We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Ranked #8 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Green Valley, Arizona
1 review
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I was here for three nights while attending a sewing retreat. I had a wonderful stay thanks to the great staff. EVERYONE was friendly, courteous, and helpful. The suite was spacious and comfortable. The sitting room was great when sharing a room with a friend. Beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. There is central air conditioning that is so much better than the under- the- window units. The location of the hotel was convenient to some wonderful restaurants and shopping. I did not use the pool, but it was conveniently located and appeared clean and well maintained. I have never had such a positive stay at a hotel. The staff here are so guest- oriented. I will be back to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GramE64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
“Great hotel”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property! Our team members will be acknowledged for their exceptional customer service!

Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the location of our property.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    190
    53
    13
    14
See reviews for
252
253
56
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Arrived at the end of a 1800 mile road-trip to relax a bit. Check-in super friendly. Suite well thought out, good fridge & coffee maker, comfortable sitting area, and really comfortable beds. Good free wifi throughout Hotel. Handy pool area & hot tub. Very quiet. Old-style big box TV sets need to be upgraded to modern flat-screens. Fold-out bed in lounge seriously uncomfortable - needs thicker mattress. Location - St Philips Plaza has a top rated Italian restaurant (Vivace) (not tried) and a great pub (Union Pub) tried twice - highly recommended! 10 minutes drive to Tucson Mall & high-end shopping. 30 minutes drive to PIMA air museum and Davis-Monthan USAF base. Overall very good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madjanner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
“Four nights in Tucson”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property. Our team members will be acknowledged for their friendly service.

We appreciate your comments regarding the design and quietness of our suite. We are pleased you enjoyed our comfortable beds and pool area.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My sisters and I were in Tucson for a funeral and chose this hotel because of the location. We were not disappointed. The rooms were spacious and clean. We liked having a vanity area outside the actual bathroom...particularly helpful when traveling with three women. We had a first floor room with a small patio so we could enjoy our early morning coffee outside. The breakfast in the lobby was excellent. The staff was very helpful! What more can I say? Stay at this hotel if you are in the Tucson area. Our only complaint...we had trouble with the door keys but once that problem is corrected I would change my review to excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
“Very nice hotel”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our Tucson Windmill! Our team members will be recognized for their hospitality!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness, spaciousness and design of our suite. We are pleased you enjoyed our patio suite and the breakfast buffet.

Thanks for bringing to our attention the issue with the door keys. Our maintenance department is currently working on this.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This was a very nice place to stay. Everything looked new and clean. The lobby was very large and was nicely decorated. The pool is outside and has some pretty trees around it, and we saw night hawks diving in the air above the pool on the night we were there. The staff member who checked us in, Crystal, was especially friendly and helpful. The rooms are quiet, and in our room you could enter the bathroom from either the bedroom or the living room area. There was also a very small kitchenette area. Breakfast is served for free in the lobby.

The main negative I can think of is that they don't have queen-sized beds. That is normally a requirement for us, and I actually didn't realize they didn't have them until I was checking in. Our room faced the outside, but there was no inner curtain on the window, so if we opened the curtain, people on the sidewalk just outside the window could see into our room. The sofa bed linen seemed dirty to our son, so he slept on an air mattress.

Overall, though, this is a nice hotel, and we would recommend it.

Now, for a really great part of our stay - my daughter left her new sandals in the room, and when we arrived home from our vacation, there was a message on our answering machine letting us know that they had found them. Although more than a week had passed since they left the message, when I returned the call, they still had the sandals. Thank you for having such honest staff members and cleaning people! This really says a lot about your hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetheUSA76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
“Nice, new pretty. No queen beds. Great and honest staff!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your detailed positive review! Crystal and our team members will be recognized for their friendly and helpful service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and design of our suite.

Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the sofa bed linen. We have addressed this with our housekeeping staff, as this is not Windmill’s standard of service.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

First time that I have stayed a the Windmill Suites Tucson and I am pleasantly surprise with the outstanding customer service from all the employees of that hotel. Lovely rooms and very clean, excellent location, very clean a nice. Congratulations!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
“Outstanding Service!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their outstanding customer service!

We appreciate your comment regarding the cleanliness of our suite. We are pleased you enjoyed the location of our property.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TUCSON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I booked a block of rooms for my daughter's wedding guests. Most were coming from the east coast. They were surprised and delighted with the Windmill! The rates were great, the people were friendly and helpful and the services offered were beyond their expectations. They were
close to everything and were able to enjoy the surrounding shops and Sunday farmer's market
as well. The only drawback was not being able to head south when leaving the complex.
Guests enjoyed the pool and hot tub, and used the hotel to get wedding attire steamed and
pressed. Can't say enough good things about the Windmill.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
“Great Experience!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our Tucson location! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly and helpful service!

We are pleased our services were beyond your guests’ expectations and that they enjoyed our pool and hot tub and the nearby shops.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We value your patronage and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I have been a frequent visitor to Tucson and the Windmill. It only gets better with age. The property is well-taken care of, and the friendly, accommodating service makes you feel truly welcome. From a basket of apples at the reception desk to warm to just-baked cookies in late afternoon, an attentive staff ensures your visit will be pleasant. The suites are spacious, so you can kick back and relax on the living room couch, or crash on a comfortable bed. The mini-fridge and microwave make living easy. And, the complimentary breakfast offers almost anything a hungry traveler might wish for. Location, location, location...St. Philips Plaza is nestled into the Catalina foothills and convenient to everything. Walk outside your door to discover a titillating assortment of shops and fine restaurants.

Room Tip: Lanai offers a patio on ground level facing the pool. All rooms are well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
“Let your wandering spirit unwind at Windmill”

Dear Ms. Sandy H.,

Your positive detailed review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our comfortable bed, breakfast buffet and the location of our property with the nearby shops, restaurants and local attractions.

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
4.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#24 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
2.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
2.6 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Address: 4250 N Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85718-6580 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson
Homewood Suites By Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing