We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Tucson Airport
Ranked #43 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tired Property”
Reviewed 8 November 2008

I am a frequent lodger at the Hyatt brand, but this was my first experience at Hyatt Place. The property - while close to the airport - was very tired and dirty. The rooms were just ok and the bathroom was very worn. I checked in very late and left early in the morning so I suppose the hotel served its purpose.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFC12481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    131
    70
    34
    14
See reviews for
156
93
37
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Everything about the Hyatt Place at the Tucson International Airport speaks of class and the highest quality. From the moment that one enters the building’s lobby until checkout a day or two later, everything, at least on the surface, about this surprisingly beautiful hotel is appealing. Its friendly staff works overtime to be accommodating and helpful. Several years ago, shortly after the Hyatt folks had purchased it but when the hotel was still officially an AmeriSuites, my wife and stayed there for nearly a week and wound up giving it a ranking of 5-stars. Today’s Hyatt Place, completely revamped inside and out, probably merits that score once again. The suite-like rooms are extremely comfortable with not only all the amenities that one expects in such a place but far more. There is, for instance, a small, built in kitchen area in one corner replete with a sink, refrigerator, and other items. Wi-fi is readily and seamlessly available everywhere in the hotel and a desk with ample plugs for even the most technological inclined guests is also well-designed for immediate use. There is a overly large, full panel TV set on one wall and extremely comfortable beds. The complimentary breakfast each morning offers a number of “bonuses” such as fresh grapefruit slices and many kinds of teas or coffees to get the day started right. And, though no-one should expect bargain-basement prices at any Hyatt anywhere in the world, the room charges are certainly in line with the many other establishments that surround the airport. One may pay a few dollars more, but it is worth it for all the added amenities.

That having been said, it must be noted that there are, however, some “negatives” about the facility that we found less than appealing. In their desire to remodel the entire establishment, for instance, the management has cut some corners that should have been left alone. The single closet in the room is tucked quite inconveniently next to the bathroom sink. Getting into it is a chore. The tiny piece of furniture that substitutes as a dresser has also been placed inside that same small closet. The bathroom itself has little countertop space and it feels slightly cramped especially if two people are trying to get ready at the same time. The quite attractive couches look a good deal better than they are once one tries to sit in them for very long. In the morning, the complimentary breakfast, as noted above, is quite pleasing but if one wants any hot item, from a waffle to scrambled eggs or anything in-between, one has to pay extra for it. To be sure, the possibilities for such hot choices are wide and the cooks friendly but the management does not seem to have taken into account that the hotel is not a Grand Hyatt resort somewhere but rather an oversized motel set up to serve travelers coming to and from the nearby airport. In that regard, the nearby Hampton Inn, Comfort Suites, or even the Country Inn and Suites probably offer better choices.

It is clear that the Hyatt Place has been established more for the businessman or woman traveling on an expense account that it has for the “average” tourist on a leisure trip for enjoyment. Still, in its “new” resurrection it has great appeal. We’re glad that we stayed there once again, though this time for only two days, and if or when we need to be close to the Tucson airport in years to come, I suspect that we’ll be returning.

Given the few irritations mentioned above, we’d rather give the Hyatt Place a 4.67 rating or even a 4.75 instead of the 5 that we have were that a possibility. In either case, however, it is a first-rate place and anyone would be well-served, literally and figuratively, staying there.

  • Liked — Great staff
  • Disliked — Separate, at an Extra Charge, "Extras"
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BigP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

Satisfactory, clean, quiet airport hotel.

  • Liked — excellent room
  • Disliked — nearest restaurant was in another hotel and not very good
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hptn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

All of the POSITIVE REVIEWS are TRUE. We had a very good stay at the Hyatt Place. I do want to add: We requested to be moved to a non-handicap room for our second night so we could have bathroom counter space (we didn't need a handicap room) and the staff happily moved our things to another room while we were gone for the day. Both rooms were great. Also, the A/C in both of our rooms (#304 & 320) were NOT loud.

  • Liked — Very comfortable suite
  • Disliked — shower leaked on the floor, both rooms - yes, curtain was in the tub - not a big deal.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZHeat200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA, wine country
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2008

I am a 30 year traveler and stay in airport hotels all over the country. This facility is a gem....under the radar. Totally redesigned from previous ownership/company to very chic (think W hotel type design and furnishings). Pricelined a King room for about $100 inc. tax. Found desk personnel to be courteous and helpful, got ride to airport on rainy morning by desk clerk...w/o any eye rolling or huffiness. Be aware that parking lot security has been an issue and should have been addressed by Feb.2008. I would not leave valuables in a vehicle...

  • Liked — Newly renovated + pleasing design colors
  • Disliked — Reviews about parking lot security
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank refteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2008

Wow, what an airport hotel! My family flew in for the holidays and the gracious front desk staff whisked them from the airport efficiently, got them comfortable in the cleanest, freshest, best designed room I have ever seen. Very new. The TV was enormous, too much for me but probably appreciated by TV watchers. The bed was heaven.
Absolutely recommended, 1st class airport hotel, all at the right price.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank desertflowerpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

I never expect much from an airport hotel other than convenience and basic comfort. The Hyatt Place at the Tucson Airport signficantly exceeded my expectations. The room was so nice that I would stay in a hotel like this on a pleasure trip.

The room itself was enormous, with a sitting area separated from the sleeping area by a divider. There was also a small kitchenette, which was unexpected (and which I actually didn't use). The decor of the room was absolutely spectacular: it was sleek and modern, and quirky enough to be interesting. I loved the sectional sofa in the living area, which was extremely comfortable and large enough for someone to sleep on if necessary. There was a huge flat-screen TV placed between the living and sleeping areas that could be tilted for viewing in either area. The beds were extremely comfortable (rivaling Westin's famous "heavenly bed"), and the linens were crisp and clean.

There were downsides, but not enough to detract from the overall experience. The bathroom, including the tub, were adequate but small. The hotel was particularly lacking in common areas: the lobby was tiny, and although there was a "bar" off to one side, it was really no more than a counter at the reception area--not particularly inviting. However, the hotels on either side of the Hyatt Place (both within walking distance) had large bars, so we didn't really feel the need to have one in the lobby. The staff were extremely polite and helpful.

I haven't stayed at other airport hotels in Tucson, but it's difficult to imagine finding a better room at a better price than at the Hyatt Place. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Enormous room with separate living area, decor
  • Disliked — Lobby/common areas
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank wbpld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Tucson Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tucson Airport
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Tucson Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Tucson Airport

Property: Hyatt Place Tucson Airport
Address: 6885 S Tucson Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85756-7015 (Formerly Amerisuites Tucson Airport)
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Tucson Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Tucson Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Tucson Airport Hotel Tucson
Hyatt Tucson Airport
Hyatt Place Tucson Airport Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing