We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Saguaro National Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Gold Poppy Inn
Ranked #33 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Best Western PLUS Gold Poppy Inn, Tucson is: convenient to Saguaro National Park and only a few exits from downtown; an excellent value, and very clean. The staff are friendly and professional and the breakfast is okay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naina N, Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Our staff and I appreciate your stay with us and that you had enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again when you visit Tucson again.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed for 3 nights while visiting relatives in Tucson and found this hotel to be perfect for our needs.The hotel is newly remodeled and a very clean facility. Other reviewers complained about the train noise but I brought a sound machine and never was bothered by it. They do supply earplugs and play up the history of the trains coming to Tucson to help build the city,cute. The bed was comfortable and a great showerhead. I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beadsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naina N, Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for mentioning the history of the train and appreciating our hotel cleanliness.
I will share this with my staff and we all hope to see you again when you visit Tucson again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed there because we had stayed there in the past when I have to go to Tucson for medical procedures. We have found the staff to be OUTSTANDING. For the price I don't think you can find a better property ANYWHERE. The rooms are a nice size and EXTREMELY clean and well-maintained. As someone else said the pool is small, but for us that wasn't a problem. I, too, am gluten intolerant, but never really expect to be able to eat at the free breakfasts. The GM was very apologetic that she had no gluten free items and I appreciated that she took the time to determine this for me. Great location.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker there is even a nice outside smoking area with patio tables and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cglmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naina N, Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us and you had enjoyed your stay. I will share this response of
your stay with us with my staff and we hope to see you again when you visit Tucson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Spent two nights there. The location was good. The rooms were not spacious, but they were clean. The breakfast was poor, my daughter has gluten allergies, and they had nothing for her so we had to go elsewhere to eat. The pool was small and in a bad location. The staff were friendly though, but I don't think that we would return. Too expensive for what you got!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naina N, Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

We thank you for staying with us and you have found our staff very helpful. We sincerely
apologize for not having gluten free food, we rarely have somebody ask for it, but
we will keep in mind of the same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights. Had a room opposite the freeway, room was quiet. Clean. Can access Saguaro without going on the Interstate from Ina Rd. Breakfasts were good. Cheese Omelets one day (my hubby hates cheese), but regular scrambled eggs next day, waffles, etc. Denny's is within walking distance. Price was right. Internet service good. Adequate selection of TV channels. Plugs available on bedside and desk lamps.

Room Tip: Ask for opposite freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naina N, Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us and you had enjoyed your stay and our breakfast.
We hope to see you again when you visit Tucson again.
Naina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

At check in I asked for additional coffee pods because my Husband and I are huge coffee drinkers and the receptionist gave me an attitude and was hesitant. There was a train close by and it was kind of annoying but they did give us ear plugs to accommodate us. We left pretty early and missed the breakfast and the receptionist at check out was kind enough to send us with danishes to go! Love that about this hotel, love where employees go out of their way. That is so rare nowadays.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Latisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naina N, Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us, I apologize for the front desk but we will make sure it does
not happen again.
Naina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed here en route to USA from Mexico and was very impressed with every aspect. The breakfast was good too though I would have liked a little more nutrition in the scrambled eggs, say some fresh tomatoes to add but that's being picky. The cleanliness and quality of bedding, amenities and free wifi in room make this my go-to hotel in Tucson from now on. Very nice quiet reception, a smile and quick processing. The new key system is the same as a card and worked well. Good satellite TV range too. They even supply ear-plugs as there is the sound of Amtrak whistle way in the distance but I thought that was really soothing rather than noisy and couldn't hear the freeway at all overnight. There is a Denny's (walking distance) next door that gives discounts on meals to guests.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank WendyRJarretaderas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naina N, Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

We thank you staying with us at the Best Western Plus Gold Poppy Inn, Tucson, AZ., and that
you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the room. We hope to see you again when you visit
Tucson again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tucson
Candlewood Suites Tucson
#56 of 129 in Tucson
75 reviews
16.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Tucson Int'l Airport Hotel & Suites
5.7 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites NW Tucson Marana
5.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
6.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at Tucson Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gold Poppy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Poppy Inn

Address: 4930 W Ina Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743-8633 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#38 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £50 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gold Poppy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Road closure on I-10/Ina intersection. Please contact hotel for alternate routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Gold Poppy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Hotel Tucson
Comfort Inn Tucson
Tucson Comfort Inn
Best Western Gold Poppy Inn Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing