We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amelia Payson House
Ranked #5 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B & B”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were very pleased with our experience at the B & B at the Amenda Payson House. Ada was very friendly and was available whenever we needed an information. She did not hesitate to search on the web or to make phone calls to find answers to questions of which she did not know the answers. Great breakfast, very nice and quiet rooms. Walking distance from the main attractions and train station of Salem. I would not hesitate to recommend this B & B to my best friend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
99.5, Owner at Amelia Payson House, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Steven, Thank you for contributing your comments to TripAdvisor. Happy to hear you and your friends had a good time during your visit and found the train access to Boston convenient from Salem and our B&B. Always glad to track down information for guests, especially when a new season bring new changes to schedules and hours of operation. Not sure I will ever get a straight answer as to whether that $3 train fee applies to the Salem Station, but when in doubt, purchase before you board. Again, thank you for your kind comments and offer to recommend us to your “best friend”. ;-)
Ada May & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    12
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
102
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were very pleased with this B& B. Located within walking distance to every tourist attraction. The B& B was beautifully decorated, and clean. The hosts were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the morning conversations with breakfast. If you're looking for a quiet place to stay, you wont be disappointed! They only have 3 guest rooms, and only accept children over 12. Off street parking was also a huge plus, since parking can be a challenge in Salem.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
99.5, Owner at Amelia Payson House, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you Dave and Pam for contributing your comments to TripAdvisor. So glad to hear you had a good time and that we could provide a cool comfort station for your five night stay. While Ada usually has control of most things, she felt helpless in controlling our three 90+ degree heat wave in May. Certainly, not our normal May temps, but what is normal anymore, anywhere. Glad that you enjoyed breakfast and meeting other folks around the breakfast table; a great place to share adventures and make recommendations to Salem’s best places and fun activities. Again, thank you for taking the time to post your helpful comments……Ada May & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in Salem at the Amanda Payson House in mid-May and could not have been more satisfied. The historic house was pristine, located near the Commom walking distance from everything. The breakfasts were delicious and the hosts had thought of every detail to make their guests comfortable. We stayed in a very quiet room in the back of the house with a great mattress, parked our car in their off street designated spots and ate twice at Bella Verona while visiting the spectacular Peabody Essex Museum. We will certainly return to Amanda Payson to stay whenever we are in Salem, MA.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanPavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
99.5, Owner at Amelia Payson House, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you Susan and Pavel for posting your kind remarks on TripAdvisor. It’s always good to hear of successful visits to Salem and that our B&B contributed to the overall great time. And, I’m never surprised to hear that folks enjoy multiple dinners at the Bella Verona; where folks have commented to us that it was their “best meal in life”. Thanks again……Ada May & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I was so happy to have found this B&B. The house itself is lovely, and I enjoyed a large and comfy room in the front of the house. There was a small communal sitting room with coffee and tea and snacks and a fridge if you wanted to store something of your own. The breakfast each morning was delicious with fresh fruit, scone, eggs, cereal and yogurt and endless coffee and tea. The hosts, Ada and Donald are two of the nicest people you would ever want to meet and very attuned to their guests needs. I'm planning to visit again next spring.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
99.5, Owner at Amelia Payson House, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thanks Frances for posting your comments on TripAdvisor….We are so glad you had a pleasant stay during our opening weekend. It’s always nice to have an unscathed opening, even after 29 years. Salem was certainly abuzz that weekend and the Poetry Festival was the highlight of so many activities. A great spring fling for sure……….Again, thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your kind compliments of our Bed & Breakfast…..
Warmly,
Ada May & Donald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We were passing through Salem doing a tour of New England and decided to do a stopover but we hadn't booked anywhere. I'd researched a couple of options and this was one that took my liking and didn't disappoint. We were greeted warmly by Donald (the owner) and as luck would have it they had a room for the night. Check-in process fuss-free and quick with Donald explaining how to access the properties off street parking and giving local information we might find useful. Our room was delightful, tastefully decorated with nice linens and towels. There was a TV in the room with satellite channels and free wi-if access which we had no problems accessing. The bathroom was clean with nice toiletries and good size towels. Sleep quality was good, nice comfy bed but stand-out thing of the stay was the breakfast we enjoyed at Ada's friendly and very well stocked table. Breakfast is much like an extended family affair. One large farmhouse style table which all guests use and are joined by their hosts. It was simply one of the nicest breakfasts I've had! Lovely homemade scones, great preserves, loads of fresh fruit and good conversation with the other guests.

Would definitely recommend this B&B, lovely!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boksburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

On our recent trip to the US we stayed in 8 different locations but the one that will always stay in my heart is Amelia Payson House. It's beautifully kept by the nicest couple you could ever wish to meet. Breakfast every morning was a delight with excellent fresh food, great conversation filled with humour and, if required, our whole day mapped out for us. Ada and Don have a great wealth of knowledge regarding the history of Salem and tell it in a very interesting way. I can't compare it to any other B&B in Salem and never will be able to as it would definitely be the only place I would ever stay again should I return.
Location - Brilliant
Cleanliness - Cleanest place I have ever seen
Rooms - ours was huge
Many thanks Ada and Don. You made our visit memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anniemay259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This is a great place to stay while in Salem. Location is great and Ada and Donald are lovely. The B and B was very clean and comfortable. Each morning Ada prepared a delicious breakfast with scones, waffles, fresh fruit, granola, cereal, tea and coffee.
Anything you need to know about Salem, they can tell you!
I would highly recommend Amelia Payson House to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krisindaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.4 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,931 reviews
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
0.2 mi away
Stepping Stone Inn
Stepping Stone Inn
#4 of 9 in Salem
219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coach House Inn
Coach House Inn
#7 of 9 in Salem
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Payson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Payson House

Property: Amelia Payson House
Address: 16 Winter St, Salem, MA 01970-3807
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit about us...Celebrating 27 years as innkeepers, Ada & Donald invite you to their 1845 Greek Revival home. Guest will not only enjoy the grace and charm that is tradition at a true Bed & Breakfast Host Home, but will also appreciate our convenient Historic District location; just steps from all of Salem's limitless activities. Forget about your car, a five minute stroll finds the Witch Museum, the National Park Service Visitor's Center, the Peabody Essex Museum, the House of the Seven Gables, and all the shops, restaurants, whale watching & harbor tours located at Pickering Wharf Marina. Amtrak train service and/or passenger Ferry to Boston is just four blocks away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing