We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but small room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall
Ranked #24 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location but small room”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel is in a great location: near restaurants in the northern part of town (close to Oro Valley and close to Tohono Chul Park.) Despite the name, this hotel is about 2 miles away from the Tucson Mall; in fact I did not see any hotel on or adjacent to the mall. Easy to return to hotel from busy N. Oracle Road; if you are heading south, there is an exit lane you can take. This was especially convenient at night. The breakfasts were good and varied from day to day. We opted for a budget priced room so I guess I should not complain that it was very small and lacked amenities like a microwave and refrigerator. At the beginning of our stay I wanted to pay more and switch to a different room; I was told since we booked through a third party (EXPEDIA.COM) we would have to pay for the second room in full, not the difference alone. (Normal policy?) Needless to say we did not switch rooms.

Room Tip: We chose a room facing inward toward the swimming pool and heard no road noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy B, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    136
    49
    23
    11
See reviews for
160
116
30
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buffalo ny, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

this HAMPTON INN was very clean, had a large variety of breakfast foods, and a large seating area. Food was replenished as needed It also had a nice pool & hot tub. Tim at front desk was extremely helpful. Area surrounding hotel had restaurants and shopping areas

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel, very clean and tidy, stayed for almost a week. Had a suite on the 3rd floor, very quite. Large room with bed room, living area with combined kitchenette and bathroom. Plenty of storage space. Lots on offer for breakfast and a complimentary drink from Gringos restaurant located next door. Fantastic 1/2 lb burger with home cut chips!
The only down side was the room was not cleaned until late in the afternoon, so a few times we returned and it was not ready. The pool is located in the centre of the hotel so it is in the shade around 4pm. Staff very friendly. Local area very quite and safe.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Clean, updated, and super friendly staff. The breakfast was better than most. The place was well maintained. Although, the room doors slam hard making it noisy at times, and the bed was a little lumpy, but not annoying.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy B, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Samuel G.,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back soon! Have a wonderful weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Was quite impressed about the overall say. I usually stay across town at different location. the staff was very friendly, while place clean- noticeably clean. everyone encountered,- desk clerks, maids and breakfast staff were polite and friendly. the whole facility was well managed. top it off, restaurants of many types were nearby and a Trader Joes about 1 mile away...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Salesman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy B, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Salesman4,
It was great having the swim team stay at our property last weekend! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the accommodations and look forward to seeing you again next year if not sooner! Have a wonderful weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a team swim meet. The lobby of the hotel is very comfortable and allowed all of us to get together at the start of the day and end of the day. Location of the hotel is outstanding. Suites were very spacious with microwave and mini fridge. Bathroom a bit small but was ok. Will definitely stay here again for the next swim meet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank SalmaDutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy B, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear SalmaDutt,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This property is in an excellent location. It has easy access to all areas of Tucson. The bedroom suites rival much higher priced brands at a great price point. The only short coming I experienced was the quality of the comp breakfast. I'm sure if the per nite price was bumped $5, to go toward upgrading the food quality, no one would mind. All in all; a great property, outstanding staff, and convenient location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy B, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Joseph M.,

Thank you so much for your feedback about your recent stay at our property. We hope to have you back soon! Have a great weekend.

Stacy B.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites at Tucson Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tucson
TownePlace Suites Tucson
#64 of 130 in Tucson
120 reviews
2.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tucson
Candlewood Suites Tucson
#54 of 130 in Tucson
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall
Address: 5950 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-3816
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#21 Business Hotel in Tucson
#21 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Tucson-Mall hotel is located just 12 miles north of downtown Tucson and just two miles from the popular shopping destinations of Foothills Mall and Tucson Mall. Our Tucson mall hotel is also only 5 miles northeast of La Encantada shops and restaurants. The Bisbee Mining & Historical Museum, the Old Tucson Movie Studio and the Pima Air & Space Museum are all a short drive away when considering things to do in Tucson, AZ. Beautiful Sabino Canyon and Saguaro National Monument are also just minutes away as are dozens of other fun and interesting Tucson hotspots. Stay at this Tucson hotel and enjoy true southern hospitality. Sleep deeply in a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and stay connected with free access to high-speed internet. Start each day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast or just grab a Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag to take away with you from Monday to Friday. Swim laps in the hotel's large outdoor pool or relax in the whirlpool spa, or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines and weights. Stay on top of work in our fully-equipped business center, and host a meeting in this Tucson hotel's 836 sq. Ft. Of dedicated meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tucson-Mall Hotel Tucson
Hampton Inn Tucson
Tucson Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Tucson-Mall Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing