We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“views lovely, big pools, lousy food and service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“views lovely, big pools, lousy food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

The stay here was disappointing. For a "luxury" hotel, the rooms had noisy old heating / cooling systems. The views are lovely and the location is spectacular, 5 pools, including a lap pool is heavenly, the tennis courts are gorgeous and the workers friendly. However, the food was awful and the service dreadfully slow. The whole place could use renovation. It is becoming jaded and faded.........

Room Tip: ask for not a ground floor room. These have people walking by, some are dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for your posting. We will certainly work on these areas and would hope you will come back to visit and see us soon. I wish you continued safe travels. Remain well, Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,679
    561
    246
    135
    71
See reviews for
649
638
110
913
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

As a frequent guest to this and many Starwood properties, I highly recommend this resort when you visit Tucson. It is centrally located to a lot of great activities, has amazing views, outstanding on site venues and the service is what you would expect from a Westin and Starwood property.

Valet parking is not mandatory, self parking is convenient and complimentary. Guest rooms have been recently renovated and upgraded with the latest gadgets and wifi is now included in the resort fee, when you condsider your laptop, mobile phone and iPad you need, is cool.

Service has always been a mainstay here. The Janos and J Bar crew always recognize you being there and Trevor in the J Bar is definitely worth a visit! Michael Kaiser in F&B and Azul looks out for his guests and personally went out of his to take care of me and my family.

Room Tip: Be nice at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood Hotels and resorts. I appreciate that you posted the many reasons you enjoy staying at La Paloma. I look forward to having you return soon to Tucson and La Paloma. I wish you continued safe travels. Remain well, Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

First, this hotel is beautiful; breathtaking, and the service is the best so far. Two special staff members you should ask for if you visit. Daniel the daytime manager of Azul Restaurant - always smiling, kind, and super attentive of our group; you can tell he simply lovesssss his job. Juanita, the maid from rooms 4s and 5s (mine was 519); kind and humble, she could make your day with her smile and tenderness. She was sooooooo nice to me, I even felt sad when I left; she is the kind of person that you know has worked hard to get where she is. This Westin truly makes a difference simply by having the right personnel for the right tasks. 5 Stars to Daniel and Juanita and to a wonderful service.

Velmarie Merced
Puerto Rico

Room Tip: Mine was 519. The view of the city and mountains is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Velmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to compliment the many associates that made your recent stay so special. We greatly appreciate this recognition. They will be here as well as I to welcome you back the next time you’re at La Paloma. I wish you continued safe travels. Remain well, Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

La Paloma was absolutely wonderful. The service was awesome. The facility was beautiful, breathtaking. The food and bar beverages were fabulous. Great tennis, golf and workout centers too. We totally relaxed and enjoyed every moment we were there!

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms are good. The place was spread out and seemed very quiet in our room as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for your posting. We hope to see you soon for more relaxation and rejuvenation. I wish you continued safe travels. Remain well, Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atoka, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

So relaxing. Perfect for everyone. Plenty of activities in the local area to go do. The several pools well staffed, and very inviting. A waterslide for the kids and young at heart is a fun splash, too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for choosing La Paloma for your travels. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the pools. I wish you continued safe travels. Remain well, Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Played the golf course (Hill and Canyon nines) for the first time in October 2011. Each hole was interesting and challenging but fair (if you play the right tees for your game). Course had just been reseeded and was in great shape. The greens on the Hill nine were very undulating. Tremendous views of the Catalina Mountains on both nines and neat changes in elevation on the Canyon nine. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Kevin Crawley in the pro shop took great care of us. Just a fantastic time if you love golf.

The bonus is that the hotel restaurants/bars are as good as they get. I have been there several times. Fantastic food, as good as Tucson has to offer. Nice way to cap off a great day of golf.

A fantastic experience. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for your posting. I’m glad to see you had a chance to enjoy the Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course. I look forward to seeing you back out on the courses or relaxing afterwards in Azul. I wish you continued safe travels. Remain well, Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful! The water slide and the swim up bar were nice!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for posting how much you enjoyed La Paloma. I hope to see you enjoying the pools again soon. I wish you and your friends continued safe travels. Remain well, Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.0 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#22 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
3.8 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
7.3 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
3.7 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Property: Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Green Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Starwood, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin
Westin La Paloma Resort And Spa Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing