We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Ranked #8 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Had an enjoyable stay at this hotel for 2 nights. Rooms were right by the pool which was very handy. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The Plaza is nice, we ate in the Union Bar and it had good beers and good deals. We borrowed a bike to ride to the store late at night. I would stay here again in Tuscon

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
“Very pleasant hotel”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly and helpful service!

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your suite located next to our pool area, our guest use bicycles and the location of our property with the nearby restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    192
    56
    13
    15
See reviews for
260
257
59
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amissville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Most friendly, conscientious staff in Tucson, from the general manager, to sales director, to the excellent, helpful front desk team. Large hotel with a small european inn attention to customer service. We feel at home here when we visit from Virginia, and the reasonable rates include a full breakfast as well as the Wall Street Journal and USA Today. There is a Trader Joe Grocery across the street, and two excellent Italian restaurants adjacent to the hotel. On the weekends, St Philips Plaza is the site for lively food and craft markets.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rappahanneckjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
“Wonderful staff, great property and St. Philip’s Plaza location”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly service!

We are pleased to know you enjoyed the location of our property with the nearby restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We had reserved a room for a night after a medical procedure at the UA Medical Center. Windmill Suites gave us a special "medical" rate. Later in the day, when our doctor advised us to return home to Phx that night instead of staying over in Tucson, they released us from our reservation for no charge. Thanks, Amanda! We appreciated your customer-oriented policies and kindness.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
“Great customer service”

Dear Janet M,

Your review is most appreciated! Amanda will be recognized for her great customer service!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We travel to Tucson about every 3 months. We always stay at the Windmill Inn and Suites for the following reasons:

(1) Windmill is dog friendly and does not charge extra for a dog. At check-in, your dog receives a bag of dog biscuits.

(2) The hotel is located on Tucson's dry riverbed park. (Tucson has built miles and miles of walking trails along the bed of the Rioito River bed.) So, as soon as you walk out the door, you can walk for miles with your dog without ever encountering traffic or having to cross a road. The hotel is at the intersection of Campbell and River roads, a great location for visiting Tucson. On Saturdays, the plaza where the hotel is located has a lovely farmers' market.

(3) The pizza restaurant next to the hotel has a covered outdoor patio that is also dog friendly. Good food and not just pizza. The salads are great and the bottles of wine are 1/2 price after 8 p.m. Always a plus to find a great dog friendly hotel with a great dog friendly outdoor patio restaurant next door.

(4) A very complete breakfast is included at Windmill but the feature we love is that you can have coffee, muffin, juice and the newspaper delivered to your room in the mornings at no extra cost. We love waking up slowly before heading out for a long dog walk.

(5) The staff has always gone out of their way to help us and to correct any minor problems. I am really surprised by the earlier review I read on trip advisor that complained about a site manager being rude and condescending. The site manager we have dealt with has gone out of her way to help us with minor problems and to make our stays wonderful.

If you travel to Tucson with a dog, there really is no other place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
“Great dog friendly hotel”

Dear Ms. Pamela F,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed positive review of our Tucson property! Our team members and Karin, our General Manager, will be recognized for their outstanding service!

We are pleased you enjoyed the nearby restaurants, the walking path our breakfast buffet and our Windmill Inn Good MorningÔ delivered to your suite. We are also happy to know that you appreciate how we accommodate your needs while traveling with your pet.

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This is a hotel on the north side of Tucson, in St. Francis Plaza. The rooms are large and comfy and the price wasn't too steep given our March stay. We found two excellent restaurants withing walking distance, the Union Public House and Vivace Italian restaurant. Rumor has it the pizzaria in the same complex is also very good, but we ran out of time. While not downtown, the location isn't more than 15 minutes from the center of the city or the university. Make sure to get a fresh-baked cookie at or after 4pm -- they will bring a smile to your face. There is shopping across the street and a walking/bicycle path just outside the door.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KommissarKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
“Nice folks, well situated”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property located in the St. Philip’s Plaza. We will share your comments with our team members!

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness and comfort of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the location of our property with the nearby restaurants, shops and the walking/bicycle path and our cookies complimentary to our guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My bicycle group has stayed for the last three years at the Windmill Inn in Tucson, AZ, most recently in March 2013. They do a wonderful job for our group, we had over 24 bicycle riders staying at the hotel and everyone seemed quite happy. The rooms are very nice, comfortable and very large - a two room suite. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and they like bicyclists, they always offer to do anything to help us enjoy our trip. We do our happy hour and daily briefing in their small conference room with our food and beverage in their breakfast area. They also give us a nice group rate. The hotel is located in St. Phillips Plaza with restaurants, shops and its close to additional restaurants. They have a very nice breakfast and we all fuel up before going on our rides for the day. We will be returning next year. Our group couldn't be happier!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are easy to get your bicycle in and out. We like a room in the back away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgengstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
“A nice suites hotel in Tucson”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property! Our team members will be recognized for their customer service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the comfort and spaciousness of our suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the nearby shops and restaurants.

Thank you for being a loyal guest for the past three years! We look forward to continuing to be of service to you!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed here for five nights in sunny, warm April. Location is excellent - in St Phillips Plaza which has several restaurants, shopping, and quiet. A nice place close to many of Tucson's attractions. I'll get to more on the neighborhood in a minute but first let's talk about the hotel.

Very clean, surprisingly quiet (it's off-street from Campbell Ave which has very heavy traffic at ties). Staff has taken friendly lessons from Linda Kollmeyer (those of you who watch WGN will recognize her as one of the Lotto Ladies) - they are extremely pleasant and very helpful. Room was a small suite - living room/small kitchen with doors that close off the bedroom area. Bathroom accessible from both which is not always the case with suites - I liked this feature. Microwave, small fridge and small sink in kitchen area. Open window between kitchen area and living room with bar stools and counter at the window, very nice. Openable window - yay! In Tucson this is a nice feature in the cool evenings. Pool area well kept up, with fresh towels, area clean and pool and hot tub very clean. Breakfast included scrambled eggs and sausage and/or bacon every day, along with the usual yogurt, toast, make-your-own waffles, fruit, juice, coffee and pastries. I'm not a big breakfast eater so this was sufficient for me.

St Phillips Plaza has several restaurants - Vivace is high-end Italian, very good. Union Station is a sports pub with good eats. LIV is open only breakfast and lunch, sandwiches and soups, also very good. All have outdoor seating. The Plaza area is quiet and shaded and very pleasant.

Two more neighbors worth mentioning - in the title of this review. First, Trader Joe's is just a quick walk to the south. You don't have to cross busy Campbell Ave - there are bike/walking trails on both sides of the RIllito RIver, which is just to the south of St Phillips Plaza. The paths go under the bridge so you don't have to dodge traffic to get your TJs fix. For those not familiar with Tucson, Rillito River really only runs in monsoon season, or perhaps some winters when it rain hard and long, most of the times its a dry wash. But --- it is home to thousands of bats, who live under the Campbell Ave bridge. I invite you to go out in the evening, near the bridge on the bike trail, and about 15 min after sunset they start coming out. It's not a big flurry of activity all at once but a steady stream of the cute little creatures. (However, I understand that in May, when they all come back from various migrations, there is a big cloud of them and it's spectacular!) Anyway, be assured that these little Mexican Fruit Bats will NOT hurt you, will NOT bite you. They're looking for food (they're the main pollinators of Sahuaros, IIRC) and they have their own sonar system and don't especially want to mess with you. If you feel particularly brave, stand *under* the bridge on the walkway during all this and you'll hear their little chirps (part of the sonar - in the range we puny humans can hear) as they fly all around. Pretty neat-o.

Back to the review. If there is any drawback to this hotel and it's nice location is the access to Campbell and River Drives. In traffic, getting out of the Plaza onto Campbell is, well, challenging. It'll take awhile. You'll have to turn right (to the north). I suggest using the "back way" and getting out of the plaza onto River Rd, heading eastbound. If you want to go south or west, you'll have to make some detours and u-turns (which are not only allowed, but seem to be encouraged in Tucson. Strange.) -- but you'll get used to it.

Really liked this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perkypetfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
“Bats & Trader Joes are your neighbors”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive detailed feedback of our Tucson location! Our team members will be acknowledged for their extremely pleasant and helpful service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and quietness of our suite and the maintenance of our property. We are pleased the design of our suite accommodated your needs.

We are also happy to know that you enjoyed the location of our property with the nearby restaurants, shops and the Rillito River path.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
2.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
6.1 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Address: 4250 N Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85718-6580 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson
Homewood Suites By Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing