room on the top floor of the hotel with a good view of campus. The walls were somewhat thin, however. When the occupants of the room next door came in at 3:00 am, we could hear their entire long conversation. It would have been nice to have free wifi. We were in AZ for a week and this was the only hotel that did not include wifi in the price of the room. We will stay here again if we come back to campus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmotley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

I apologize that you were disrupted by other guests early in the morning, we do have security at night which tries to curtail the noise but there are times when they are not able to react to everything. Thank you for staying with us and I am glad that you enjoy our location. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel has so many favorable mentions for the staff that you start to feel that some of them might be fake...until you go. The rooms are clean and a good size, but the decor is quite dated (that peach-colored, faux-sponge painted wallpaper is obnoxious!). I would go back in a heartbeat though because the staff were quite simply the nicest, friendliest, most helpful hotel staff I have ever come across, anywhere, including at seriously high end places. From the front desk to the housekeeping to the bartender and parking valets, they were just delightful. Happy, friendly staff are usually a sign of great management, so I applaud the management of this hotel for maintaining such great morale.

The pool is small but attractive and clean with a hot tub and plenty of towels and sun loungers. The lobby and common areas were nice, with fountains and little waterfalls and streams.

The hotel is in a great spot, there are many restaurants and pubs on University right around the corner (1-2 minute walk), and 4th Avenue is about a 5-10 minute walk. The parking garage across the street was free at weekends, I don't know what the cost of parking (if any) is during the week. In-room Wi-Fi was free. If you have kids be sure to visit the turtle and koi pond across the street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane_Bisbee_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Our staff works very hard at delivering great guest service and it's rewarding for them to hear when guests notice their efforts. We very much appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The staff at this hotel truly makes the experience. They are friendly and remember return visitors. One of my favorites has always been Mark L. He goes out of his way to provide exceptional service, remembers personal details about me and makes my business trips so much easier. This hotel has a fantastic team that raises the value of each stay with their professionalism.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tvaravano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review of the hotel and our staff. We appreciate you mentioning Mark as providing you with exceptional service, he does a very good job and it is rewarding to see our team members get recognized by our guests. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

King size bed very very comfortable. The lobby is refreshingly cool after a hot Tucson stroll. the sounds of fountain, creek, little foot bridges....charming. the restaurant/lounge had a decent breakfast offering. nighttime nice for conversation and after dinner drinks or a nightcap. The hotel is convenient to everything around U of A. The parking lot is across the street from the hotel, so you just hope it's not raining. there is a valet though, in case you don't want to park your own car. We spent four nights. all the staff were pleasant. We'd go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBoulevard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

We appreciate the kind words and are pleased that you enjoy many aspects of the hotel and the area. We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed at the Marriott University Park May 12-15, 2013 for an Academic Advising Conference and I was impressed from the minute I arrived. The Hotel staff were friendly and knowledgeable, especially Mark Letcher. Mark checked me in and was professional, friendly and informed. He was efficient and had answers to all my questions about stores, restaurants and the local area. He suggested some fantastic restaurants and knew the locations of everything I needed. He was also willing to go the extra mile and make sure my colleague and I were in rooms near each other. I was highly impressed by the level of customer service from Mark and all the Marriot employees. Thank you Marriott for hiring people like Mark who are the epitome of great service!
I would absolutely stay here again...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a response regarding your stay at our hotel. It's always very rewarding when a staff member is recognized by our guests as being "guest focused." We are very happy that Mark provided you with exceptional service. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

When we arrived that November evening, quite a shock we had, because the Democratic convention had taken over the hotel. Here we were tired and no way to relax.
Until about midnight, when the convention was over, then the hotel was back to business as usual.
The management went above and beyond to make it up to us. They were wonderful.
Great location, near restaurants and shops. All within walking distance. The room we had
was quiet. We were very pleased with Victoria, our room maid, very friendly and kept our room perfect.
We were extremely pleased with the way Management made us feel comfortable.
We will definitely stay there if we ever have to visit Tucson again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thanks for writing a review of our hotel. We are so pleased that Victoria provided excellent service during your stay. It's very rewarding for our staff members when guests notice their service skills. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I am staying at the University Marriott every other week through September (and maybe beyond) and so far really love the location! Located on the edge of campus near many restaurants on University Street and a short drive to downtown. Staff have been very friendly and accommodating and I’m always welcomed back by Raphael in the Concierge Lounge. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Also in walking distance of the U of A recreation center which is really nice and you can get day passes to workout! The elevators are a bit slow, so be patient. If you are a light sleeper ask for a higher room.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a higher room away from the atrium. Be patient, the elevators ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRVLGRL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

We are happy that you have been enjoying the area and the hotel. Thanks very much for mentioning the stellar job Raphael is doing in the Concierge Lounge, we are very fortunate to have him as part of our team. We really appreciate your business and thank you for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#59 of 129 in Tucson
300 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,002 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
0.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
6.1 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#23 of 129 in Tucson
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tucson University Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucson University Park Hotel

Address: 880 E 2nd St, Tucson, AZ 85719 (Formerly Tucson Marriott University Park)
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#36 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £84 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tucson University Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best Tucson, Arizona has to offer at the Tucson University Park Hotel. Our hotel is adjacent to the beautiful campus of the University of Arizona in the heart of Tucson, which makes us an ideal choice for visitors touring the University or attending athletic events. Our hotel's spacious, tastefully appointed guest rooms offer top-quality amenities and comfort whether you are traveling to Tucson, Arizona for leisure or business. Deluxe hotel amenities include a full fitness center, an outdoor pool, and a selection of exceptional restaurants and bars. If you're looking to host a wedding or business function here in Tucson, our hotel boasts 10 versatile venues, over 30,000 square feet of event space, and a skilled on-site planning staff. The next time you're in Arizona, we look forward to welcoming you at the award-winning Tucson University Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tucson University Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Marriott University Park Hotel Tucson
Marriott Tucson
Tucson University Park Hotel Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing