We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“desert experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“desert experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at this very nice hotel on business and this is my third time here for same business trip. The rooms in building A or B are good rooms and quiet. The staff is very helpful and pleasant to deal with. I also went to the adjoining Red Door Spa for a massage and LOVED it. Good restaurant and good service. If you have to spend time in Tucson then spend it at this hotel. Also has golf course and tennis facilities but do watch the sun !!

Room Tip: Building A or B facing the golf course if you want quiet
See more room tips
Green Features: If you are a Starwood member this hotel is great for points and being green
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your loyalty to La Paloma. I hope you may have a chance to visit us for a vacation to completely relax and rejuvenate at our pools, on the golf course and at The Red Door Spa. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,679
    561
    246
    135
    71
See reviews for
649
638
110
913
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

*Rooms: All recently renovated.
*Staff: Except for one gal at the front desk who looks likes like she's pissed all the time, the staff went all out to provide excellent service. Extra 'atta boys to Phyllis, at the bell station...ask for her to check you out, she's good,...and Justin at the Starbuck's counter near the lobby.
*Ground: Perfect. You feel like taking pictures of the miles of perfect landscaping.
*Gyms: Surprisingly great. Not a wimpy gym. Real weights and real machines.
*Lap pool: Great except a bit high on the chlorine levels.

Room Tip: It would be hard to find a bad room location here. For time sake, try to get a room where you don...
See more room tips
Green Features: $5 per day off if you keep you same towels. Use the spa's towels after your work out!
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SirMichael01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for sharing. We hope to see you soon and give you a warm welcome back. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This resort has rooms below ground level. Our room was like a dungeon. We couldn't see the sky nor the mountains. The only view was a landscaped pile of dirt (and three cigarette butts). If we sat in the chairs on the little patio, the only view was the concrete retaining wall. I asked for a different room, but the desk said none were available. (To add insult, that evening we got a recorded message from the front desk saying if there was anything they could do for us, just let them know.) The room itself was fine, comfortable and clean, although housekeepers didn't come until 4:30 p.m. If you get a room above ground, you may like the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacezkingman_arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for sharing. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment with your guest room location. I hope you may have an opportunity to return soon to La Paloma. Please call us directly for your reservation so we may assist you personally, as I am confident your experience will be more enjoyable. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Staff is very professional!!! Service is A+!!! We are in from NY and to us it's a great value!!! Very, very children friendly!!! Pool areas and hotel areas are in great condition!!! Will try restaurant tonight and look forward to the next couple of days we have left to our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doug1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for sharing while you continue to enjoy the pools and water slide with the kids! We look forward to welcoming you back to Tucson and La Paloma for your next family vacation. Play well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Being in our Jubilee Year...50 years of marriage...every month on the 30th we do something special. This month it was an elegant meal and overnight at La Paloma. Here are my thoughts on the hotel. It is large spread out all over with golf carts available to take you to your room depending on how far it is from the pools and restaurants and lobby. The architecture is massive, but just missing a bit...and curiously little or no tie-in to the name, which is dove in Spanish The entrance has a beautiful fountain and view, but it is all but hidden by all the cars parked in front of it. The lobby is large and open, but could be anywhere in the world. It does not feel at all tied to Tucson or the Southwest.
Walking out at night from the lobby to the pools is beautiful. There are terraced pools and lights which change color that lead down wide steps to the pools with fire features here and there...quite impressive. Again, friendly and attentive staff.
Our room, facing a fairway with a view, was large, newly renovated...everything except the floor of the shower, which had dirty grout lines...was very nice and well appointed and comfortable, but again it could be anywhere in the world and so felt a bit sterile.
The lobby bar was ok, but nothing very elegant...the drinks poured were small and yet priced as one would expect at a resort...a very small carefully controlled shot. I certainly would not go back there.
At check out I found out there was a $ 20.00 charge for valet parking. I may be a bit out of touch with the wave of extra charges now being added, but other places in the area have free valet parking.
All in all it was a nice, but no reason to come back, as it did not have any personality or uniqueness at all.

I will review our dinner at their Azul Restaurant separately.

Room Tip: highest floor with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saintjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Happy 50th Anniversary! Thank you for sharing your special occasion with us. Although we were not what you expected, you mentioned our recent renovations you liked along with our guest service. As fall approaches and the evenings will begin to cool I hope that you may decide to return to enjoy a romantic evening by our fire pits.
Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We checked in the Monday after 4th of July weekend and felt afraid for a brief moment. Afraid of the crazy crowds, the rowdy swim up bar and the throngs of children attempting to infiltrate the adult pool area. Yes, we were staying as a family, but unlike some other guests, we could read the signs indicating the adult pool area and respected the guests taking advantage of a kid-free zone (or at least attempting to). Luckily, most of the employees were decent about enforcing the adult pool area. Until the code barf in the main pool and then it was a free for all. Once the holiday crowds departed we were truly able to enjoy the cooling comforts (including excellent beverage service) and scenic beauty of the pool area. Overall, the pool facilities are nice, a large pool with swim up bar, kids pool, slide, adult pool, hot tub and cold waterfall dipping spa.

Our room was a bit of a hike from the pools, main hotel lobby and parking area, but the view of the Catalinas was spectacular, we were on the top-level of the building and we had a suite. The room was clean and the housekeeping service was responsive to our requests. Our suite had 2 balconies, a master bedroom with ensuite bathroom and a separate living area with pull out couch and half bathroom. We had lots of luggage with us for an upcoming overseas departure and the suite was spacious, even with all of the bags. That being said, when we checked in during the holiday frenzy, the valets were completely overwhelmed and snapping at each other (not us). I totally understand it was crazy and extremely hot, but that kind of behavior in front of guests should not occur. The G building is far away, but we enjoyed the quiet once we got there.

The restaurants were merely ok. With so many better choices within close driving distance, eat off property. I also had the pleasure of a insect visitor near my breakfast table and a helpful staff member came to my rescue. I understand it is monsoon and the desert bugs are all around, but I did not expect the large roach at my feet.

We stayed for a week and felt comfortable and satisfied with everything La Paloma had to offer. Thanks!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank equinoxAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
You are most welcome and thank you for sharing your holiday visit. I hope your travels may bring you back to Tucson and La Paloma in the future for a quiet week of relaxation. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonville, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Attended a Richard Flint Starmaker event because it was scheduled to be at the La Paloma in Tucson. Had a fabulous time. Found the staff to be exceptional! Peter was amazing during our conference ~ his attentiveness was above and beyond even bringing extra tables so we could enjoy the desert beauty outside the conference area during our breakfast time and throughout breaks. He personally brought add'l icy water and lemonade to guests. He has been with the resort since it's inception and it is easy to see why. He deflected any and all compliments by giving credit to his staff ~ a true manager and leader. Everyone went out of their way to see that the guests were well taken care of and pampered. My only objection was the internet service which was constantly shutting down in the room. Daniel at tech service was helpful but having to call nearly every day to get it to load was inconvenient and wasted time. The hotel would better serve it's guests by including excellent service rather than outsourced tiered service ~ after all this is a world class resort and should offer world class internet that is equivalent to it's staff. Guests arriving for the first time must realize this resort takes advantage of the gorgeous desert and mountains within which it is located. It is large and spread out to give guests opportunities to experience the beauty of the location. It is NOT a multi story hotel surrounded by parking lots and a patch of grass! So first time guests should expect to meander through beautifully planted gardens interspersed with grass, pools, sculpture, fountains, beauty and peace. Just allow a few additional moments to arrive at timed events such as conferences, meetings, etc. Great job, Westin, Peter, and Starwood. I will return and return and return and recommend to everyone. Thank you, Richard Flint, for choosing such a beautiful setting!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful especially Starwood upgrades. Choose golf view and get both mountain and go...
See more room tips
Green Features: Great care is taken throughout to cherish the environment
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your loyalty to La Paloma along with your praises of our associates and surroundings. We look forward to having you return soon to enjoy another tranquil visit. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.0 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#22 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
3.8 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
7.3 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
3.7 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Property: Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Green Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Starwood, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin
Westin La Paloma Resort And Spa Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing