We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place lived up to previous reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Ranked #8 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This place lived up to previous reviews!”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My son and his wife invited me to stay in their little apartment when I went out to visit but I didn’t want to crowd them. In searching for something close to them, I was delighted to find such positive reviews for the Windmill Suites so I booked a room. It lived up to the standards I had read about---my suite was spacious, comfortable, very clean, quiet, and most reasonably priced. Pool and hot tub were great, good breakfast, front desk was polite and helpful, maids kept room fresh, and parking was free (plenty of parking spots). Absolutely no complaints during my 4 days there! Though I missed the farmers’ market during my stay, my son goes there often and raves about it. Would definitely stay there again. Thank you for running such a fine establishment, Mr. Cauvin.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Karen M.,

It’s always a pleasure to read such positive reviews. Our team members are thankful for your feedback regarding the service you received during your stay.

We appreciate your comment regarding the cleanliness of your suite. We are glad we lived up to the standards from other TripAdvisor guests and that you enjoyed the pool, hot tub and breakfast. Thank you for your positive feedback!

We look forward to your return on a future trip to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    190
    53
    13
    14
See reviews for
252
253
56
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Just stayed at Windmill Suites of Tucson AZ and had a wonderful stay. Clean, modern, great breakfast, nice pool area, extremely comfy beds, area is quiet for sleeping and great location. I know I said clean but have to say again, CLEAN. Housekeepers must work hard. Very easy to get in/out of area to all attractions and lots of restaurants/fast food/shopping within 1-2 miles. The entire staff is helpful, pleasant and knowledgeable especially Elizabeth @ front desk. She checked us in quickly and suggested places for us to eat. She was extremely knowledgeable of the area and even looked up an address for us on her computer so we could put it into our GPS. Great employee to have on staff. If you decide on Windmill Suites you will not be disappointed. We will be returning, no doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azjd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments about our Tucson Windmill Inn. Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

Our team members and especially Elizabeth will be recognized for their hospitality provided to you during your stay. We appreciate your comment regarding the cleanliness of our property.

We are glad to read you enjoyed our amenities offered and the nearby attractions and restaurants.

Thank you for choosing us. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Loved our recent stay at this hotel. Large comfortable suite overlooking the pretty pool. Helpful staff. Very good breakfast included in price. Situated in St Philips Plaza which was very classy and included several good eateries. Loved the Spanish feel. Week-end farmers market was a lovely surprise too, didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spannerjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for such positive comments regarding your stay at our Tucson Windmill Inn.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our large, comfortable suite overlooking the pool.

Our team members will be acknowledged for their helpful service.

We are glad you enjoyed the farmer’s market on Sunday’s and the many shops and restaurants near the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We spent a long weekend at this hotel when we flew to Tucson to attend the U of A graduation of a family member. The location was perfect for all of the functions that we needed to attend. Other family stay there also, and we enjoyed meeting up with them at poolside, at the plentiful continental breakfast, and strolling through the farmer's market that is held adjacent to the hotel on the weekend.

It is an older hotel and so the suites are on the small side, but the kitchenette was adequate and the room spotless. The staff were quite helpful and made for a pleasant stay. The Wifi and the business center made it easy to print our boarding passes just before we left - so no complaints as far as staying connected.

We booked this hotel in February for the May, U of A graduation, and when other family tried to book it in March - they were sold out. So a tip would be to book as early in the year as possible if you are planning to stay during graduation. The hotel was absolutely packed! Yes, we will stay there again on our next trip to Tucson.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
It’s always a pleasure to read such kind comments from our guests. Our team members are thankful for your feedback regarding the service you received during your stay.

We are glad you enjoyed the pool, breakfast and the farmer’s market. Thank you for your positive feedback.

We look forward to your return on a future trip to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is an older hotel, but our room was large and bright and spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly and very helpful. We only stayed two nights but I would definitely stay again.
The location in St Philips Plaza is great. The plaza is picturesque with some nice shops and a couple of good restaurants/cafes, but the icing on the cake is the farmers market on Sunday. There are lots of stalls selling amazing produce, such as fresh bread, French pastries, organic fruit and veg and much, much more.
The supermarket over the road - Trader Joe's - is very good, selling mostly organic produce. It's a little pricey, but worth it and there is a small Walmart quite nearby for any basics you might need.
A short drive up North Campbell Avenue is a very nice shopping Mall - I think it's called Encantada. They have some good shops, a very good supermarket, an Apple Store and we saw a couple of restaurants, but didn't eat there so not sure what they are like.
The stay was just a stopping off point on our travels, but it very much exceeded our expectations and we would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timetraveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
It’s always a pleasure to read such kind comments from our guests. Our team members are thankful for your feedback regarding the service you received during your stay.

We are glad you enjoyed the farmer’s market on Sunday’s and the many shops and restaurants near the hotel.

We are pleased we were able to exceed your expectations and we look forward to your return on a future trip!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My daughter and her family live in Tucson but their house is not large enough to accommodate us when we visit. This is the third summer we've stayed at the comfortable, spacious Windmill Suites at St. Philip's Plaza, and we love it! The breakfast is great; we enjoy having the grandchildren use the pool with us; and we appreciate the clean rooms and friendly staff. It's an excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting your daughter and her family for the past three years.

It’s a delight to read your family enjoyed the use of our pool, our complimentary breakfast, our clean rooms and friendly staff.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again next summer!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was my first time staying here, although I have traveled to Tucson many times in the past. I chose it based on the stellar reviews and I must agree with them. Beautiful location, clean rooms and a friendly staff made my stay in Tucson great. The adjacent St Philips Plaza is beautiful with a lovely Farmers Market on Sunday. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adya_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
“Wonderful Experience! Highly Recommended.”

Thank you for your delightful comments regarding our team member’s friendly service and the cleanliness of your room.

We are pleased you enjoyed the location of the property.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Tucson.

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
4.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#24 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
2.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
2.6 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Address: 4250 N Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85718-6580 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson
Homewood Suites By Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing