We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the Catalina Foothills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #19 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed for five nights as part of a business meeting that kept us busy morning to night, so there was almost no opportunity to explore the facilities. It is an interesting place... it is the largest resort or hotel I have ever stayed at, with a large number of swimming pools, tennis courts, golf club and a fitness club, all spread out over a number of buildings covering a very extended area. The fitness club was well equipped with weight room, cardio room, racquetball court, a snack bar, and very classy change rooms... and all included with the resort fee (which was also waived for our conference group -- a good thing as almost nobody had time for any of the resort amenities).

I was there in in early December, and the resort was close to deserted. And because it was off season, and because we were staying at a conference rate, the room rental was unbelievably cheap, and not that much more than a Day's Inn in Canada. During high season, the room rate would be very much higher. The room itself was large and well equipped, and I found the bed very comfortable. The "slow" free wi-fi was easily fast enough for me to download documents quickly. So in terms of value for money for the room, it was outstanding.

As others have pointed out, the food is not discounted even if the rooms are, so it is very expensive to eat in the hotel - and without a car, there are not a lot of other options: it is a long way from town. That said, I found the food to be excellent at almost every meal though the service was very slow a couple of times (though breakfasts were ready very quickly). The food that was served in conference meals was great and the service was quick and efficient.

I found the staff all very friendly and eager to help.

Room Tip: The rooms are located in many buildings around the property, such that takes a few minutes to walk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for sharing. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your business trip. I’m disappointed to read the long hours in meetings did not allow you to enjoy our wonderful weather and numerous outdoor amenities. As you were able to look, but not experience, I look forward to having you return to enjoy the golf, tennis and fitness center. After the revitalizing play we have the heated pool, AZuL dining and the Red Door Spa to rejuvenate. A few days at The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa for renewal is well deserved. Call us to reserve your next getaway to Tucson. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,506 - 1,512 of 2,891 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Thank you to GM Glen Sampert! Beautifully remodeled property! Fabulous and friendly staff! Amazing food at the Azul Restaurant. It was a wonderful anniversary weekend! Highly recommended for leisure or for business!

Room Tip: Jill in service express is pleasant and friendly for all your needs. Kym in the Azul lounge is knowl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for sharing with us. I’m glad you enjoyed our renewed Resort along with our exceptional staff. I hope to see you back for many more memorable occasions. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Not a terrible experience but not good either. We had our men's lunch group Christmas event there and there were no Christmas decorations. Not even one light. There were a Few trees in the hotel lobby but you had to go out of the way to find them. One half our group was finished with their lunch before the other half were even served. I had a simple Caesars salad that was soggy for $14. Waiters were no where to be found through most of the meal. For supposedly a high class place it was mediocre to poor.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank MactheHandiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ops_Mgr85, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for joining us in Azul Restaurant. The experience you describe is certainly not the standard to which we aspire. Our Restaurant management team is focused on honing their service by working in tandem and together with our associates to ensure no circumstance creates a poor experience for even a single guest. Your feedback on our holiday decor is appreciated, and we will continue to expand the scope of the decorations in coming years which I hope you will return to enjoy. In the meantime, don't miss our Barrel Cactus Christmas Tree at the resort's porte cochere: 250 of our native cacti arranged in a one-of-a-kind holiday display that is authentically Arizona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Azul Restaurant/Lounge is amazing. We had over 60 people for cocktails and appetizers and the party couldn't have been more perfect. Morgan Barrick was invaluable, from helping to plan the party, to serving the guests and making everyone feel special. She is awesome! Rick, the bartender was great - funny, efficient and makes a great drink! Jonathan made sure that the party went as planned - great food, great space and professional staff. Thanks, La Paloma!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyhoeft11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Happy 50th! Thank you for choosing The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa for your celebration. I, along with our associates, appreciate you sharing how our staff provide the service that made your birthday a truly memorable evening. I look forward to seeing you, your family and friends back at AZuL in the very near future. We are here with a warm greeting and ready with great fare by Chef Michel and libations by Rick. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We were in Tucson for a family members birthday. While this hotel is not downtown it is an easy drive into town. The Westin's setting at the base of the Santa Catalina Mountains is beautiful. The grounds are well maintained and the rooms have been refreshed with the great Westin beds and a shower separate from the tub. The rain shower head is great. For the family to gather we upgraded to a suite with a separate seating area and half bath. There is a $20.00 resort fee that I personally hate. However, it did include a low speed wifi that worked just fine. Self parking is easy. Coffee and bottled water is also provided. The material indicates you get a newspaper each morning but in fact you have to ask. Also in high end hotels I am used to slippers but you have to ask. The golf course was great and is part of a country club so it is very well maintained. If you like a cocktail they make a very weak drink. Aside from some little peeves this is a very nice place to stay if budget is not your goal.

Room Tip: building G has a great view of downtown Tucson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments with us. Your feedback is invaluable, and has been shared with our associates as a method of continuing to make our guests stay even more pleasurable. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

On my visit to Tucson we stopped for the night at this hotel and the service was well and the hotel rooms were very great and very clean. Also the breakfast restaurant has many great delicious food that the entire family will enjoy

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

We know that you had many choices upon your arrival to Tucson, so thank you for your stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed the food, rooms and service. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

La Paloma in Tucson is amazing once u find it! The grounds are an OASIS, the rooms are amazing I was in the C bldg view of the golf course which is beautiful during the day but once the sun goes down it is as dark as dark can be, the only thing u can see is the stars. So my suggestion is find this place during the daytime! It is against the mountains and if you should not want to leave the grounds you don’t have to it has everything you could possibly want! Very modern lobby and bar area very large so if you are meeting people it is ideal. All the food I tried was very good, but the help is slow but friendly in the restaurant. We were seated for breakfast and no one noticed us for about 15 minutes when the manager a nice young man realized no one had helped us and immediately took care of us with a drink order. During our breakfast we never saw the same person twice. We later found out there is a large college program for the hospitality industry and most of the employees are interns so be patient with them :) everything was above board I loved the fire pits and the Pools were so appealing I wish we had more time to use them! I did however take advantage of their SPA Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa the masseuse was well informed and amazing her name is Marie ask for her! I look forward to seeing her and staying here again!

Room Tip: I would recommend the top floor we were on the second and you can hear the people above u walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginger6_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay. I am glad to read you were able to try many of the amenities we have to offer. With our cool fall evenings, the fire pits are perfect for an evening gaze at the stars with friends. I apologize for the slow service you encountered. This is definitely not typical of our friendly staff. I trust you will return soon for a vacation and have time to relax in our heated pool. I would like to have you back to La Paloma for your next trip to Tucson, rejuvenating at our desert oasis. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
6.2 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#15 of 129 in Tucson
1,032 reviews
3.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
5.5 mi away
El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort
10.4 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#9 Green Hotel in Tucson
#10 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#12 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £126 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin
Westin La Paloma Resort And Spa Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing