We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely property”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This Westin property is beautiful, and the rooms are clean and modern. Best of all, they allow small pets! We rarely heard other guests and appreciated the privacy. We stayed there on a road trip west, and enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to stay there again on our way back. The reason we are not giving it 5 stars, though, is what when we checked out the first time we asked for a room with a different view for our next stay and they told us they would reserve it for us. However, when we checked in on our return trip, we were given a room with the same view we had on our outbound trip. The room that we thought we had reserved hadn't been held for us after all. We were a bit disappointed in that because we cancelled reservations at a different hotel to stay here on the return, and then we weren't given the room that we expected to get.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit to the resort, and that you did not receive the room that you expected on your return trip. We are quite pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much that you decided to return, so it is very important to us that we address your disappointment with our associates and ensure that your future visits will be free of any concerns. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,701
    582
    251
    138
    76
See reviews for
668
656
111
923
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I have stayed at the Westin La Paloma a few times now (for both business and pleasure), and they never fail to impress me. From the moment you drive up to the minute you leave, customer service is exceptional. Our business experiences have been wonderful; everyone is always so helpful, especially Fernando and the catering/sales staff. And Margaret Warner's hospitality is beyond compare. I always enjoy a personal welcome from her, and she goes out of her way to ensure that I am comfortable (and taken care of) while I'm there. If you are in Tucson, check out this hidden gem. You won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your loyalty and sharing why you choose La Paloma for all your trips to Tucson. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

A group of eight friends had a blast playing 45 holes of golf in two days. The staff went out of their way to accommodate our small tournament format and were as friendly as they come. The rooms were obviously newly remodeled, stylish and remarkably comfortable. The pool was fantastic, especially the water slide. We are planning to repeat the trip later this year and I cannot wait for it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Since the days are getting longer, I encourage you and your friends to return and play even more rounds in two days! Call us directly and we will get you in full swing with another weekend of golf. Play well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We spent a week here in mid March 2014, and this place really exceeded expectations. We arrived at night, but had no problem finding it in the Catalina foothills. The resort is very private, yet close to enough things that you don't feel isolated. Love the pool complex because it's big enough to spread out and there's a really nice adult pool section. The poolside service was a little understaffed but who cares; it's easy enough to walk over and order a drink. We really enjoyed our time by the pool! The Azul restaurant was very nice and the staff was superior in attentiveness, especially Zach, who made very sure we were satisfied. Whenever we ate there we would ask for a lounge menu (simpler food) and the staff always accommodated us. We found the prices to be very reasonable, even for room service, which showed up within 30 minutes of ordering each time we ordered. Housekeeping was outstanding and featured a "green" promotion, where if you skip full housekeeping they give you a $5 to use at the restaurants. I recommend a mountain view. The lobby is so inviting and well decorated that I found myself lingering there to look at the decor. Well done! I hate to say this for fear that they'll jack up the prices, but this resort, in my opinion, is nicer than the Four Seasons Scottsdale Troon North and for a fraction of the cost. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Choose a mountain view room….
See more room tips
Green Features: Housekeeping was outstanding and featured a "green" promotion, where if you skip full housekeeping they give you a $5 to use at the restaurants. You can choose to do this for one or all of the days you're there.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGipper411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for sharing the many valued features you enjoyed during your week at La Paloma. I look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Tucson. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

From the moment you walk in the door you can tell your stay is going to be great! The lobby is large and clean. Jose F (the front desk agent) was great! After traveling far from Chicago and arriving late he was very pleasant and accomodating. He even gave us a 4pm check out which was perfect! Rooms are clean and newly renovated. Golf shop had great people working. The grounds are well maintained. Overall, top notch hotel! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for sharing how you enjoyed your stay from the moment you arrived. We all look forward to seeing you back enjoying the golf course soon. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My wife was there for 5 nights while I joined her for the weekend. Beautiful grounds set upon a great backdrop of the Santa Catalina Mountains. Hotel/resort has been recently updated and the results are fabulous.

Wonderful place to lounge by the pool and catch some rays. We enjoyed breakfast by the pool every morning - incredible place to relax! Breakfast was excellent, dinner good but not great. Beautiful golf course next door, which we overlooked from our room. Fantastic hiking is not more than 15 minutes away in Sabina Canyon. Room was very nice and quite reasonable.

While the restaurant staff could not have been nicer, the front desk help left much to be desired. The reservation was in my name and they gave my wife a hard time about it when she arrived. Easily worked out but they all but accused her of trying to sneak in to the hotel. I was prepared to chalk this up to inexperienced staff but based on previous reviews our treatment by the front desk does not appear to be uncommon. Fortunately other staff more than made up for her arrival.

The resort is a little spread out so if you have trouble walking request a room close to the main building. For 95% of the guests you'll simply be able to take a 3 minute stroll through beautifully landscaped grounds to the facilities.

I would definitely want to return to this resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArlingtonRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for being a guest of The Westin La Paloma, and taking the time to share your thoughts about your visit. We are thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed your stay, and regret the confusion that occurred upon arrival. I will share your comments with the front desk supervisor, as our goal is always to provide a seamless experience from check-in to check-out. We are excited that you plan to return for another visit, and have an exciting addition planned for installation this summer along the walkways that will even further enhance the "3 minute stroll" to the facilities. I hope you have the opportunity to come see it soon. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

recently spent a full week at la paloma. Had previously stayed at westin kierland in scottsdale several times, which we naturally compared it to. Renovations last year were apparently in need, and our room, a master suite, facing the canyon 9 golf course was well appointed and felt quite upscale. I don't think that they renovated our mattress however. We usually throroughly enjoy the heavenly mattress/bedding at westins, and have been to many of their hotels/resorts. This mattress felt like an elephant had laid on it for 6 months solid. no give to it at all. did not do wonders for my shoulders. i explained this to the front desk at check out, and was basically blown off.
we ate at azul for breakfast a couple of time and had a few drinks by the bar, and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. food a bit above average for a resort kitchen.
the pool area, which of course is the big draw, was nice. they weren't at full capacity while we stayed there, (30% by report) and this gave lots of elbow room for chairs, etc. Servers were pleasant and came around often. they have a fixed %18 gratuity, which I'm not sure is good or bad, but the food and drinks were a good variety and quality. not cheap, but not vegas $$ either. On the last friday, however it did get quite busy and I suspect many of them were locals/members of the country club, as there were several large groups of teenagers roaming the area or having parties by the pool.
golf at the course was nice, hardly anyone on the course. they were running a special that they advertised in the lobby of $65 for 9 holes, cart, clubs and 25 bucks in merchandise. pretty good deal The first time I went over to the pro shop, they didn't offer me the option and it cost $79 without the credit. the second time, I asked for it, and they said they gave it to me, but my room charge ended up being even more. Not a big deal, but frustrating.
the new poppy kitchen restaurant adjacent to the property is brand new, and it feels that way. we went in for drinks a couple times and its kind of a free for all. employees dressed like they just got out of class, no uniformity, no real hierarchy that I could discern. they were pleasant, but seems like they need a more active manager in the place. menu didn't tempt us to make reservations for dinner, despite being a 5 minute walk and no other choices.
at check in I was told that there would be daily newspaper delivery. this never happened, despite asking the front desk about it later and being told it would be fixed.
housekeeping forgot to leave water twice (its the desert, kind of a big deal---bell guy said we would never have to buy water here, nnnn) and didn't clean our room on one occasion, despite a call to the desk, but she did a good job when she did come.
they have an option for you to decline housekeeping each day and get a $5 credit at starbucks. LOL! give me a break.
Overall, nice place and we enjoyed our stay, but again, I thought the front desk folks were a little haughty and didn't really problem solve or even apologize, they just rolled their eyes behind my back I expect. I think the Kierland Westin has them beat from the professionalism that their staff typically show.

Room Tip: we liked the room facing the golf course. all the suites had lanais, which of course can be a probl...
See more room tips
Green Features: if you want to give up housekeeping for $5 starbucks coupon, there is that option . have fun with that.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilco501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit to The Westin La Paloma. Your comments are taken seriously, and will be shared with our associates and Poppy Kitchen, as we are always looking for areas in which we can improve. Please know that the guest experience is very important to all associates throughout the resort, and I regret that you left the resort with the feelings you described. We will strive to improve in the areas you mentioned and hope that you return again at some point to see if our level of professionalism is more to your expectations. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.2 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#24 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
3.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
3.4 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
10.4 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Property: Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Green Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin
Westin La Paloma Resort And Spa Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing