We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This resort used to have a BIG place in our heart, and this last experience has broken our heart(s).”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This resort used to have a BIG place in our heart, and this last experience has broken our heart(s).”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our family and I just recently returned from a long-awaited return to our (former) favorite resort in Arizona. Although a few spots were still desirable, such as the sparkling pools and landscaping, throughout the grounds, the rest of the experience(s) on the property were a long-chain of disappointments. Being as we were going to be staying for a full two weeks, we were stunned when we were led to our room, beneath a concrete staircase, with no view of anything, except an aging old wall. No natural light, whatsoever. Even the bellman stated he was embarrassed to lead us there. When my husband called to see if there was a second choice, especially given the length of our stay, the front desk manager was cold and not easy to deal with. She eventually (before we were ready to simply leave and check into an entirely different hotel), gave us a choice of one other room. Better, but we wished we had stayed somewhere else in the end. Everything felt tired, and worn down, including the furnishings to a majority of the staff. Housekeeping was not there until late in the day, if at all. I spoke with the manager of housekeeping, twice. She apologized and said they were full and would be more attentive. From our shower drain and a crack in the grout, were a daily march of ants, which were finally attended to after asking the manager and even leaving a note. Frustrating! Dust on the tables, lamps. Things were hardly wiped down and felt generally unclean. Room service attendants were delightful, though nearly every night, many simple menu items were always missing, such as; chicken tenders for the children, popcorn, cookies with ice cream. My father came to pick us up near our room, slightly down from the lobby (safely away from other traffic) and was chastised rudely from the valet, for waiting (seriously) less than two minutes for us. Really disappointing. What was sad, is we are generally very easy to please. But this was ridiculous. The list of disappointments kept growing. Coming from a family, who own a 5 star, top rated and highly awarded resort, I can see why they were given such nice accolades; they work hard to please their customers, and it is obvious that their employees love their job. At La Paloma, most of the employees seemed disconnected and looked unhappy. They sincerely did not seem eager, whatsoever, to help their clients improve their stay. I hope they can come together and bring this place back to what it once was, a crown jewel of the foothills. In fact, 17 years ago, my husband and I met there and even named our first child after this resort; Paloma.

Room Tip: I have no suggestion other than taking the $300 upgrade fee. That would include a view of the mounta...
See more room tips
Green Features: Honestly? If not changing the bedding, replacing toiletries, or even showing up to clean the room, then I suppose they are saving both product and time.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your sharing your feedback and your delightful family history which includes La Paloma. I apologize that we fell short of your expectations during your recent visit. I would like you to return and call us directly, as I would like to personally assist with your reservations. I know we will surely provide the exceptional service and accommodations that you remember when you first met. These memories are special and I’m sure we may fill your hearts once again. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,701
    582
    251
    137
    76
See reviews for
668
656
111
922
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I can say the service was top notch. The staff went out of their way make my stay memorable. When I pulled up Phyllis the valet recognized me from my last stay and took care of my request with a smile and graciousness. Kudos to the banquet
I would like to take time to make special note of the integrity of the room staff. I had misplaced a very valuable item in my room and it was turned in by person who turned the room. The item was priceless to me and is a outstanding example of the staff integrity.
***** 5 STARS *****

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your praises. We have a wonderful team who are ready to welcome you back on your next visit to Tucson. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was the worst experience of my life!!! The bathtub had a dirt ring around it, they make you park your car a mile away from your room so if you want to go anywhere good luck! also the rooms are terribly insulated and I could hear the people above me's every move, which kept me awake all night. I went to use the pools and they were all CLOSED for the day and it was over 100 degrees out. Our room didn't have a remote control for the t.v. Which was minor, but incomveinent none the less. I would give it zero stars of possible. I will never come back to Tucson or this resort ever again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pinklady469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I’m sorry to read that you did not enjoy your visit to the southwest. During our summer monsoon season thunderstorms roll in over the mountains and we may have to close the pool for a short time for the safety of our guests. I hope you may have a chance to visit Tucson in the future as our monsoon season is almost over. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here with a 3 nights for price of 2 deal. It was well worth it for that price. The room was really large, room service was good if needed, and the bathroom had a nice shower. I had a nice patio as well, although it is hot in the summer. The pools were pleasant and there is a nice cafe by the pool. The bar at the entrance is nice for a drink, and the breakfast was good at the restaurant. The grounds are very well kept. I did not think the spa was great for the price, however.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had our Annual Summer Conference in Tucson, AZ again this year and Westin was once again one of the Host Hotels. I cannot thank them enough for all that they do in providing us and our attendees a wonderful stay. While there were a couple minor issues that arose during the conference they were solved almost immediately with the help of the Westin staff. Our conference planner, Angela Bush, and banquet manager, Peter Mnatzaganian, continue to surpass our expectations with all the little things they continue to do to make our stay even more enjoyable. The rooms are luxurious yet comfortable and the food is outstanding. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of planning and hosting an event in Tucson, AZ.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your continued loyalty to La Paloma and sharing how we exceed your expectations on every visit. We look forward to working with you for your conference in the future and I hope you may have a chance to be back for a few days just to relax and rejuvenate away from the office. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I am local to Tucson and booked at La Paloma for a staycation for my husband's birthday. When we got to the hotel, we were asked if we were celebrating anything special. I mentioned his birthday and they generously upgraded our room! Service was excellent throughout the hotel, especially room service. My husband mentioned I was pregnant on the phone (late night craving) and they appeared within minutes at our door. Our waiter thoughtfully also brought extra chocolates for me and my bump to enjoy.

It was a great, romantic stay and we will definitely come again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Congratulations and Happy Birthday! A lot to celebrate and thank you for sharing with us. I look forward to having your growing family return for many more fun staycations. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Beautiful surroundings, excellent service, spotless rooms and an all around good time. You were always able to get a chair at the pool and there were many choices, i,e, adult pool, children's and waterfall. We were there for a family wedding and staying for three days just made us want to come back.The staff treated us very well, and were just happy to serve their guests.
I would highly recommend this resort for an all around good, relaxing time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for sharing. I’m glad you were able to stay after the wedding and relax by our pools. We look forward to welcoming your family back soon. Be well. Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.2 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#24 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
3.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
3.4 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
10.4 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Property: Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#9 Green Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin
Westin La Paloma Resort And Spa Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing