We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was the worst experience of my life!!! The bathtub had a dirt ring around it, they make you park your car a mile away from your room so if you want to go anywhere good luck! also the rooms are terribly insulated and I could hear the people above me's every move, which kept me awake all night. I went to use the pools and they were all CLOSED for the day and it was over 100 degrees out. Our room didn't have a remote control for the t.v. Which was minor, but incomveinent none the less. I would give it zero stars of possible. I will never come back to Tucson or this resort ever again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pinklady469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I’m sorry to read that you did not enjoy your visit to the southwest. During our summer monsoon season thunderstorms roll in over the mountains and we may have to close the pool for a short time for the safety of our guests. I hope you may have a chance to visit Tucson in the future as our monsoon season is almost over. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,688
    569
    250
    136
    74
See reviews for
655
648
110
918
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here with a 3 nights for price of 2 deal. It was well worth it for that price. The room was really large, room service was good if needed, and the bathroom had a nice shower. I had a nice patio as well, although it is hot in the summer. The pools were pleasant and there is a nice cafe by the pool. The bar at the entrance is nice for a drink, and the breakfast was good at the restaurant. The grounds are very well kept. I did not think the spa was great for the price, however.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had our Annual Summer Conference in Tucson, AZ again this year and Westin was once again one of the Host Hotels. I cannot thank them enough for all that they do in providing us and our attendees a wonderful stay. While there were a couple minor issues that arose during the conference they were solved almost immediately with the help of the Westin staff. Our conference planner, Angela Bush, and banquet manager, Peter Mnatzaganian, continue to surpass our expectations with all the little things they continue to do to make our stay even more enjoyable. The rooms are luxurious yet comfortable and the food is outstanding. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of planning and hosting an event in Tucson, AZ.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your continued loyalty to La Paloma and sharing how we exceed your expectations on every visit. We look forward to working with you for your conference in the future and I hope you may have a chance to be back for a few days just to relax and rejuvenate away from the office. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I am local to Tucson and booked at La Paloma for a staycation for my husband's birthday. When we got to the hotel, we were asked if we were celebrating anything special. I mentioned his birthday and they generously upgraded our room! Service was excellent throughout the hotel, especially room service. My husband mentioned I was pregnant on the phone (late night craving) and they appeared within minutes at our door. Our waiter thoughtfully also brought extra chocolates for me and my bump to enjoy.

It was a great, romantic stay and we will definitely come again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Congratulations and Happy Birthday! A lot to celebrate and thank you for sharing with us. I look forward to having your growing family return for many more fun staycations. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Beautiful surroundings, excellent service, spotless rooms and an all around good time. You were always able to get a chair at the pool and there were many choices, i,e, adult pool, children's and waterfall. We were there for a family wedding and staying for three days just made us want to come back.The staff treated us very well, and were just happy to serve their guests.
I would highly recommend this resort for an all around good, relaxing time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for sharing. I’m glad you were able to stay after the wedding and relax by our pools. We look forward to welcoming your family back soon. Be well. Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel could seriously have a lot going for it... But they just seem to goof up with the follow thru!

I have stayed here 4 times now over the past 10yrs... This was by far my worst experience unfortunately due to their lack of follow thru!

Reason to love it... Amazing landscape, pools & activities! Seriously... This hotel "could be" an amazing experience given all the aspects... BUT...

Reasons to be disappointed... (Based on Room #A112)
1) When a guest calls the front desk not once but stops by the second time the next day to merely ask that the broken security latch on our door be fixed so we feel safe... I would have thought someone would have come to fix it! 6 days and we still had no security latch to use for our security and rest assured safety. I was traveling with my young daughter and this caused her to be scared at night. Such a disappointment. Instead of telling us someone would be there to fix it and never send anyone... They should have been at least kind enough to say we are unable to fix it... Would you like to switch rooms? Twice we asked for help... Never did we receive help or a follow up... Just a load of empty words that made us walk away with hope!

2) Bedding! Yuck! It was heavy and hard to manipulate to sleep.. Comforter made lots of noise when trying to adjust to get comfortable. Please consider a nice lighter weighted comforter and better flat sheets that stay flat and don't bunch up so much. Just uncomfortable. Bedding gets a thumbs down from this mom!

3) it was stated that if you choose the "Green Option" and opt out of housekeeping we would receive a $5 credit coupon to be used anywhere on property... We only used housekeeping 2 times during our 6 night stay... NEVER received a coupon... Literally had to ask the Front Desk about it at check out! Empty promises again!

4) Poolside! Honestly, for having such an amazing pool... They ruin your experience by their unacceptable over priced drink and food prices. You are not allowed to bring your own drinks in so you are at their mercy during your stay. It could have been an amazing experience, but they kill your happiness with their overcharges! Disappointing!

5) Cleanliness of room! When we got to our room, it looked clean at first glance, but as you really look around... Cobwebs in many places, sheets had stains on them (gross), and bugs had been killed an smashed on the walls and ceilings and never cleaned off. No attention to detail at all!

In all... I truly want to LOVE this place as it has so much going for it.. But will definitely look into a new resort in the future unless things change for the better here! Let us know if it does as I don't think we will return if it stays like this!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lenke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
I am sorry to learn that your stay was less than you hoped for due to the poor response to your maintenance issue in your guest room. When problems occur, it is how our team responds and addresses them that makes the difference between a positive impression and a lasting disappointment. Our beds feature the standard bedding for the Westin Heavenly bed that has set a standard in the hospitality industry. Still, sleep comfort is a very individual experience and not every guest is thrilled. We will work to provide alternatives when our guests express a preference for something lighter. Thank you also for your observations about the cleanliness of your room, which provides an opportunity for continued training of our housekeeping associates. I sincerely hope that you will return for the things you loved and that you’ll find the other areas much improved. Be Well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Weekend stay-cations are a hobby of mine, and this place is a frequent location.

Pros
Then views.
The pool(s).
The service pool-side.

Cons
The spread out rooms.
Lack of dining on-site.
Food and beverage rules poolside.

Hints
This resort doesn't allow you to bring drinks to the pool from the room you have just spent $150-250 a night for. So, order as many cheap beverages by the pool possible (soda water, soft drinks, or just plain ole water) and use "those cups" to refill in your rooms. Tip your waitstaff appropriately :)

Ask for an "newly renovated room". If not, you will be unhappy.

Room Tip: Request a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have eco-friendly options and best practices for towels and linens.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Many thanks for staying with us again, we appreciate your loyalty and hope that you return soon. All of our resort facilities including every single guestroom and suite has been completely remodeled so rest assured each room is beautiful! Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.2 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
931 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
5.2 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
3.4 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Property: Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Green Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin
Westin La Paloma Resort And Spa Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing