We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place - can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #18 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This place was awesome. Customer Service great. Gave us choices of building and told us advantages of each. Stayed in building a couple up from pool with balcony that had mountain view. The BEST part was the five swimming pools and jacuzzi's ALL heated!!!! I am a water nut and this was fabulous. They even had a really tall tube slide which was GREAT for adults, fast and fun and warm too. It was open ALL the time. Usually water slides always are closed for some reason or another yet this one was manned even when no one was there. Swim up pool bar. The pool bar service included 18% gratuity which is a little steep but guess they need to make $. Free self-parking and not a far walk at all. The in house restaurant/bar had good bar food choices. The restaurants available down about 1 mile have everything you could want: Sports Bar, Italian or pizza, outdoor patio eating. They even have a free shuttle service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for sharing. We can’t wait to have you back to our pools enjoying the sun and slide. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,415 - 1,421 of 2,834 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our family is still enjoying this resort as I write this review. We are here for Valentines weekend. The resort is beautiful the minute you enter the main driveway. Checkin was quick n pleasant. They had a golf cart follow us to the free self parking and then take you and your luggage to your room, which was very convenient. The room is very nice and clean - modern n updated with no tacky decor. In fact the whole resort was tastefully decorated throughout. We had Valentines dinner at Azul, also dinner in the lounge n lunches from Courtside Deli n poolside - all their food is fresh and very good. The pools are great. I love that theres 5 pool area n several jacuzzis. Thanh at the pool slide area was so sweet with our toddler. The chaise lounges are very comfy. What really stood out for myself and my husband was the level of the staff service, especially the managers. You see them in their suits throughout your stay and they acknowledge you and smile and check how everything is. They just seem really present and sincere. After dinner this evening, our 3 yr old wanted to do smores at the beautiful fire/water pit, we inquired at the lounge and Azul, but everyone appeared stumped about the request. A manager came out to meet with my husband and informed us that there were no smore kits as we were misinformed yesterday by a waiter who offered it to us. The manager said he would find out more - minutes later he came down with a bowl of marshmellows and skewers to make ado. We were really surprised the extra effort and care he went through just for marshmellows for our daughter. Most people do not go that extra effort especially a manager in our experience - our request would had ended at the first inquiry. This resort is 5 stars just for that experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plumeria21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you very choosing our Resort and sharing while you are enjoying our five star service. We love any opportunity to personalize our guests’ experiences. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

From the moment we pulled up, friendly staff attended to our every need. Our room was spacious, nicely appointed and comfortable. The views of the desert and mountains...breathtaking. We especially enjoyed the pools. Of special note was staff member Alexa who made us feel like we were at home away from home. She had the perfect balance of warmth and professionalism. We would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for comfort, beauty and a no-hastle get away.

Room Tip: Besides being a great destination in and of itself, the LaPaloma is within easy driving distance to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mssrfoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

I would like to thank you for sharing your review of our outrageously good views, service and pools. I certainly agree with you! Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed for a week recently in a Deluxe King room (B-block, overlooking the adult pool). The resort has undergone a major facelift, with all rooms being completely re-done (to the tune of about $26K/room we were told) as well as the landscaping, pool deck and restaurant. First, the good news. The place looks magnificent. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms fantastic (double sinks, separate shower stall, wood-grain tiles) and décor refreshingly modern. The pool area has been re-done with travertine, and a plethora of new, comfy loungers abound, ensuring no one has to fight for space. The workout area, pools, tennis courts and spa are all first rate, if an on-resort vacation is in your plans. They even have an outdoor, 25-yard lap pool. Fantastic!

Now the bad news. The place remains very noisy. Walls are thin (you can hear voices and TVs clearly), and unless you are on the top floor of the building, expect to hear the incessant thud of footsteps from above. Also, beware that “Mountain View” rooms in the E, F, G, H, and I blocks all face onto the noisy Sunrise Road that encircles the resort, as do C-block rooms that face the golf course. The resort also aggressively markets itself to medium-sized conventions. With no separate convention-gathering area, we were treated one night to an awful cover band entertaining a bunch of conventioneers in the adult pool area next to our block (the pool had also been closed since 12:30pm that day to allow set-up for the event). The resort charges a $20/day “resort fee” that covers local calls and Wi-Fi access. Be aware, though, that the WiFi is low bandwidth, and that you are limited to 3 devices (difficult when you’re a couple, each with iPads and notebook computers). Any more (bandwidth or devices) will cost more (it remains a source of aggravation to me that in 2014 hotels continue to charge for crappy Internet access).

We would stay again, but only for an event or work. The resort is nice enough, and staff are very friendly and helpful, but the hit-and-miss of the rooms, noise, and conventions make it a ‘pass’, given many other, better options in Tucson.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParkerBordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for your detailed review, we are always encouraged by comments that allow us an opportunity to determine how we are best serving our guests, and any areas in which we may need improvement. Although we are thrilled that you found the resorts $35 million rejuvenation and amenities ‘first rate’, we regret that you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay due to the convention that was present on the property during your visit. Conferences expanding into the pool area is a rare occurrence. We will continue to strive to improve upon the balance between the experience for our leisure guests and conference attendees. Thank you for your valuable insights that will assist us in this goal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I love Westin resorts. There is a certain level of customer service that one comes to expect from Westin and the staff at La Paloma exemplifies the top-notch customer service upon which Westin prides itself. Couldn't be happier with my stay here.

Room Tip: G building is close to the main lobby and has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for sharing and we couldn’t be happier having you as our guest. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I recently accompanied my wife on a business trip to Tuscon. We brought our two boys with us. During our stay, we took our oldest to the hotel's Kids Club. We couldn't have been more happy with the staff at the Kids Club. Our son had an amazing time. Between the arts and crafts, specifically the Batman mask he made, and the staff playing with him, he didn't want to leave. Nikko, Stacy, Alexandra, David and Erik did a tremendous job and made him fell comfortable and at home. I can't recommend this place enough. If you are staying here, don't hesitate to leave your kids. Its worth it and money well spent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains or glf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your family’s review. Happy children = happy parents! I hope to see your family back soon, with Batman patrolling the pools. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were recently in Tucson for our national sales meeting. The staff went out of their way to meet our needs, and even at times anticipated our needs before they were realized! I have a penchant for iced tea in the morning vs. coffee. Not only did the staff accommodate my request, but by the third day of our meeting, they had tea waiting for me outside the meeting room. William Arce was the best and I would ask for him by name when you go there!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmf4171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your review of our service during your National Sales Meeting. I’m sure for your next visit the ice tea will be ready, waiting for you before the first meeting even starts. I’m looking forward to seeing you back soon. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
5.2 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
707 reviews
3.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
5.5 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#9 Green Hotel in Tucson
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £146 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin
Westin La Paloma Resort And Spa Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing