We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My amazing trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
“My amazing trip”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My husband and I recently traveled to Tucson and stayed at The Westin La Paloma... we have NOTHING but great things to say. First off, the resort is absolutely breath- taking with the views of the Catalina Mountains. The rooms were spectacular, I'm still dreaming of sleeping in those beds!!!! We are from the Pacific Northwest and absolutely were in awe we would be at the pool tanning in the middle of the day in January!!!

We enjoyed breakfast at Azul during our stay and had the pleasure of having Kelly as our server each time! She was so attentive each and every time and even took the time to get to know us! She recommended taking a drive up to Mt Lemmon for the views and then told us to stop by the "Cookie Cabin" for some chili and dessert after doing a little hiking and riding the ski lift to the top and boy was she right!!! The ride up there was beautiful and the views were stunning! If you are in Tucson and looking for something to do Mt Lemmon is a great designation. Thank you Kelly we hope to see you again some day.

Every person we encountered at La Paloma was so friendly we felt immediately at home. We can not wait to plan a couples trip with some friends to show them our new favorite destination!! Thank you Westin La Paloma, you have a new found place in our hearts!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your visit to The Westin La Paloma and Mount Lemon. As Tucson has such great, warm weather I hope you may break away from the Northwest winter cold to enjoy more sunshine at our pools. Tucson has many wonderful attractions to keep you exploring for days Contact us directly as we would be delighted to assist with creating a vacation package for you and your friends. I look forward to welcoming you back to Tucson and The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,688
    569
    249
    136
    74
See reviews for
655
648
110
917
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We opted for the non-service option hoping to do the environment some good... Well, this option means no service.

We called in at 1045pm asking for extra towels and then again at 1130pm. After over an hour after our original call, there is still no one here. It's late how busy can a place be???

Also called the front earlier in the day to ask about new towels and they said the staff had till 430 to give us those. I said come over at 4 and they never came!

So, come here again? No!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mckinneykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ops_Mgr85, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for having been our guest at The Westin La Paloma. The "Make A Green Choice" program is slightly different from other programs that allow guests to re-use linens and towels. MAGC is a program that eliminates all cleaning of the room since the cleaning of the shower, tub and floors is also a large water-user. The election of MAGC should not impact the responsiveness of our associates to requests from our guests and I regret that your experience was not good in this regard. I assure you that our guests have come to expect a much higher level of service at The Westin La Paloma because of the responsiveness of our associates. I sincerely hope that you will reconsider staying with us in the future so that we can provide a more typically wonderful visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent about 10 days at the resort the week of July 4th, 2013 and loved it. Firstly, customer service was amazing. Christina Caballero, who assisted went above and beyond . The resort has fabulous pools and the location is central to the North side of Tucson...Room was comfortable and food was very good. Beds just heavenly. Everyone at the resort were super nice making us feel comfortable immediately. This is my second stay there and we will be back if we could bring our dog the next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience with us. We are pet friendly, so you may bring your pet. Christina may assist you with your next reservation and ensure you have another wonderful stay. I look forward to having you return in 2014. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Wenatchee, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Beautiful resort, very friendly staff. Relaxed and comfortable. Rooms very peaceful, beds "heavenly". Zach at Azulla restaurant was excellent waiter making our dinner memorable. The prompt service and delicious food severed with a unbeatable view was a nice welcoming gift. First time to Tuscon but won't be our last.

Room Tip: We had a mountain view room, loved the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your first trip to Tucson and The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. Our “Westin Heavenly Beds & Baths” provide a night of luxurious comfort. I invite you back for your next vacation to Tucson. There are many more amenities for you to enjoy at our Resort. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

On January 17th I attended the SAHBA Awards Luncheon at the Westin La Paloma. The luncheon was incredible. The room was spacious and beautifully set, the meal was delicious. Our tables server was William Arce, William was incredible. His attention to detail and quality of service was quite impressive. I have not had service of this caliber provided by and individual since Tucson's only 5 star restaurant, the Tack Room, closed years ago.
William is an excellent example of what quality service should be. Service with a smile, kindness, and attention to detail that makes everyone feel special. thank you William and Thank you La Paloma for a wonderful Awards Luncheon.
Kathryn

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your compliments. Our associates take great pride in providing exceptional service to our guests. I look forward to having you return soon with friends and family and let us delight you with another wonderful dining experience. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We are having the best time here at La Paloma! We came to escape the cold of Colorado for a January weekend and were happily greeted by mid-70 degree weather. It's as if we were transported to a tropical vacation almost, yet still not far from home. The property is beautiful and quite convenient to the Saguaro National Park which is perfect for hiking, sightseeing from the tram, or a little of both.

Our 6 year old son had an absolute blast exploring the desert, then swimming and sliding at the pool and later at the on-site kids club where he enjoyed stargazing through a telescope and making s'mores with his counselors, Nikko, David and Erik. He was having so much fun, when we came to pick him up, he asked to leave so he could stay longer! The kids club gives parents a chance to have some couple time which is invaluable when you are on vacation.

We are feeling so lucky to be here and could easily come back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your fun family weekend at La Paloma. I’m glad everyone enjoyed their adventure to the Saguaro National Park along with the pool activities. Our Westin Kids Club provides great activities for the kids to learn and play. As The Kids Club is on site this provides more time for the parents to relax knowing the kids are close by and having a great time. As the winter cold continues, come back and stay to enjoy more of our sunny, warm days. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I was truly concerned on my previous stay at WLP that the resort was heading in the wrong direction with little hope that things would reverse. When I heard shortly after that visit that a new owner was taking over and was poised to pour a lot of money into the resort, I was hopeful. Now after my most recent visit, I can state without hesitation that the WLP is definitely back. The 40 year old sprawling property has a total facelift well underway and a whole new energy to it. I could see as soon as I checked in that the paved areas had been overhauled and that there was fresh paint and carpeting everywhere. When I got to my room in Building A, as I requested, it too was totally redone. It was as spacious as ever, but everything in the room was fresh and new. The bathrooms at this resort are amazing. They are so luxurious and relaxing. The Westin Heavenly beds are the most comfotable beds in the universe. Now when I was there the entire pool complex was being redone and there were temporary pool accomodations over at the country club. I am not a big pool goer, and I knew this was going to be the case when I booked, so I was not put out. Some guests were and I believe they were compensated for this necessary inconvenience. This resort is made up of a series of separated buildings, that house about 500 rooms and it all gives you the uncrowded feeling of ample space. Rooms at the back of the resort can have beautiful mountain views. Rooms on the sides can abut the spectacular golf course. The buildings in the center of the resort can overlook the NEW pool area. So there is a room for every taste and none of them will give you a bad look. I recommend having at least one meal at the Azul Restaurant. If you can get a table on the patio at breakfast, I guarantee you will not enjoy a more delicious breakfast with a better view. The mountains will make your frittata taste especially great. I am a golfer so I get out and enjoy the 27 hole Jack Nicklaus golf course that winds around the resort and associated neighborhoods. It is a great, desert design and it too has been brought back to greatness by the new ownership and the management team at Troon Golf. If you are not a golfer, WLP has that brand new pool complex, a large tennis center and a world class Elizabeth Arden Spa. The resort is located just north of downtown Tucson in the foothills. It is very easy to get to anything else in the area and it is in a very safe and friendly part of town. The staff is always happy to help you in every way and make recommendations. I still enjoy the Guadalajara Grill, that a WLP staffer urged me to try about 10 years ago. It is awesome Mexican fare. As far as I am concerned, there is no better place to stay in Tucson than the WLP. The resort has come back to its full glory and that will bring me back again and again.

Room Tip: Request the view - mountain, pool, golf course or garden - that best suits your taste. They will mak...
See more room tips
Green Features: The green option that lets you opt out of housekeeping and get a reward is very popular.
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DT705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for your continued loyalty and sharing your review of our rejuvenated Resort. The energy from this revitalization resonates in every area of the hotel. As you noted not only were the guestrooms completely remodeled,in addition the golf course, fitness center, pools, restaurants and meeting rooms have also been renewed to a new level of luxury. I’m delighted to read we turned your hopeful thoughts into a positive conclusion. We will be celebrating our 28th Anniversary this month. We may have looked 40, but not anymore! I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.2 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
931 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
5.2 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
3.4 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Property: Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Green Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin
Westin La Paloma Resort And Spa Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing