We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, unresponsive front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Ranked #8 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Clean room, unresponsive front desk”
Reviewed 7 April 2009

The room was huge--a sort of suite--and clean but without character.
When I arrived to check in, the clerk was on the phone with a supervisor, and stayed on the phone, on and on, while I waited. If I were his supervisor I'd want him to say, "I have a customer, I'll call you back." When he finally waited on me he did apologize.
I asked for an especially quiet room. He put me next to several roaring soda and ice machines. When will hotels learn that trying to sleep next to these machines isn't "quiet"? I should have asked for a different room, but I was so tired I decided just to go to bed.
The bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast included--fruit, cereal, self-made waffles, hard-boiled eggs, rolls, Danish, coffee, juice.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    191
    54
    13
    14
See reviews for
257
256
56
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle, washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2009

A great place to stay if single, family, or disabled. Located in a pretty shopping center with fountains in north end of Tuscon, easy to find if new to area. Lobby is comfy and cheerful with ice water, coffee and tea 24 hours, eggs, juice, waffles, toast, cereal and pastry + for breakfast. Rooms have separate living room, small kitchen with microwave and fridge, couch, writing desk. Very clean. Pool and hot tub are great to ways to relax, quiet and pleasant. First floor great if in wheelchair or walking-challenged! Staff is helpful and friendly. Rates are reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Windmill Inn has great rooms/suites and a very friendly, helpful staff. Two TVs in two rooms was great...my daughter could watch what she wanted, and so could I [plenty of decent stations to choose from...including the Disney Channel, a winner if you have kids]. Small refrigerator, microwave and small sink were in a small room...very convenient. The stand-alone sink between bedroom and bathroom was another positive feature. Breakfast was fine...you could make a waffle, choose from several cereals, have some orange juice, fruit, hard boiled eggs, etc. The Windmill offers you a chocolate chip cookie sometime after 4 pm each day... all you have to do is stop by the desk and ask for it. The staff allowed us to check in early and leave late...we have a special needs child, and we really appreciated the Windmill's willingness to do that for us. Plenty of parking...right next to the hotel. We'll definitely stay at the Windmill the next time we're in Tucson...and heartily recommend it...it was a great value for us, as we were able to obtain a relatively low room rate via their website.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wxgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

we were very glad we found this hotel on trip advisor, it met our needs beautifully. the continental breakfast was great, the staff friendly, the grounds very nice. we had a king suite which allowed room for my husband, myself and my grown son on the pullout couch in his own room. hotel was very busy during spring training/spring break time but managed to accomodate all well, except we never got those free cookies!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimcht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Definitely a good hotel. Rooms are clean and spacious. Complimentary continental breakfast has some nice touches, such as hard boiled eggs and a waffle maker. Seemed like a good value, though my friend and I had a special, pre-negotiated rate for a wedding. Staff was cordial. Location didn't seem very central, though I don't know Tucson very well. Was next to a popular bike trail.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrh825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2009

It was the best four day trip I've ever had. It was suggested by a friend and I was amazed! The suites were both comfortable and spacious, as well as clean and beautiful. The staff was superb: professional, polite, knowledgeable, and the went above and beyond. The front desk found us great places to visit and wonderful restaurants to experience. They took care of our every need. I've been to such a wonderful place. It was quiet, relaxing and the pool was heated to the perfect temperature. This is a must visit!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingmaester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We stayed at the St Philip's Plaza Windmill for the Gem and Mineral show and were very happy with the accomodations and the wonderful staff. The location is great and you are conveniently located by shopping and great restaurants. St. Philips Plaza hosts a Farmers market every weekend and it was great to browse and buy lotions, pecans, coffee, breakfast, jewelry and fat juicy strawberries and other produce for reasonable prices. The staff are very nice and there are delicious chocolate chip cookies at the front desk every afternoon. The Windmill is an older hotel but the room is clean and things in the room were in working condition. It was quiet on the floor I was on even though the lobby was packed with people enjoying breakfast and the Farmers Market. The hotel is on the 15 mile walking path and is also within walking distance of Starbucks and Sullivan's Steakhouse. I will stay there when I am back in Tucson.

  • Liked — The central location.
  • Disliked — Sticky pocket door.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kdtAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
3.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
951 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
681 reviews
2.6 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Address: 4250 N Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85718-6580 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson
Homewood Suites By Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing