We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is GREAT for a business meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tucson University Park Hotel
Ranked #45 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“This hotel is GREAT for a business meeting”
Reviewed 9 March 2011

The purpose of my stay was to coordinate a business workshop. All aspects of the preperations needed was done professionally. From the people working the guest registration area to A/V managers, supervisors and the Executive Meeting Manager, their performance was very professional and made our workshop a hugh success.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Lanzetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    221
    92
    31
    28
See reviews for
174
66
33
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Stayed here for a business conference. Staff very polite and helpful.
Breakfast was great and good value and staff happy to cook individual items just how you wanted them.
Good sized room that could have slept 4 and quiet and able to get a good night's sleep.
The hotel bar and meals cooked were surprisingly good value, came quickly and of good quality and range.
Hotel staff were great at sorting out a trip into the desert for a group of us and arrnaging a mini bus which was competitively priced.
Door staff were always avaiable to get taxis to palces needed to be at.
Conference food was surprisingly good.
Nicely located for several decent bars and restaurants and next to the Univserity gardens which were lovely.
Swimming pool was a nice bonus with towels available at no cost. Mind you it was 104 degrees on the day I sat out in October.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_Marks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton Junction, New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Perfect proximity to the University and Universtiy scene. We loved walking less than half a block to get breakfast/lunch/dinner. Kids loved the glass elevators and the pool. Our rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. Staff was universally pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I was in Tucson for a business trip and stayed at the Marriott due to the proximity of my meetings. It was a wonderful experience and so close to so many wonderful restaurants, downtown, University of Arizona. and mountain views. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is visiting Tucson for the first time. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holley07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest US
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Stayed here 3 nights for a recent business meeting. The hotel location is excellent. About a 20 minute ride from the airport and right on the edge of the University of Arizona campus. Many bars and restaurants are just a short one block walk.

The first thing you notice when walking in, is the large atrium area that extends up through the hotel. As other reviewers mention, it is pretty noisy with the waterfall they have in there. Seemed like I could even hear it in my room.

My room was great. Nice and spacious even with two beds in the room I had plenty of room to set all my stuff out. The bathroom was also spacious with a lot of counterspace which is a plus to lay all your stuff out and would have been really great had my wife been with me! Everything was clean! In room AC/Heating controls were easy to use/access and worked well.

Being a business traveler, the one thing which I am always very critical of is the hotel wireless internet. The hotel does offer wireless service, but at thirteen dollars per day it is very pricy. I am always confused why the higher end hotels charge such outrageous rates for internet use, but the Holiday Inns of the world let you use it free of charge. Lucky for me that the meeting group I was with paid for the wireless internet in our meeting room. That was the upside, the downside was that it was horribly slow and I was often booted out. Downloading any type of audio/video was out of the question. The other downside is that if you paid for wireless in your room, it didn't work in the meeting rooms! Not sure how these hotels set up their services, but you would think if you are paying for the internet, you should be able to access it in a first floor meeting room.

I didn't eat at the restaurant at all, but several of the people I was with did and said the food was very good. It really didn't make any sense to eat in the hotel when there were dozens of restaurants and bars only a few minutes away.

Overall I was very pleased with the stay and would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

This is well positioned for visits to UA. Its in the center of town and there are lots of nice places to eat close by. The room tariff is standard for a very standard Marriott.

I only stayed for one night but I do have a couple of comments. I waited a very long time at 10pm to get served in the foyer level bar restaurant area. The waiting staff bypassed me several times in favor of groups of a dozen who were experimenting with rounds of drinks. The waitresses seemed surprised when I asked for a menu and wine list. When I asked for more water at the end of the meal, the "oh, really!" comment summed it up. The pork chopped and asparagus were good, the aintipasto salad was plentiful but populated with tasteless salami that was overly fatty.
Note to self - next time walk a block downtown, eat better and quicker, more wine choice.

The other issue of note is the noise factor from the internal atrium. The manager came and asked one group to quieten down in the bar because the noise was disturbing people in the rooms above. this seems to be an ongoing problem from other reviews.

The room, bed and bathroom were comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoesNotGetOutMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Just a wee pet peeve, but don't like hearing the man (lady?) snoring next door, and garbled conversations in the other room on the other side at odd hours..

Also pricey, but I get that the $$ is high so you can walk most everywhere.

Very convenient to the school and fun night life, and management staff very helpful and courteous. Food was good - not great, but certainly adequate. Just so sorry about the noise! We were on the 8th floor - maybe other rooms are quieter? thicker walls? nope. maybe not, but if you're a sound sleeper and can sleep (snore!) thru anything...your kind of place!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjminky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#59 of 130 in Tucson
284 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
1.4 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
3.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tucson University Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucson University Park Hotel

Property: Tucson University Park Hotel
Address: 880 E 2nd Street, Tucson, AZ 85719 (Formerly Tucson Marriott University Park)
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#36 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tucson University Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best Tucson, Arizona has to offer at the Tucson University Park Hotel. Our hotel is adjacent to the beautiful campus of the University of Arizona in the heart of Tucson, which makes us an ideal choice for visitors touring the University or attending athletic events. Our hotel's spacious, tastefully appointed guest rooms offer top-quality amenities and comfort whether you are traveling to Tucson, Arizona for leisure or business. Deluxe hotel amenities include a full fitness center, an outdoor pool, and a selection of exceptional restaurants and bars. If you're looking to host a wedding or business function here in Tucson, our hotel boasts 10 versatile venues, over 30,000 square feet of event space, and a skilled on-site planning staff. The next time you're in Arizona, we look forward to welcoming you at the award-winning Tucson University Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tucson University Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Marriott University Park Hotel Tucson
Marriott Tucson
Tucson University Park Hotel Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing