We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enticing and a Great Winter Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #19 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enticing and a Great Winter Break”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

At some distance from my work venue on this business trip, I found the drive to the foothills enticing and the hotel a great reward at the end of that road each day. My suite had a patio from which to enjoy the colors of the setting sun. Tucson in February always offers the possibility of a break from wintery weather, and this property enhanced that break.

Green Features: While some properties advertise that they are environmentally friendly, this property follows through. The housekeeping service honored my wish not to refresh linens daily, a way to recycle was evident, and the mind set of employees was to mind recycling.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte_Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hello Business Traveler! Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor - we are glad that we could help you add a little leisure into your business trip. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,720
    597
    257
    145
    77
See reviews for
689
671
113
931
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

If you plan to golf, play tennis and spend hours by the pool, you should definitely go here. If you just need a hotel, by all means pass it up. My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights while we were house hunting in Tuson. We were isolated out in one of the little outbuildings with rooms in them. You never go into the lobby or see anything of the hotel as you pass thru....you just walk long distances between the far off car parking area and your room, carrying all your stuff each time. (on check-in, they drive you and your bags in a golf cart to your room). they definitely value their special events visitors higher than the regular paying guests and there was an event every evening we were there. Valet parking took over the top parking lot (even though it was more than half empty we couldn't park there), so we had to park way below and further away. The one time we tried to eat in the restaurant they couldn't accommodate us. ( more special events). Because we were looking for houses, I needed to spend some time on a computer and my iPad that I had brought along wasn't getting it done. I found the business center, intent on doing some work, a closet sized room with 2 computers. Upon trying to use the internet, I found that you have to put in your credit card and pay $5.95 or 15 minutes of time on the computer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We had previously stayed at Hacienda del sol which gave us free use of their computer!!!!!
Our room was nice enough although the floor made very echoing sounds every time you walked....which would wake my husband up. the maid service left a bit to be desired....glasses and ice bucket were left unrefreshed for days.
We did finally walk down the hill towards the pool area and it was very beautiful but since it was February it was closed by the time we got back every day.
So I reitterate...if you come for the resort...do come but son't use this as a hotel destination only.

Room Tip: ask to be close to the lobby or you will walk forever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ops_Mgr85, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for having been our guests at The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. Welcome to Tucson! I regret that the resort's layout and features were not convenient to the purpose of your stay. As a full service resort, our bellmen stand ready at the door to provide rides to our guest rooms which are spaciously accommodated on 250 acres of the Tucson foothills, affording our guests an opporunity to enjoy expansive views and grounds that feature spectacular desert plant specimens. Our resort restaurant is quite popular and is always available to guests of the resort, never closing for private events. We offer food and beverage service at our pool area from 11am to 5pm, associates are available to assist our guests from 7am - 9pm, and the pool and hot tubs are available for quiet enjoyment 24 hours a day. I hope you'll have a chance to take a staycation at the resort and that you'll have time to enjoy all the features and amenities we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

our first visit to Tucson and we were impressed. two nights at this property which was situated next to the hills/mountains of Tucson with a golf course alongside. beautiful pool. our suite had views of the golf course ("C" building). staff was professional and service was very good. rooms are separate from the main building and you take a golf cart to the room. I consider this to be a high end resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW4TRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for sharing. I am confident we will see you soon by our pools on for a second visit to Tucson. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our company recently held our annual sales meeting at the Westin La Paloma in Tucson, AZ. The scenery, rooms, conference areas and ground were superb. What stood out above it all was the staff. I have never worked with a team so well coordinated, so professional and so focused on delivering a best-in-class experience. Peter and Eric and the whole Westin staff were very accomodating to our team's needs. I would welcome any opportunity to take advantage of the Westin La Paloma again for business or for a personal getaway. All future resorts and hotels I stay at will, in my mind, be compared to my experiences here. It is truly the gold standard.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pools may be quieter if you like to have your patio door open. It dodn't bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We would be delighted to have you back to La Paloma. Stay and play at our pools for your next getaway to Tucson. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deming
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for our 30th anniversary. Yes, it's a huge property, with several pools. Only 1 restaurant was open, though another is opening in the next couple of weeks. Bartender Betsy was excellent! She knows her liquors, and is very personable.
If one wants to golf, play tennis or visit the spa, those items are part of the Country Club, and available at a HIGH extra cost.
My complaint is the $20 per person per day resort fee! It's supposed to cover the golf carts that take people from one part of the property to another. When our cart driver took us and our luggage to our room, he was quick to point out that the cart drivers expect to be tipped for each ride. There's also a shuttle to nearby shopping areas and restaurants. Again, a tip is expected. I'd rather the hotel just add the resort fee to the cost of a room, rather than have the extra charge. Nickel and dime-ing is not something I expect from a Westin!

Room Tip: Request a room that does not overlook Sunrise Drive. Lots of car noise day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bearhug68jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Happy 30th Anniversary! That's a huge milestone and we are so glad that you chose to share your special moment with us. I wanted to thank you for your honest review and your thoughts regarding the resort service charge. We honestly value our guests opinions so I am forwarding your comments to the operations team for consideration. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in other aspects during your special celebration, and the next time you chose to stay at The Westin La Paloma, please ask for me ... I would like to personally congratulate you as you head into year 31 and beyond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, AB
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel while visiting family in the Tucson area, and chose it for the location in the Catalina foot hills.

First off, the property is massive, with a large country club and golf course at one end, and the main hotel building at the other. The rooms themselves are laid out in clusters of two story buildings(wood frame), with 8 units per floor (approx). We booked a suite with the separate bedroom with king sized bed. The room was very nice, with a proper sitting area, a small dining table, and a half bathroom near the front door. The bedroom was very large as well, with a huge closet, and spa like bathroom with a (small) tub, separate shower and duel vanity. it was the kind of room you could comfortable stay for a few weeks in- clean, modern and lots of plug in's for chargers.
Our only problem the whole time we were there was with a sound issue with another guest. The first room we were on was in Building D, room 187. It was on the lower floor, overlooking a garden near the pool.Not the best view, but the hotel was booked solid, so we didn't mind. It was still a nice room. However, our upper neighbor was a stomper! Like every step was so loud it shook the pictures hanging on our walls. Every time they got up in that night/early morning, they woke up both up with the heavy sound of their footsteps. We complained after the second night, and were moved to a top floor unit in Building C, room 349. This room had great views of the mountains, golf course and city lights. And was very quiet! Big thanks to the Day Manager Aaron for helping us salvage our vacation. Tip: If you are staying on this side of the resort, it is much easier and cheaper(free) to park in the country club parking lot.

The main pool area was very clean and well laid out. We had lunch here one day poolside (tasty), then booked a great cabana for lounging in. For $40 we had a great private cabana made of stone, and perched on a hillside overlooking the pool. It was quiet, private and lots of shade from the trees. It included bottled water, and a massive bowl of fresh fruit, it was such a great way to relax! The staff at the pool were very attentive and polite, and drinks were strong at the swim up bar (yum).

Overall, the service, location and room size made this Westin a great stay for us- and we will stay here again next time we are in the area!

Room Tip: Top floor unit if light sleepers; Building A and C have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunPrincess9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We are so glad that Aaron was able to make your stay with us even more enjoyable! Our goal is to ensure that every guest is as comfortable as you were relaxing in that cabana! You made your vacation sound simply lovely (as I'm sure it was, because our weather is normally amazing for poolside rejuvenation). Thank you for sharing your experience, I enjoyed reading your review and knowing that we created such a fun and memorable experience for you. We are thrilled that you plan to stay with us again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The staff and crew made our group of about a hundred feel very welcome and made us feel right at home. This was an industry trade conference for us, but many have commented that they want to bring their families back. The food was great - we asked the chef to give us his best, and he really came through.

Room Tip: Great sunset views and views of the mountains from C buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience during the trade conference, and hope to see many of you team return for some personal rejuvenation! Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
5.2 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
688 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
10.4 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
5.5 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Property: Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#9 Green Hotel in Tucson
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin
Westin La Paloma Resort And Spa Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing