We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tucson University Park Hotel
Ranked #39 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Not that new anymore, but you can't tell - still a great hotel in great condition. Really big guest rooms, comfortable beds, big desk/work area with both wired and wireless internet, decent sized (but not huge) bathroom with nice amenities and good, thick towels. Flat panel TV's could be a bit bigger, in keeping with the size of the rooms. Beautiful interior atrium area. All the staff are very friendly and very professional.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbavguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you very much for filling out a Trip Advisor review on the Tucson University Park Marriott. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope we have the honor of serving you again soon. Thanks again for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

This Marriott is unique in that it is a short block from the University of Arizona. The food (breakfast) is great and the service is too. Lots of things to do close by and lots of good eating places nearby.

Room Tip: Get a high room to see the city and mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 787manuelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you had an opportunity to experience the culture surrounding the University of Arizona. We hope that we have another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I enjoyed my stay here thoroughly. Great location for walking around and seeing the area. Lots of options for eating. The staff is also extremely helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone going to the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a review on the Tucson Marriott University Park. We are so happy that you had a great experience and we hope that we have another opportunity to serve you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a mostly positive review, so don't be deceived by the headline. But my wife and I stayed in 3 different Marriott properties in Tucson on this trip and I was struck that the more we paid - the less services we received. This hotel charged for WiFi and breakfast, while these services were free at the Residence Inn and Fairmont Inn. The rooms were equally as comfortable and clean at all 3 properties.

The biggest benefit of this hotel was location - it's practically on the campus of U of A and close to nice shops and restaurants.

Staff was pleasant and even suggested we keep our bikes in our room.

But when we checked our bags to return our bikes - someone stole my laptop from my backpack. I may have left it in my room and housekeeping took it, but either way there's a thief in the place.

Room Tip: If you check bags make sure they're locked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BFRMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
van8buren, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

I apologize for the fact that your laptop came up missing. We have filed a claim with the insurance compay on your behalf. We are happy that you had an opportunity to experience another Marriott Property, the Residence Inn while in Tucson. Marriott offers many different options for guests who have different wants and needs. We do charge for meals in our restaurant and for WiFi as that is a standard of the Marriott Full Service Brand. We appreciate your feedback and hope you continue to stay in Marriott Branded Hotels..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Concierge lounge charges for drinks. I have never experienced this at any other Marriott or competitor hotel chain where I have status. In addition, wireless is an additional charge. Room is acceptable, nothing worth noting. Location is this hotel's saving grace.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank choctraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
van8buren, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we certainly will take your comments under advisement. Charging for the internet and for drinks in the concierge lounge is a brand standard for all full service Marriott's. The concierge lounge offers complimentary breakfast and food during the dinner hour, also according to brand standard for Marriott full service hotels. We constantly take feedback from our guests and pass it along to Marriott and at times those comments will be the basis for changing the standards for the brand. Thank you for your patronage and for your constructive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Another nice Marriott property with spacious and well appointed rooms. Mine had a balcony with a nice view of A mountain. Would have liked the room to have a mini-fridge. Parking is in a separate building opposite the street but a not a major issue.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
van8buren, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. In the future when staying at our hotel or any other Marriott please request a refrigerator at the time of making your reservation and we will do our best to see that you have one. We hope that we have another opportunity to serve you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel is right in UA; it has a triangle shape with all rooms on the sides and empty in the middle: for this reason the main entrance and the hall is impressive with the ceiling 9 stories tall. The room was very comfortable, the service is excellent and the staff is very friendly. The one thing that didn’t meet our expectations is the breakfast: its quality was a little bit “too weak” even if we could not complain for its variety. I really suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the service that the staff provided. I am sorry that the breakfast did not meet your expectations as we make an effort to change the buffet items on a regular basis so to make it less routine for frequent guests. I have passed on your comments to the Chef who will meet with the breakfast staff to ensure we emphasize our quality standards. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#59 of 129 in Tucson
304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#19 of 129 in Tucson
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
1.3 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
736 reviews
6.1 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#22 of 129 in Tucson
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tucson University Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucson University Park Hotel

Address: 880 E 2nd St, Tucson, AZ 85719 (Formerly Tucson Marriott University Park)
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#36 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £130 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tucson University Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best Tucson, Arizona has to offer at the Tucson University Park Hotel. Our hotel is adjacent to the beautiful campus of the University of Arizona in the heart of Tucson, which makes us an ideal choice for visitors touring the University or attending athletic events. Our hotel's spacious, tastefully appointed guest rooms offer top-quality amenities and comfort whether you are traveling to Tucson, Arizona for leisure or business. Deluxe hotel amenities include a full fitness center, an outdoor pool, and a selection of exceptional restaurants and bars. If you're looking to host a wedding or business function here in Tucson, our hotel boasts 10 versatile venues, over 30,000 square feet of event space, and a skilled on-site planning staff. The next time you're in Arizona, we look forward to welcoming you at the award-winning Tucson University Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tucson University Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Marriott University Park Hotel Tucson
Marriott Tucson
Tucson University Park Hotel Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing