We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got lucky!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Tucson Airport
Ranked #39 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Saginaw
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We got lucky!”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We never intended to stay at the Residence Inn. We just got lucky!

It was sometime between 1 and 2 AM on November 5, 2012 that we arrived at the Residence Inn. We were refugees from a nightmare bedbug experience that occurred at the Staybridge Suites on the next block (see my review). Exhausted as we hadn’t slept much, we were afraid to sleep on the bed. I settled down on the small couch, while my wife took the easy chair. Both were quite comfortable as we found out quickly that night.

Later that day, Maria, the head of housekeeping, dropped by at our request to ease our minds about any possibility of bedbugs in the suite. She was very friendly, thorough, helpful, and efficient. She was also expert in locating any signs of bedbugs because her daughter was once forced to leave her bedbug infested house for months after inadvertently bringing them home.

Her story, of course, increased our anxiety about bringing Staybridge’s bedbugs home. However, Maria carefully showed my wife where to look and what to do. We never saw any sign of bedbugs at the Residence Inn from the moment we entered. Housekeeping always cleaned our suite thoroughly.

Our stay proved to be a lucky break! We were there from November 5, 2012 to checkout November 16, 2012 and the staff was wonderful! Jeff, who first greeted us at the front desk, was always helpful. When I phoned on December 21, 2012, over a month after we had left, Gabby at the front desk still remembered us (yes, in a good way)!

The suite itself was very good. The suite’s kitchen was very well appointed. Housekeeping would even help with dish washing. A free breakfast was served every day in the lobby/dining area and three days a week they offered dinner. Although my dietary limitations precluded me from eating nearly all of the offerings, it made things a little easier on my wife as she could. She stated that there was a nice variety of breakfast choices and she also enjoyed the evening meals.

Waking up, opening the Suite’s curtains (closing the inner curtains completely for privacy turned out to be very important to me when I found out that it isn’t commonplace in some hotels), and looking out upon the mountains in the distance was a wonderful contrast from our place in Michigan. However, the trip could’ve been much better without the Staybridge’s bedbugs after-effects throughout our stay in Tucson. At least the Residence Inn provided us a clean, comfortable “home” from which to act.

The best way to get a sense of our suite and the exercise room is to take a look at our two YouTube videos taken just before checkout. They’re very short. I’m not an expert in videography nor an experienced traveler, so if the videos leaves out important info you might want or inserts unnecessary info, I apologize. Our complaints, some contained in the videos, were minor.

Suite video: http://youtu.be/XXhXheGIJmg
Exercise room video: http://youtu.be/tgjqPFxpEqE

A note about the area surrounding the hotel: it isn’t residential. That means no dogs barking. We also felt extremely safe outside at night. As for restaurants, a short walk brings you to a Subway or a Denny’s, while a short drive brings you to several other restaurants.

The Residence Inn would certainly be one of our top choices in its price bracket if we’re able to visit Tucson again!

Room Tip: Noise can sometimes be a problem as the walls don't do much to insulate sound. A room at the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank See_it_clearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence I, General Manager at Residence Inn Tucson Airport, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First I want to wish you a Happy New Year and want to thank you for staying at the Residence Inn by Marriott Tucson Airport during your last visit to Tucson, Arizona. We understand that you have a choice when you travel, and we’re glad you chose us for your accommodations. It was our pleasure to have had you stay with us! Every day we work hard to exceed our customer’s expectations and the hotel strives for our guests to have an enjoyable and comfortable experience. We are very happy to read your comments and see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will make sure to share your comments with my team and please feel free to contact us at the hotel if there are any questions. Every comment back to us will only make us stronger as we strive to exceed your expectations, and create great memories.

Please visit us again when you’re in need of some time away or when you’re in the area for business. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Diana Hopkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    69
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
55
40
15
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Spent three weeks at the Airport Residence Inn: Clean rooms, Great staff, good breakfast and dinner Monday thru Wed evenings. Residence Inn's are very good for longer stays. Disapointed the whirlpool/hot tub has been out of service for at least a month. Per the staff, the heater has burned out and the hotel owner has not approved or ordered a new part. (High cost?) I don't believe this is a good business practice. Would Marriott would be happy with the hotel owners decision to not repair this unit? Hotel would be rated higher if the Wirlpool was working.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toolmanforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana H, General Manager at Residence Inn Tucson Airport, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest!

Thank you for your recent stay at Residence Inn Tucson Airport! Your experience in our hotel is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our product and service, and encourage any remarks that will help us get better.

I want to apologize for the inconvenience it caused to you that our whirlpool has been out of service for this long and you were not able to enjoy it. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future and have this problem fixed, we appreciate your business.

Once again, we appreciate your kind remarks and thank you for staying at Residence Inn Tucson Airport...your home away from home!

Best Regards,

Diana Hopkins

General Manager - Residence Inn Tucson Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Nice, neat, beautiful room and pool area. To make up for the lack of a restaurant they have shuttle service to nearby restaurants/businesses and have complimentary breakfasts and dinners on certain nights of the week. Stellar experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at Residence Inn Tucson Airport, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you so much for the great review and comments. As the new General Manager of the hotel, I was pleaseed to read that your experience with us was indeed a great one. It is my hope that you continue to visit us when ever you are in the Tucson area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

worm clean room and comfty bed make me feel at home, 5 mins from TUS airport with free shuttle. free hot bkfasat and Internet. the room has full kitchen with a big fridge. The pool can be bigger, and the micky mouse gym has two trendmills and rack of free weight up to 40 # dumbbles. very helpful staff like Gabby make the difference.
C U around.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed two nights and it was clean and quiet. We asked for a quiet room and were given a room on the top floor completely by ourselves. Apparently, the desk clerk the second night was not aware of our request and filled the rooms on either side of us with families. Only 3 rooms on that floor occupied and they were right next to each other! Our only other problem was the fact that it is not convenient to restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elinorelisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I needed to stay in Tucson when i had a motorhome worked on by a local shop. Hotel came and picked me up at shop and after i got setteled they took me to airport so i could rent a car. very helpful staff. breakfast was to be expected at a Residence Inn.pool area looked nice and inviting although i didnt visit common area was nice and well appointed outside tables with shade to relax or visit room was nice and clean with very comfortable bed as said by others you gotta go to a ways to eat anything other than fast food but with gps it didnt matter. I would stay here again no problem

Room Tip: top floor so you dont hear the heavy footed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Nine nights. Very accommodating, friendly and clean. In a one-bed two room suite thay should have two sinks instead in the bathroom vanity. I fail to understand why they did not have a daily schedule for the entire month of February which is normally available and posted on the refrigerator.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Tucson Airport
Courtyard Tucson Airport
#57 of 130 in Tucson
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Tucson Airport
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tucson Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tucson Airport

Property: Residence Inn Tucson Airport
Address: 2660 E Medina Rd, Tucson, AZ 85756-7137
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tucson
#37 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tucson Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set your sights high on comfort and convenience when staying at Residence Inn Tucson Airport. About 1 mile from the airport, our hotel offers a shuttle along with an enticing full American breakfast daily - all complimentary. Whether in town for a short trip or extended visit, travelers will appreciate our suites with fully equipped kitchens and separate spaces for working, eating and slumbering. Beat the Arizona heat in the sparkling outdoor pool, or break a sweat on the Sport Court, perfect for a game of tennis, basketball or volleyball. Maintain your daily workout routine in our 24-hour exercise room with modern cardiovascular equipment. Our Tucson hotel is minutes from downtown with Davis-Monthan Air Force Base nearby. The versatile meeting room with 1,000 square feet can host a variety of functions with the support of our event planning team. Stay with Residence Inn Tucson Airport and see just how easy traveling can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Tucson Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tucson Airport Arizona
Tucson Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing