We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
Ranked #40 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have been on a cross country trip for the last three weeks. Were getting tired and just happened on this oasis. Wonderful friendly staff, patio with fountains, once inside you wouldn't realize that you are in the middle of a large city. While we have stayed in fancier hotels this was clearly that best bargain. Room not as large as some but very adequate and bed and sleep was as good as any.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HVKSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucsoncs, Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our hidden jewel. I am glad you also liked our newly done rooms. We also offer a full deluxe hot breakfast buffet daily. Our pool and oversize spa is heated all year around for your pleasure. We also offer a wonderful social hour daily by our pool side.

Our guests always love our convenient location close to the Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon where they enjoy hiking and biking and long walks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

We needed a place to stay in the Northeast part of Tucson and this hotel fit the bill. We did not get a suite, just a basic room with a king size bed. The bed was really comfortable, pillows very nice to sleep on compared to some places we have stayed. The toilet/tub area was tiny, you more or less needed to open the door to have room to towel off, there is a much larger sink area just outside the door. The closet area is ample. The layout of the design of the place is very nice with 2 courtyards on either end of the hotel so there is lots of light in the rooms. The only problem with the room was that it was one of those rooms with a door that connects it to the room next door and next door was a bunch of loud yahoos who slammed doors, talked LOUDLY and endlessly about where to go for beer . . . you get the picture. Can't really blame the hotel for inconsiderate people who rent rooms.
Breakfast was far more than I expected given the price of our room, The food was fresh with lots of choice. They could have used a few more tables, however if it had been warmer there were some tables poolside that I imagine you could use. All in all a nice place to escape from northern winter, but if you stay for more than one night perhaps upgrade to a suite and also ask for a room without a door that connects to the next room.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite and ask for a room that does not have a connecting door to the room beside it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suitscase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucsoncs, Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable .I am glad you also liked our newly done rooms. We also offer a full deluxe hot breakfast buffet daily. Our pool and oversize spa is heated all year around for your pleasure. We also offer a wonderful social hour daily by our pool side.

Our guests always love our convenient location close to the Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon where they enjoy hiking and biking and long walks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Aging facilities but bearable until it was time to sleep. Without TV and fan noise, I could now hear a loud metallic bang, like a steel dumpster lid falling shut, every 60 seconds. At midnight I went out to see what it could be and found it was coming from the mechanical room behind the Front Desk. The night attendant, as well as the Front Desk clerk the next morning, acknowledged that it was the compressor, but had no explanation or fix other than having "told the maintenance people about it" . With earplugs and the fan on full I managed to get about 4 hours of sleep.

Completely unacceptable and infuriating experience.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank hagakure54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We found the staff to be cheerful and very helpful. We received the type of room requested which was upstairs, in the back and very quite. the room was clean, and comfortable with lots of room. I had trouble with the heat adjustment and would suggest instructions placed nearby? my fault for not asking and assuming I could figure it out. When I informed them of the problem they assured me it would be looked and and did not brush me off.
I would definitely stay there again and probably will next year. So nice to be greeting with such happy faces.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank spoilmyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucsoncs, Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable .I am glad you also liked our newly done rooms. We also offer a full deluxe hot breakfast buffet daily. Our pool and oversize spa is heated all year around for your pleasure. We also offer a wonderful social hour daily by our pool side.

Our guests always love our convenient location close to the Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon where they enjoy hiking and biking and long walks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very nice Comfort Inn Suites with pretty interior courtyards with fountains. Excellent service from friendly staff. Good breakfast with hot and cold selections. Clean and comfy suite with comfortable beds. Clear driving directions provided by hotel website. Convenient to several restaurants in the area, including Zona 78 (good pizza and Italian specialties). There was an outdoor pool and hot tub, but it was a little too cool for swimming during our stay. We used this hotel as our base while seeing some of the highlights of the Tucson area during a three day visit at the end of January, 2014.

Sabino Canyon is just minutes away, so we went there early in the day and didn't run into any crowds. (It is a lovely place - a nice respite from the Arizona desert.)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GreatOutdoors65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucsoncs, Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our, pretty courtyards with water fountain.I am glad you also liked our newly done rooms I am also happy to hear you enjoyed our hot breakfast buffet, which is offered daily. Our pool and oversize spa is heated all year around for your pleasure. We also offer a wonderful social hour daily by our pool side.

Our guests always love our convenient location close to the Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon where they enjoy hiking and biking and long walks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

It's a nice Comfort Inn, but be aware that not all the rooms are suites. We made the mistake of booking a room assuming it would be a suite, and it wasn't. The suites were sold out for most of our stay so we went elsewhere after one night. But, it is one of the nicest Comfort Inns we've seen, and the staff was extremely friendly and willing to please. The breakfast was ample and tasty.

There were too few restaurant choices in the immediate area. We ordered delivery.

Room Tip: Get a suite for about $10 more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucsoncs, Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our, pretty courtyards with water fountain.I am glad you also liked our newly done rooms. Our pool and oversize spa is heated all year around for your pleasure. We also offer a wonderful social hour daily by our pool side.

Our guests always love our convenient location close to the Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon where they enjoy hiking and biking and long walks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here, based on the tripadvisor reviews, for five days over MLK weekend, 2014. We were very happy with the location, breakfast, accommodating staff, and terrific cleanliness. Even with a children's soccer convention here at the same time, our room was quiet. Finding one's way through the four courtyards takes a minute to master, but after that things are easy. I had called ahead to ask that no room fresheners be used because I have sensitivities to fragrances (and mold). This was honored. The rooms are all non-smoking, which was important to me. There is one smoking area on a balcony near the small swimming pool. At the end of our trip, we got caught in an airline snow cancellation and were able to book for an extra night -- even getting our same room number back. I think we went to every museum and park that Tucson has to offer and felt that the East Tucson location was convenient to getting to everything. DIstances may be a bit long sometimes, as they were on the day we went to the Desert Museum, but the roads are straight and uncomplicated once you learn that Tanque Verde turns into Wilmer going west. Then Speedway, a right turn, will be your best friend to get to the Desert Museum, State Museum, Art Museum and also to Routes 10 and 19 for San Xavier Mission, the Titan Missile Site and Tubac . Sabino Canyon is only minutes away, of course, and you will be well positioned for Kartchner Caverns, the Pima Air and Space Center and the Airport (about 45 minutes or less). There is one computer for guests in the motel lobby, but you can use their wi fi with your own equipment. If we ever have the opportunity to return to Tucson and do not feel the need for a fancy resort-type hotel, we will definitely come back here for many reasons. Don't let the location on a major road next to a Big Lots store bother you -- once you are inside this pretty facility you are in a different world. Finally, I want to mention that we also had a snow layover a day later in Phoenix and stayed at a Hilton -- twice as much money and not nearly as nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucsoncs, Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you also liked our pretty courtyards with water fountain.I am glad you also liked our newly done rooms I am also happy to hear you enjoyed our hot breakfast buffet, which is offered daily. Our pool and oversize spa is heated all year around for your pleasure. We also offer a wonderful social hour daily by our pool side.

Our guests always love our convenient location close to the Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon where they enjoy hiking and biking and long walks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#23 of 129 in Tucson
1,187 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
10.0 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
7.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tucson East / Williams Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon

Address: 7007 E Tanque Verde Rd, Tucson, AZ 85715-5311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#35 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £63 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites At Sabino Canyon Hotel Tucson
Comfort Suites Tucson
Comfort Suites Sabino Canyon
Tucson Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites At Sabino Canyon Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing