We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plain, Simple, and Easy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive
Ranked #33 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Tucson
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Plain, Simple, and Easy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Husband and I needed a place to crash after a New Year's party and with the way every other hotel skyrocketed their prices for the night, we were happy to find Crossland had not.

--We got a single double bed room, the bed was plenty large enough for the both of us (it's only slightly smaller than a queen). The blankets on the bed were thin, but clean and more than able to keep us warm. The mattress was very firm, which I liked, but my husband prefers soft mattresses, so he hated it. The mattress also made a ton of noise whenever one of us moved. The pillows were of medium firmness and nice and a fluffy.
--Heat/AC unit is in the room so you can control it.
--The room has a two burner stove, microwave, coffee pot, mini fridge with freezer, cutting board, pot and pan, plates, bowls, silverware, can opener, ETC...Just the basics for a little kitchenette, which was great since we got to make our own breakfast in the morning (saves money!).
--There's a small open closet by the bed with extra towels placed in it.
--The bathroom contained two sets of body and hand towels as well as two wash clothes. There was another towel to serve as a mat in the shower. Soap for the sink and shower were provided. There are also extra toilet paper rolls in the bathroom if you needed. There was only a shower unit (no tub).
--One thing I wanted to note was while the room itself was totally spotless and clean, the shower needed to be rinsed & cleaned a little better. There were hairs and fibers on the bottom of it.
--The room has an older television with basic cable channels, I believe there was also some paper per view options available.
--We had a single table/desk with one chair, a single nightstand, and a dresser in the room for furniture. The walls were also bare except for one picture above the bed, but I think that would be good for an extended guest who may need to use the walls to tape up pictures, papers, ETC
--We also saw coin washer and dryer units down with the ice and vending machines, so you can do laundry.
--Yes, trains do go by every half hour or so, however, that is in no way, shape, or form the hotel's fault (in fact, you can hear the trains from all of the hotels in the area). My husband, who is an extremely light sleeper, had absolutely no issues sleeping through the trains.
--The gentlemen at the front desk in the morning when we checked out was very polite and funny. The young lady who had checked us in the night before seemed a little bored and underwhelmed (but maybe this was because she was working on New Year's Eve).
--You set up your house keeping needs (there's cards in the room explaining everything).
--It put us at only a 10 minute drive from where our party was on Broadway and only a 15 min-ish drive from the Tucson Mall, which was very nice.

Overall, it's a nice hotel. Nothing fancy, but very straightforward and well priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnufflesandHuggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Crossland Tucson - Butterfield Drive. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. As you know, our unique suites are designed with you in mind. Offering amenities like a refrigerator, stovetop, in-room wifi access, personalized voicemail, and on-premise laundry in exceptionally priced rooms has led us to be the premier extended stay option in the industry. And with guests like you, we will continue to thrive.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    8
    11
    13
    24
See reviews for
13
15
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Crossland and we did not know what to expect but we had an absolutely great experience! My advice for the ones who are expecting a "full service hotel experience" is go somewhere else where the hotel is classified as a full service hotel. This is what you get: a room with a kitchenette and utensils (pots, pans) It is a studio. They are affiliated with Extended Stay and it works the same. No housekeeping services, you can take your used towels and exchange them for clean ones. In other words, it is like your own studio apartment and clean it. None of the stuff you get at a traditional hotel. I recommend this hotel and we will be using it frequently from now on!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Crossland Tucson - Butterfield Drive. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

So many "NQR (Not Quite Right) Factors that I will not choose them again. Here's the laundry list: our non-smoking room smelled of smoke and had cigarette burns on the bedspread; they gave us a new room but it still smelled funny. Shower in room above us was leaking into our shower causing huge ballon of water under the paint, with drips nad eyesore. Trash and beer cans were strewn about the grounds. Fridge did not work; they eventually brought a new one 4 hrs later than promised. Missing kitchennete plates, silverware, etc.; we had to forage for enough cooking utensiles to prepare meals. The bright spot was the front desk woman who tried like make things right, however, the poor maintenance and shoddy upkeep were apparently beyond her control. Had this facility been clean and properly maintained, I would have far more favorable comments.

Room Tip: Be prepared for no pool, no ice machine, no restaurant, and train whistles at all hrs of the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethsalamanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience at our hotel. Providing for your total satisfaction, from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart, is my staff's primary duty. Hearing that we failed in your case is truly disheartening, and for that, I offer you my sincerest apology.

Please understand that maintain strict quality control standards, which demand that every room is inspected prior to making it available to our guests. Clearly there was a failure in our system during your stay. In response to your comments, I’ve personally met with all of our staff and used your review to demonstrate in which specific areas we can improve. As well, I apologize for the outside disturbances you experienced. We try to ensure our guests are not affected; however, some sounds are out of our control.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

My stay here at Crossland has been very pleasant and comfortable. The staff respects your privacy but if you need service, housekeepers and maintenance personnel provide it promptly and courteously. At the same time, the manager is highly organized, has impeccable manners and attends to every detail of his job meticulously. And one of the housekeepers at Crossland deserves special attention in this review--Maria!
Maria cleans your room spotlessly and if you are a little quirky and want something done like you do it at home, she pampers you graciously. Maria has, to put it another way, a radiant personality that makes guests feel like they are part of her family.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordongreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
"Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Crossland Tucson - Butterfield Drive. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

In today's world, people look for the negative things when renting. I have the most wonderful experience when I stayed at Crossland. Dan the manager and his staff are not only professional, they are friendlly, curtious and responsive to the needs that I had. I think that kudo's are appropriate when you speak to this staff.

In corporate america, we tend to look for fault instead of the positive. This was a very positive experience. Let your staff know.

BA

Room Tip: I think that queen size beds should be available in quantiy. Especially if you are a long term resi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce-Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Crossland Tucson - Butterfield Drive. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

If you are looking for a nice hotel to stay at in Tucson, AZ then Crossland is the place. Their rates are extremely affordable. Each room offers a stove and a refrigerator which makes traveling a lot less expensive because instead of having to eat out everyday you can cook in the rooms. Our room was very clean and had a nice smell to it which did surprise me. The staff there is very friendly and always willing to answer any questions. There was one gentleman in particular that went out of his way to make us feel more comfortable and at home. I believe his name was Dan. He was always busy with either helping guests or picking up the property. He did an awesome job at keeping the outside of the property clean and neat. When I come back to Tucson I will definitely stay again and will recommend it to friends and family. Everyone should check this hotel out if they will be staying in Tucson!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Crossland Tucson - Butterfield Drive. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Nice affordable accommodation for few days.It is a clean place with all the neccesities.The staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 786Nazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Crossland Tucson - Butterfield Drive. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our company motto is "Excellence Every Day, Every Way", and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice; after all, that's how Extended Stay Hotels(sm) got to be the largest extended stay lodging brand in North America.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#72 of 128 in Tucson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
6.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tucson - Grant Road
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport
0.3 mi away
Studio 6 Tucson
Studio 6 Tucson
#68 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tucson South
Red Roof Inn Tucson South
#77 of 128 in Tucson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive

Property: Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive
Address: 4800 S Butterfield Dr, Tucson, AZ 85714-3405 (Formerly Crossland - Tucson)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crossland Tucson - Butterfield Drive. We're located right off of Interstate 10 and across the street from the Tucson Expo Center. Our hotel is just 4 miles from Tucson International Airport. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring kitchens or kitchenettes and plenty of work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Tucson
Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing