We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the Windmill Suites when we took our son to check in to the U of A this summer. It was a great location at a great price. The beds were surprisingly comfortable and the room was spacious. The elevator in the wing we stayed at was a little retro - really small and looked like an after thought in the design but it was functional and got us to the floor we needed. Over all I would recommend this place for a weekend stay when visiting Tucson or your student at the U of A. The local is perfect. We also got to enjoy the Farmer's Market that was taking place in the plaza on Saturday morning. That was an added treat we didn't expect but really enjoyed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

“Great Value”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson Windmill!

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness of our suite. We are pleased you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the location of our property.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!

Sincerely,
Windmill Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here the first week of August for a softball tournament. The hotel has easy access in a cute shopping center. There is a Trader Joes across the street, and other shopping is close by. The free breakfast in the morning was the perfect way to start our day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious, and included a kitchenette with a refrigerator and microwave. The best part of this hotel, in my opinion, was the beds! By far the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Even better than a Hilton bed. I slept like a baby all seven nights of our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Tuscon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OTH348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

“So comfortable!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly and helpful service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, our comfortable beds and the location of our property.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at Windmill Suites. We were getting our daughter moved in to U of A and spent 3 days. The motel is conveniently located, very quiet, has all the needed amenities and spacious, well kept rooms. It's layed out very well, with easy access to parking and the pool no matter where your room is. The hot breakfast is great, and they never run out of anything. The staff is excellent, very helpful, and Sara at the front counter is welcoming and kind. We'll be staying at Windmill every time we head down to see our daughter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

“Pleasant Stay”

Dear Mr. Ken C.,

Thank you for your positive review! Sara and our team members will be recognized for their customer service!

We are pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, the design and spaciousness of our suite and the location of our property.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re in Tucson!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

First time with Windmill Suites. Located in a pretty plaza. Trader Joe's across the street. Sara greeted me with a smile on arrival, was very friendly and quickly explained hotel policies. I had requested a 3rd floor room, but was assigned a 2nd floor room. She referred me to the front desk, and assured me that they would do their best to accomodate me. Victoria processed my check-in, and was very pleasant and helpful. She consulted with Crystal, the manager, who was also very nice, and they found me a third floor room. As other reviewers have said, the hotel does show it's age, but the lobby and room were very clean overall. The hallways were warm, but the a/c in the room was cold, with a separate thermostat. As a light sleeper I am not a good traveler, but I had no noise issues from other rooms. The bed was very comfortable. The closet was tiny, but the bathroom was larger than often found, and the fridge (cold) & microwave were in a walk-in wet bar. Only cleanliness complaint was a hair in one bed, fortunately, none found in the other one. Also should vacuum behind tv stand, dusty. I didn't eat the breakfast but it looked decent, eggs, sausage, etc. I go to Tucson every year for a convention, and will be calling Windmill Suites next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

“Will definitely go back”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your review of our Tucson location! Sara, Victoria and Crystal will be recognized for their hospitality!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the location of our property.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your suite not being properly cleaned. We have addressed this issue with our housekeeping department.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My family and I (two adults, one toddler) stayed there courtesy of Priceline.com. We would've never known of the hotel otherwise. It is located near shopping and amenities, convenient to get to, and quite lovely. The room was very clean, the beds and pillows very comfortable, temperature ideal. Our toddler frequently wakes through the night, but this time there wasn't a peep out of him. Perhaps he was exhausted from the trip, but it sure is a testament to the quality of the beds. We were initially double charged, paid through Priceline and the hotel itself, but the mistake was quickly and efficiently corrected by the general manager, Karen Phillips. All in all, a great stay! And the breakfast was pretty good as well. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swiss_mex31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

“Very nice”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Tucson location! Our General Manager will be recognized for resolving the reservation issue to your satisfaction!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our suite. We are pleased you enjoyed our comfortable beds and pillows and the location of our property with the nearby shopping.

We value your patronage and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,
Windmill Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Good value, good buffet breakfast, beds have been updated....a critical element in any decent hotel today. The hotel is definitely a little older, but they have kept it in good pretty good shape. However, I was really surprised that they haven't updated the tv's to flat screen HD models, especially in the living room! That's a real downer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chattboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

We appreciate your comments regarding the value of our hotel and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This its not a luxury hotel or whatsoever,but it has all the details and service to make your trip a nice one. The room its divided in three: the bathroom(there is an access from the bedroom and the living room),the living room with a tv and the bedroom with another tv.
All was very clean and the matresses were good.
When we made the check in,there was complimentary cookies.
The breakfast is very good! Yes,the eggs are powder eggs,but still there is sausage,fruits,yogurth,waffles,pastries,tea,coffee and juice. We notice there was a spill of food and beverages(it was crowded),but the service lady clean it up just before we notice again.
The location its perfect. Near malls and restaurants. We leave on a sunday,and notice that in the square next to the hotel,there was a little organic fair.
Its a good value!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

“Perfect mid-range hotel!”

Dear Ms. Cristina F.,

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay at our Tucson property!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and design of our suites. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the location of our property with the nearby malls and restaurants.

We value your patronage and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,
Windmill Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
4.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,010 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#23 of 129 in Tucson
1,196 reviews
13.6 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#8 of 129 in Tucson
918 reviews
6.1 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Address: 4250 N Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85718-6580 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £97 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson
Homewood Suites By Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing