We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is an older hotel, but our room was large and bright and spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly and very helpful. We only stayed two nights but I would definitely stay again.
The location in St Philips Plaza is great. The plaza is picturesque with some nice shops and a couple of good restaurants/cafes, but the icing on the cake is the farmers market on Sunday. There are lots of stalls selling amazing produce, such as fresh bread, French pastries, organic fruit and veg and much, much more.
The supermarket over the road - Trader Joe's - is very good, selling mostly organic produce. It's a little pricey, but worth it and there is a small Walmart quite nearby for any basics you might need.
A short drive up North Campbell Avenue is a very nice shopping Mall - I think it's called Encantada. They have some good shops, a very good supermarket, an Apple Store and we saw a couple of restaurants, but didn't eat there so not sure what they are like.
The stay was just a stopping off point on our travels, but it very much exceeded our expectations and we would love to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timetraveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

It’s always a pleasure to read such kind comments from our guests. Our team members are thankful for your feedback regarding the service you received during your stay.

We are glad you enjoyed the farmer’s market on Sunday’s and the many shops and restaurants near the hotel.

We are pleased we were able to exceed your expectations and we look forward to your return on a future trip!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

My daughter and her family live in Tucson but their house is not large enough to accommodate us when we visit. This is the third summer we've stayed at the comfortable, spacious Windmill Suites at St. Philip's Plaza, and we love it! The breakfast is great; we enjoy having the grandchildren use the pool with us; and we appreciate the clean rooms and friendly staff. It's an excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting your daughter and her family for the past three years.

It’s a delight to read your family enjoyed the use of our pool, our complimentary breakfast, our clean rooms and friendly staff.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again next summer!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was my first time staying here, although I have traveled to Tucson many times in the past. I chose it based on the stellar reviews and I must agree with them. Beautiful location, clean rooms and a friendly staff made my stay in Tucson great. The adjacent St Philips Plaza is beautiful with a lovely Farmers Market on Sunday. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adya_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

“Wonderful Experience! Highly Recommended.”

Thank you for your delightful comments regarding our team member’s friendly service and the cleanliness of your room.

We are pleased you enjoyed the location of the property.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Tucson.

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Over the years I have stayed at the Windmill Suites. I live in Tucson but find I have a great time when my sister or other family visits and we stay here. Earlier this month I had my teenage great-niece and great-nephew visiting and I decided it would be more fun to stay here also.

As usual, great accommodations at a good price. There are different suite sizes, this time we had a smaller suite because I actually booked at a special Mother's Day rate ($91/night). We had two beds, which were very comfortable as always. This room had a pretty comfortable sofabed for one person (I've stayed here in the past and had a very uncomfortable sofabed so my guess is that it depends on the room).

I'm not much on continental breakfasts in hotel lobbies so I've actually never eaten at this one.

There is a small business center where you can get online, check in for your flight and print your boarding pass. I have found the wifi in this hotel to be one of the fastest ones I've experienced.

The kitchenette is a small sink, small refrigerator and microwave. Some of the living rooms are large enough to have a small table and chairs (the one we had this trip had two stools for a counter at the kitchenette).

In St. Phillips Plaza which has some fun shops and very good restaurants (Vivace, Union House and Scordatto's Pizza). Trader Joe's down the block, along with a salad place and Cafe Lucce (a great local place for coffee). On another corner is an area with shops and some good restaurants including PF Changs, Zin Burger (a great hamburger joint), and a couple of others (plus a Starbuck's). St. Phillips Plaza has farmers markets on the weekend that are a lot of fun.

You can't go wrong staying here and I will continue to recommend to friends and family visiting as well as take advantage of staying here myself!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

“Consistently good experience.” We appreciate your detailed review of our Windmill Suites at St. Philip’s Plaza especially stating “can’t go wrong staying here and I will continue to recommend to friends and family.”

We are happy to know the layout of our suite accommodated your needs and you enjoyed the amenities we have to offer!

We are also happy to read you enjoyed the surrounding shops and restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back along with your family on their future travels.

Sincerely,
John Cauvin
President & CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Whenever we visit Tucson, we stay at the Windmill Suites. The rooms are nice, spacious, and clean. The location is great, and the prices are reasonable. The staff are friendly and helpful. We'll definitely come back again.

Room Tip: The nearby restaurant, Union Public House, has good food, and an excellent selection of beers. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelEQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your positive review!

Our team members will be praised for their friendly and helpful service.

We are delighted to read our spacious suite accommodated your needs and we appreciate your feedback regarding the cleanliness.

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Windmill Suites at St. Phillips Plaza is located in the rear of a small, quaint, upscale shopping and dining complex, St. Phillips Plaza. A perk is that on the weekends, a farmer's market sets up in the Plaza, making for some fun browsing and eating. In addition, you are steps away from some great choices for dining -- no car needed! And, across the street, if you choose to venture that far, are more restaurants, a Starbucks, and a Trader Joe's. The biggest plus for me is that behind the hotel is the river path for cyclists, joggers and walkers. The suites are very nice, with small kitchen areas (microwave, fridge, coffee setup) and a living room. Honestly, you cannot beat this place if you want to be in town. Minutes to the U. of A. straight down Campbell.

Room Tip: If you want outdoor space, you must be on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dotsomeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

It’s a pleasure to read you feel we are a “Great location & value in Tucson.”

We are happy to know you enjoyed the layout of our suite, surrounding shops and restaurants and the river path behind the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Tucson! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have been staying at the Windmill for many years and think it's hard to beat for location, service, comfort and price. Sure, there are a lot of fancier hotels in Tucson , but there's so much to do in the area, we are rarely in our room, and when we are, we love that it's a suite arrangement with a fridge and microwave and separate sitting room. Breakfast is pretty basic, but with so many wonderful restaurants around the immediate vicinity, we tend to go out to eat anyway.....try nearby Blue Willow and Bread and Beyond. There are a lot of fun shops right outside your door in St. Phillip's Plaza as well as fine dining at Vivace. If you want a great walk, that too is available right behind the hotel; you can go for miles! Staff is always so helpful and pleasant; they are ready to do most anything to insure you have a great visit.......all in all, we wouldn't stay anywhere else as the Windmill meets all our needs! Don't miss Sabino Canyon, The Desert Museum, Botannical Gardens and a drive to Mt. Lemmon if you have the time.....all fun things to do while in Tucson.

Room Tip: Try the third floor with mountain views.....nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

“We wouldn’t stay anywhere else as the Windmill meets all our needs!”

It is always a gratifying to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We will share your comments with our team members and recognize them for their hospitality at our next quality meeting.

We thank you for being a return guest and look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin
President & CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
4.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,002 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 129 in Tucson
913 reviews
2.6 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
6.1 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Address: 4250 N Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85718-6580 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £98 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson
Homewood Suites By Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing